We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent stay, amazing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langi Langi Beach Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Langi Langi Beach Bungalows
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

Loved Langi Langi. After having a horrendous experience staying down the road in Sunset Bungalows for a few days, our faith in Zanzibari hospitality was restored on arrival at Langi Langi. Selly (not sure if that's the correct spelling) is an amazing host and made our stay wonderful. Amazing view of the most fabulous sea and sunsets, lovely sun loungers overlooking the ocean with a lovely breeze, great food! Pool is lovely too but I prefer the sea!
Rooms are basic but lovely and really clean and to look really pretty every day.
Old guy on reception could do with a few manners in etiquette, he is the only downside. Oh and the 5% credit card fee....don't be caught out like us and arrive with very little cash or you're screwed!! Nearest ATM is Stonetown.
We were there in low season so was very quiet around the village, but a lovely chilled, relaxed atmosphere.
Would definitely stay here again!
Oh and free internet was a great bonus too. Also the little extras like endless supply of towels, sunblock, books, water, etc. It was our true few days of luxury in a backpacking trip!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loukkcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    155
    41
    16
    17
See reviews for
74
274
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

The road is unreal! Once you leave the pavement you can't believe that the dirt road you have to travel on is the correct way to the resort, but it does give a nice taste of the local area. It is not all inclusive, but we prefer to leave our hotels and explore our options for drinks and dinner. The beach is quite nice, but you need to be aware of the tide schedule since it shrinks away during high tide. We chatted with the owner and he even bought our dinner for us the first night. Very nice! We went next door for sunset the following evening. This side of the island has beautiful sunsets, something to consider when choosing a location to stay. We liked our room at LL and were able to purchase a bottle of wine from the bar downstairs, so we could enjoy the view of the water from our balcony. Breakfast was included and had a nice variety of baked goods and hot items made to order. Overall, well done on the location, service and food. On to the bad news about the front desk at Langilangi.... The older man who works at the front desk is not the owner, but has no problem being rude to the guests. He was abrupt when we checked in and later that day, I witnessed him being very nasty to another couple who was trying to check in. We had a few more brief encounters with him over our 4 day stay and his demeanor never changed....He is the only reason we will never stay at this resort again. What a shame. He is a loser for this business.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justmeWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

I stayed at this hotel for one week with three friends and we had such an amazing time! We stayed at the seaviewroom which were great! Big rooms, nice and clean, big bathroom and a lovely view over the sea!
The food there was the best and we ended up eating most of our meals there. Nice breakfast with fruit, eggs and much more.
The hotel has a perfect pool which sometimes was a nice variety from the the 30 degree sea ;) We had such a great time here, much thanks to a fantastic staff that constantly worked to make our stay the best. And we even got a fantastic lombsterdinner with whitewine on the house because we made such good friends with especially one of the owners, Ahmed! He was the best! Lucky us! :)

One of my friends even proposed to his girlfriend at this hotel, so I think it has pretty much everything you can ask for if you want a nice quite place to relax in amazing surroundings! :)
There is a diveshop just nextdoor which we also can recommend :)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antilopa_dance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

We stayed at langilangi Beach for our Honeymoon. The resort was recommended by a friend as we asked for not all inclusive 5 star due to hearing horror stories regarding other all inclusive resorts. The staff at this resort are fantastic. Everyone is so friendly and efficient, Good to see smiling sfaff arround you and owner rastaman was helpful with his cooking skills i can easly called him Zanzibarian jemei oliver :-)

It was a great expierence and the diving was fantastic. The pool is a dream and the reefs around the resort are great for snorkling. I would 100% recomend this resort to anyone! Thanks SELE AND HIS TEAM for making our dream come true
we love you

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ghostseadragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

A friend and I stayed in Langi Langi in June 2009. Its a trip both of us will never forget! Considering I travel alot with my job, and am lucky enough to experience places that are advertised as beautiful holidays and in most cases are, but sometimes there may be one small thing missing that doesnt take place in your perception. Well in Zanzibar, this did not happen!! Actually it over exceeded my expectations!!!

This is mainly because its the "experience" that stays in your mind. Every single thing about our experience was a positive one! From the evening we landed until the morning we left, Sele and his team were nothing short of family! He takes real pride in his establishment and this is reflected on the happiness of guests and overall working atmosphere!

We stayed in a sea view room, with hammock outside. Over looking sun set in the evening and sparkling reflections of the sun on the water in the mornings. Sele was fantastic at cooking and in the morning you'd see himself and the local fisher man returning from morning fishing, resulting in GREAT seafood dishes that evening!

Sele also takes the time out to teach cookery classes, and comes around to personally greet everyone in the evening at their tables to ensure they are enjoying their stay!

The rooms were clean and comfortable, with excellent location! Bathroom tidy and housekeeping staff very friendly!

Its within walking distance of a local village, where everybody is so friendly and you experience a true taste of Island life. This holiday is really one for relaxation, however there are some activities available as nice walks, Diving (PA.D.I courses) and Dhow cruises. In the evening time from langi langi you can see all the local woman out with huge fishnets collecting fish. Whilst noticing Dhows gracefully floating on the distant horizon. This place really is Picture perfect! What you see is what you get - true unspoilt beauty unlike any other Romantic Island. All the others just dont compare!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maddiecc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

The hotel was lovely, it seems odd to call it beach bungalows though as there is no beach along 'the strip' at Nungwi, the hotels are all built side by side at the waters edge, in many cases over the sea, so most have restaurants perched over the sea. The beachlessness is an issue for the whole of Nungwi - there are 2 small beaches at either end of the strip of hotels, and further afield.
Sele the owner was so lovely and charming he made our stay there. We snorkelled, cycled a litte (the roads are sand in that area but you can cycle to the end of the peninsula and further around to some of the other hotels for a little half days cycle). The rooms were clean and spacious - we had one of the large ones with an ocean view, and a balcony which was lovely to watch the sun set in the afternoon while drinking beer.
The village of Nungwi is nearby where you can buy beer and soft drinks for your room, and other bits and pieces.
Had a great stay, as I said great place, great host, but not sure if I would return to Nungwi - I felt it lacked the space to wander off to be on your own, it is very compact, with a sort of 'compound' feel about it, with gates to keep people out (I guess local people - which made me feel really uncomfortable about the way tourism is being developed there - it would be much nicer if there were no gates). However if you are going to stay there I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tompel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

We made a booking at Langi Langi Beach Bungalows 6 months ago and had an emailed confirmation. However, on arrival we were told that they were full and had no record of our reservation.
They refused to accept any liability despite presenting them with the email confirmation and they were not prepared to help in any way such as calling around other hotels to try to find us a room. This was following a 2-day journey from England.
In short their attitude and lack of customer service was digusting!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JonJonSmuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.1 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.4 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sazani Beach Lodge
Sazani Beach Lodge
#15 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.4 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 18 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langi Langi Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langi Langi Beach Bungalows

Property: Langi Langi Beach Bungalows
Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#8 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LangiLangi Beach Bunaglows is located in Nungwi, Zanzibar. The hotel has got a total of 34 rooms which are Standard Garden Room, Pool Room, Seaview Suite, Marhaba Suite and Royal Zanzibari Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Langi Langi Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langilangi Beach Bungalows Hotel Nungwi
Langilangi Beach Hotel
Langilangi Beach Resort All Inclusive
Langi Langi Beach Bungalows Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing