We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic, not clean with poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Langi Langi Beach Bungalows
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very basic, not clean with poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

I was very disappointed by Langi Langi, the reviews on trip adviser clasify this hotel high up. what I didn't know is that there are very few hotels in Nungwi beach that's why rating is so up.
I have spend 2 nights in Langi Langi and moved to hotel close by as the service and room was awfull, it doesn't justify the price as for 50% more you can be in total luxuary where in Langi Langi you are in Bungalows which smell of damp, with very little service ie there is no spa, no treatments, restaurant is very poor and internet cafe is literally one old pc with keyboard so dirtry that its just unbelievable.
The price of the basic room is just unjustifible. If you really can't pay any extra then you need to forget about any expectation of nice relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonAnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangiLangi, Marketing manager at Langi Langi Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 8 December 2009
Thank you for your review, review gives us way to improve our service and much more but i dont agree with you that our rooms smell damp our rooms are cleaned everyday and from time to time we also service them like painting, changing the design etc regarding the service our service is one of the best and we try to do best to make sure our guests are happy. Yes its true we dont have spa its also not mentioned on our site or on our hotel description. Our restaurant is known to be one of the best in Nungwi. Regarding the price they are one of the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    166
    41
    17
    19
See reviews for
79
284
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tamaritabonita
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

I have to say that after staying here twice, I feel like one of the 'special' guests. Sele treated us like queens our last night there and treated us to an incredible seafood feast. The food is YUMMY, the service tends to be good - could improve with more attention to the guests while they are lounging around the veranda and pool areas; the setting is just out of a picture book and its location is spectacular and very convenient. The price for residents is very reasonable for the quality of the experience. This is a pearl in an oyster for a romantic, or luxurious stay without the ridiculous price.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamaritabonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

The best place on earth, i felt like i was part of the family! Sele treats his guests like royalty and shows you the real colours of Zanzibar!! The food was delicious and unlike the other places you really got to live the Zanzibar lifestyle! i cant wait to go back and definately recommend LangiLangi to EVERYONE!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

My sister and I stayed at Langi Langi for 7 nights and we had the best week ever!! On arrival we had a cool tropical punch welcome drink and were welcomed with smiles and genuine hosipitality. Our reservation was for Garden view rooms, which were basic but clean and comfortable.

On our 1st night the owner and our new found Tropical friend Sele, gave us a complimentary upgrade to a Sea View room as the guests who were meant to check-in that night cancelled. We had 3 fantastic nights in that room. If your budget allows, book the sea views rooms!! The views are stunning, they will take your breath away. The room was beautiful. Big, cosy, well furnished and just superb!

Sele, I think was the highlight of our stay, he took such good care of us, we kinda forgot that it wasn't actually home. He made sure we were ok all the time and went out of his way to help us plan our excursions and when we stayed at the hotel he was always there and ready to help.

Leaving Langi Langi was very difficult, other than the great staff, who are sincere and happy to be there. The hotel itself is situated in what i think was the best part of the island. Langi Langi is in Nungwi Village and has a few other hotels near it. One very expensive, further up, wont mention names...but we found that most of their guests came to Langi Langi repeatedly for dinner. The food was great and every night was a treat!

We will definitely be going back to Langi Langi and taking the whole family with us and will make sure to book Sea View rooms.

Tapiwa & Tariro

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tajmnang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

We had a six night stay at Langi, Langi and enjoyed every moment. The views were fantastic. The week seemed to last and last, just so relaxing. The food was excellent and we enjoyed the cooking class, a unique experience. We had a sea view room which was large and comfortable. The water pressure was great with constant hot water. On one occasion our sink and shower water did not flow away but when we went to report it the maintenance man came to deal with it immediately. The owner, Sele, employs local villagers and trains them up giving them opportunities to improve their standard of living. You have to drive through the village of Nungwi to reach the hotel which made us appreciate "real life" in an area we view as paradise. We particularly wanted to experience the sights of rural and cultural life and we weren't disappointed. Watching the fishermen at work and seeing the women fish for anchovies from the hotel restaurant were wonderful sights. Sele strives to ensure his guests enjoy their experience at the hotel and goes out of his way to help. At one point we thought we had lost all our photos due to the camera memory card being faulty. We were distraught as we had captured some fantastic moments.Sele recognised our distress and kindly offered his personal laptop and a cd for us to attempt to retrieve the photos and thankfully we were able to. He was a life saver! We have noticed another reviewer has commented on the services of Zaid, a taxi driver recommended by Sele. We would also like to highly recommend him for any tours, he is friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. Ours was a truly memorable honeymoon spent in a very comfortable and relaxed hotel with well trained, friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorthingChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

LangiLangi is the best holiday accomodation I have ever stayed in. The setting is fantastic, views from the sea view rooms are amazing - we sat on our balcony and watched the sun set every single night we were there. Staff very very friendly - they knew our names after one day. Food was great, lovely breakfast included in room rate and then good menu for lunch and dinner. Whenever I'm away, I rarely eat in the same place twice - I ate in LangiLangi's restaurant every night bar one, it was always full of people who had come from the other hotels. Sele, who runs LangiLangi, was great for organising day trips for us with reliable local drivers/guides at a fraction of the price being charged by the tour operators. Great value for money. I'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belfast2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

We have just got back from a stay at this hotel and had 7 great days. We stayed in one of the sea view rooms. Everything is comfortable, it's not 5 star luxury, but it is good value for money. With the sea views to wake up to and also watch the sun set, you can't help but be happy.

The hotel has a pool set away from the sea view which is a pity, but we liked spending part of the day around it as it was still a pleasant area. You can also sit out on the sun deck at the front and here you have the sea views and use of the ocean as your swimming pool. There is also a very good restaurant here which we ended up eating at most of the time. The fish dishes were excellent. It also operates a BYOB policy, so if you wander down the beach we used to buy our bottles of red at a place called worldwide supermarket which seemed to be the cheapest.

Out of everywhere we saw in Nungwi this is the place I would stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickyBlueEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.9 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#10 of 17 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
1.0 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
0.3 mi away
Flame Tree Cottages
Flame Tree Cottages
#15 of 17 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langi Langi Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langi Langi Beach Bungalows

Property: Langi Langi Beach Bungalows
Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#8 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LangiLangi Beach Bunaglows is located in Nungwi, Zanzibar. The hotel has got a total of 34 rooms which are Standard Garden Room, Pool Room, Seaview Suite, Marhaba Suite and Royal Zanzibari Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Langi Langi Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langilangi Beach Bungalows Hotel Nungwi
Langilangi Beach Hotel
Langilangi Beach Resort All Inclusive
Langi Langi Beach Bungalows Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing