We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Langi Langi Beach Bungalows
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Dar Es Salaam
1 review
“Loved our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

We stayed at LangiLangi during the first week of April 2009, we enjoyed our stay food was the best part of it, rooms where clean and well maintained, location was excellent beautifull views of the ocean and sunset.

Overall we loved our stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daviesscottsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    166
    41
    17
    19
See reviews for
79
284
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

We didn't have the best start at Langi Langi as our agent booked us into the wrong room (a double, not a twin). The manager did his very best to rectify the situation - giving us a bigger room, with a better view until a beautiful twin room became available the next day. The rooms are lovely, with big wooden canopied beds, little balconies and great sea views.

We ate at Langi nearly every night, after trying other venues and returning very disappointed. A meal that sticks in my mind was a beautifully prepared whole red snapper, cooked with a creamy coconut sauce and served with lightly spiced 'Zanzibar' potatoes. Breakfasts were also good with lots of fresh fruit and delicious pancakes.

We visited Langi at the end of the season, so it was relatively quiet during the day (which was just what we wanted) but I imagine in high season Langi Langi is one of the coolest places to be in Nungwi.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louchoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

The best hotel you can stay at Nungwi Zanzibar.
Food was great
Beach view was excellent
Serive was the best
The manager is down to earth
Free drinks to all guests
Dining on the beach was the best experience

Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnisaFalco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

I found LangiLangi on the tail end of a two week trip to Zanzibar and was able to stay there for three nights. The rooms are unique and beautiful, very clean with a relaxing pool and amazing sea views. We ate the majority of our meals at the cafe and were never disappointed.

Sea food was great, pizzas always a hit, in addition, the owner offers cooking lessons to his guest. a great expirence and oppritnity to try the local food.

Stayed there in december and am planning to return for a short trip in april. Looking forward to lounging by the pools drinking from coconuts.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthur67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2009

My wife and I spent four nights here after a Tanzanian safari. Service here wasn't so good, but was salvaged by the on-site owner who was very helpful. The rest of the staff seemed to speak very little English, which, obviously is not unreasonable considering they are in Africa. We had been spoiled throughout our safari by staff members who spoke English fairly well.

Service to the room was okay. The room was kept clean, but our drinking glasses and bottled water were not always replaced. Also for some reason we didn't get a hand towel in the room until our last day. Toiletries like shampoo and conditioner were not provided, so make sure you have your own.

We stayed in a sea-view room, which was spacious and well-decorated, with a nice balcony and, most importantly, air conditioning. The view was amazing, and provided great sunset-watching each night. The shower water pressure was great.

We also had a mini refrigerator in the room. This was very useful because (1) we could not find cold beverages anywhere else in Nungwi, and (2) the restaurant at LangiLangi allows customers to bring their own drinks. Also drinks are not served at the pool or deck, so we just brought our own. There's a beverage store about a 4-minute walk behind the hotel, away from the beach.

The location of LangiLangi is excellent. During low-tide (morning, early afternoon), there is plenty of beach right in front of the hotel. When the tide is high there is still beach on both sides of the hotel. LangiLangi is centered among a string of hotels, restaurants, and shops along the beach, and there is a convenient walkway that provides access to them.

We enjoyed the restaurant's ambiance. Food was decent, and the menu has quite a variety. Service wasn't so great, but that seemed to be the case at most restaurants in the area.

The pool was very nice, but I didn't like that it is situated in the middle of the property, where you can't see the ocean. The deck below our room overlooked the ocean, so I preferred to spend more time there than at the pool. The stairs from the deck/restaurant lead down to the beach at low-tide (morning), and directly into the water at high-tide (afternoon). The ocean water was much more refreshing than the warm pool water.

The property actually had a few power outages while we were there. Fortunately, each one lasted about 10 minutes or less, so they weren't really a problem.

Internet access is available from a computer in the restaurant. This was helpful for catching up on things after our safari. It's necessary to get a staff member to unlock the computer in order to use it. This was a little annoying, especially when the staff didn't know the password.

For those who want to book a tour of Stone Town, I suggest not going through the Ali Baba mini mart right outside the hotel. We booked our trip through them and ended up with a guide who hardly spoke any English. Perhaps I should have specified beforehand that this was a necessity for us. Also, in February, the temperature was so hot that I would have preferred we skipped this tour even if we had a better guide. It might have been better if we were returning to the hotel afterward and could jump in the ocean or pool, but instead we did the tour on our way to the airport.

We did book a spice tour through Ali Baba and a snorkeling trip to Mnemba Atoll through LangiLangi, both of which were fun.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank longhorn_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

The Location was great. And the food was even better. We met the owner, Sele, while raving about the food the first night, that he happened to have cooked. From there the experience just got better. Sele was a perfect host. He upgraded us to an open seaview villa that was amazing, and when our friend left his shirt behind that was of great personal value, Sele sent a driver an hour away to the airport in Stonetown to drop it off. Take the cooking class too, its a blast.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMP1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2009

We stayed in LangiLangi for 7 nights in february, and it was amazing. At first we booked the garden view room, but we upgraded to pool view room, cause they were bigger and we got our own private balcony. The rooms were tidy & clean, and we had A/C, a fan, and even a fridge to keep the water cold:-) We never stayed in the pool area, but I saw families enjoying it, so it's a good place to bring your kids as well.
The staff were polite & always willing to help us. Great service!
I have to recommend the reastuarant at LangiLangi. it is one of the best restaurants in the Nungwi/Kendwa area. We were recommended this restaurant from a guy who had been living there for many years, and the food there really is great. And then I have to add, do NOT eat at The Z Hotel(one om the most expensive ones in Nungwi) Met several people who got sick from eating there. I remember especially the prawn tempura being mentioned. But the Nungwi Inn also have good food worth trying out:-)

I highly recommend LangiLangi. When I'm going back I'm staying there:-)

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiica81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.9 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#10 of 17 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
1.0 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
0.3 mi away
Flame Tree Cottages
Flame Tree Cottages
#15 of 17 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langi Langi Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langi Langi Beach Bungalows

Property: Langi Langi Beach Bungalows
Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#8 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LangiLangi Beach Bunaglows is located in Nungwi, Zanzibar. The hotel has got a total of 34 rooms which are Standard Garden Room, Pool Room, Seaview Suite, Marhaba Suite and Royal Zanzibari Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Langi Langi Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langilangi Beach Bungalows Hotel Nungwi
Langilangi Beach Hotel
Langilangi Beach Resort All Inclusive
Langi Langi Beach Bungalows Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing