We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Langi Langi Beach Bungalows
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$295
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$448
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$481
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$535
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$428
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$788
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveller rating
337
181
49
23
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
181
49
23
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewrasta manbring your own boozeother hotelsdik diksun deckhotel restaurantair conditioncurrygarden roomindian oceanhot waternice poolthe hotel managerlunch and dinnersnorkeling tripwatch the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
416 - 421 of 618 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2009

After an amazing week in Kenya we arrived to Zanzibar.
After some trouble to reach the hotel we finally arrived late evening.

First suspicius when the driver drove into a village with no road, but when we arrived at the gate it was a nice sight for tired eyes.

Then it started.. We arrived with my parents in law, and they wasnt in their room more than 5 minutes before they started to find stuff.
Mould on the walls, And old squicky bed.
My mother in law did find it better to sleep on the floor!

First thing in the morning we walked down to the front desk and complained on the room and they got a new one.
Better but not 100%
If you wanted to use the fridge in the room you had to pull the plug from the lights, there wasnt enough outlets in the room...

That was room nr 1.
Our room had a problem with the shower, Stinking water with very low preasure. I found the manager Sele and told him, 10 mins later he showed up and fixed that.
In the description of the room there was supposed to be a safetybox, Well, our parents in law had it, but not us.
Ok, there was one in the reception, but that wasnt we informed about until 2 days after... And then we already fixed it with our parents..

What i was very suprised to notice was they tried to give the mould-room to other new guest and angry guest stormed to the reception complaing about the same issues..

After 3 days the manager called in some help to fix up the room...

Breakfast at the hotel was very modest, Omelets,Pancakes Fruits and toast. (Not the toast i am used to)
Omelets and pancakes was ok, Fruits delicius, but the toast i think was about 6 months old or something.
I showed the toast to my coffee and the coffee disapeared!!

The staff talked very bad english, so it was hard to understand and im not sure if they understood us..

The pool-area was ok, and we spent lots of time there.

The manager Sele was helpfull the first days then new guest arrived and he lost interest in the ones almost ready to leave..

I strongly suggets if you are more than 2 people in your company and want your food in aprox the same time, Go to the restaurants on the walk further down, It seems the didnt have the kitchen or staff to fix more food at the same time..

The location of the Hotel is very nice and close to the ocean.
Nice views, but i wouldnt recomend this place if you got some expectaions of any higher standard.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walzis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2009

We stayed at the Langi Langi Beach Bungalows at the end of June, 2008 after an amazing safari in Tanzania, We just wanted a place to relax and the photos of the Indian Ocean and others of the resort were so inviting. It was a bit difficult to find, but once we passed through the security gates, we felt we'd found a little bit of paradise. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. Yes there is a language barrier in the restaurant sometimes, but they do make every effort to understand and bring what you want. The restaurant is small but can offer a real personal touch that way. Sele, the owner/manager is just amazing. He takes time to really chat with the guests, offers cooking classes and loves to provide special touches to his guests. He had a whole fish one day, which he offered to cook special for our family. One of our sons had his eleventh birthday there and Sele even baked and decorated a cake for him - all his own idea and so kind. It really made the day special for him, way on the other side of the planet. The lady who cleaned our room took such pride when we complimented and thanked her for a job well done. Our rooms were clean and fresh flowers were arranged lovingly on the bed each day. The grounds are well cared for. Although the rooms are simple, they are comfortable and roomy and everything works (our air conditioner got a little noisy sometimes, but it cranked out the cool, so it was ok). The pool area is lovely and when the tide is out the beach is gorgeous for long strolls. Loved the rock formations which are almost like caves from the pounding surf. When the tide is in, it is wonderful to sit on the high deck and feel like you are right out in the water. We had to leave at 3 am for our flight and the desk clerk who met us to open the gates and see us off showed up with little boxes of breakfast for our journey back to Stonetown. All these homey touches made this a wonderful place to stay. Thanks Sele, family and other staff - wish you were closer to us so we could return more easily.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank letstakeoffFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

We stayed in hotel in January 2009 and it was third hotel in Zanzibar we stayed and should admit it was the worst during all our stay in Tanzania and Zanzibar.

Location:
Very nice place and close to everything, but very crowdy, so I would not suggest for honeymoon (suggest to choose east part of island). But I like the rocks on the beach.
There is no bungalow in Langi Langi with sea view – sea view have only 3 flour building with aprox. 12 room and a restaurant. The 90% of hotel don’t have a sea view and only few bungalows have a pool view.
You cant dream to sleep at pool and enjoy sea view – only because the pool is in the middle of hotel and there is no sea view from pool. To get from pool to sea you should go throw the restaurant and then down stairs.
The sleepers with sea view are located right on the territory of the restaurant and there are only 12 sleepers which always are full.

Staff:
First of all was surprised by the reception staff – it was rude. There is no question about not having smile - the man at the reception was extra rude. Similar attitude from receptionist we saw also to persons who checked in before us – so we understood that it is normal for this hotel.
The waiters in restaurant polite, but not very good in English and there is some problems with understanding. Even ordering a fried egg take from you extra effort for explaining, because you should repeat few times and then only you can see in his eyes that he understood that you need a fried egg. We also saw that some couples left restaurant without ordering because waiter didn’t understood them.

Room:
Nice and spacious, simple and nice decoration. Was no bottled water in the room for teeth washing and the mosquito/fly net is only a decoration here – you cant put it over a bed. Room was not very clean but as a light not so bright in the room so if not put extra attention to that, then it is ok.

Restaurant:
Small and simple, but the food is extra delicious! Suggest to try Indian ocean seafood BBQ! The restaurant is always overbooked as ppl from other hotels also come here fore dinner, so you should book a table for a dinner. Breakfast which is includes in price is funny- just egg, toast, coffee and tiny juice (for extra tomatoes, sausage and cheese you should pay extra!!!).

I would definitely not suggest this hotel to my friends. If you go to Zanzibar and want relax after safari or climbing to Killi, then better stay on east or southeast part of island.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IneseS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

Having arrived in Zanzibar to find that the hotel that we booked and paid for was sold and therefore not availble to us.... we eventually ended up spending few days in Langi Langi. Too long a story to go into .....

As we had such a poor start to our Zanzibar experience we were apprehensive about our next hotel location ....But there was no need...Langi Langi was superb!

The staff especially Sele were wonderful....and couldn't have done more for us ....we had the most wonderful food in the hotel and really didn't want for anything...

Would recomend Lango Langi to anyone.....Best rooms are the Sea view but because the facilities, food and staff are so good even the standard rooms are worth a stay!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Taz1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Having stayed at LangiLangi for two weeks, we really got to experience the friendly and personal service at this family run hotel.

The hotel is locally owned, and is placed on land that has been in the family for several generations. The family factor certainly shines through in the staffs way of dealing with guests. We continuously felt that we got "that little extra something" and always felt welcome.

The little extra, was besides the gorgeous rooms - decorated with traditional zanzibari furniture, the wonderful and tasty food and the splendid environment the hotel lies in - wether you are at the pool in the garden or suntanning by the seaview front.

All in all we can only give our warmest recommendations to Langilangi, who also offers fun cookingclasses and where you can "bring your own booze" to the restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Logicron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews