We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a quiet getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great place for a quiet getaway!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Tanzanite was a random choice for us initially having just arrived in Zanzibar, booked for us by a friend, we didn't know what to expect. I have to say we had a wonderful week there, we were the only guests most of the time, so had the great pool to ourselves! The staff were friendly, James the manager and the owner are such great guys!
We usually stay at hotels at the higher end of the market, but Tanzanite turned out to be a great value for money getaway. Stunning views and the busy resort of Nungwi with this restaurants and shops is just a 10min walk up the beach to the left. Or turn right and after 5 minutes you arrive at the most stunning beaches I've seen in my life. Do not miss out on low tide beach walks here.....wow!
I must add, we enjoyed Tanzanite so much that we visited again for 4 nights one month later!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Urban L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    51
    19
    7
    10
See reviews for
8
68
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We arravied at Tanzanite beach Resort on 3 April 2014. The rment. The rooms and facilities was a total dissapoint. Even though it is budget accommodation one expects clean rooms and frienldy staff. No choice of beverages etc.
We walked down the beach and found another resort. Even though we have already paid for our stay at Tanzanite, we decided that it is still worth it to book in at another resort.
Will not recommed this resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roecha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

we spent one week there & except of four other guests who stayed four days, we were the only ones. the place itselfs was lovely with small but clean bungallows & own balcony, sand all over & hammocks. the pool was clean & from there we had a beautiful sea view.
the restaurant was nice as well & the food was very delicious! unfortunately there was no buffet for dinner. after the other guests left, the staff didn't prepare the breakfast buffet anymore & that was very sad. the staff was friendly but not enough informed about their guests (we booked halfboard but received the bill for dinner) & didn't speak/understand english well.
so in all together it was nice but we wouldn't book this hotel again. unfortunately also the beach is far away. if you just wanna relax & doing nothing, you might love this place! but we would go to a hotel closer to the beach next time with good drinks!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank laguevaraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

After travelling two weeks in Tanzania we were pleasantly surprised when the manager of the Tanzanite Beach Resort upgraded us - in our experience its not very usual in Tanzania that such services are given. In general the staff was service minded and friendly and did their best to accommodate our needs. The room was clean and tidy and the bathroom was quite spacious.

Unfortunately the beach was very influenced of the tidal waters, so good thing there was pool.
If you need absolute silence while you sleep, be aware that it gets windy from early afternoon to early morning (not sure if its all year long, we went January) and the windows only had shutters and don't close which made it a bit noisy as our room was facing the beach.

The only wifi connection is in the restaurant with a short range and a slow connection, but this is apparently common in Zanzibar. Their kitchen is basic with fair prices and good for Tanzanian standards.

Room Tip: Rooms with garden view should be less noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOUCAS86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at Tanzanite as part of our honeymoon and it is certainly a mixed bag.

Hotel: The hotel grounds are lovely, raised above the beach so the tide can come in and out. There are loungers and hammocks to relax on and the pool is small but clean. The staff are all friendly but only the man at reception can hold a conversation in English. Reception is only open during the day and there are some security dogs around at night.

Room: We booked a sea front double. The bed took up the entire room leaving just enough space for a small side table and shelf. The bathroom was very tired and grubby with a host of mosquitoes living in it. The mosquito net had holes in it and was not put down during the day, as it was in all other hotels, which resulted in mosquitoes inside the net over night (we got bitten a lot). There were holes in the window nets and spaces around the doors allowing a range of creepy crawlies into the room. There was no bottled water provided but we were given a can of bug spray. There was nowhere to really keep clothes so we lived out of suitcases for our time there. There are no phones or aircon in the room.

Food/Drink: Breakfast was included in the price of our room and although the service was slow (we often had to leave for scuba diving at 8.30am, and getting to the empty restaurant when it opened at 7.30am did not leave enough time) the food was good with seasonal fruit, juice, tea/coffee and a choice of hot food all available for breakfast. Dinner was different every day depending on what was available in the market that day - this was great and always a nice surprise.

Location: This hotel is the opposite side of Nungwi to where all the action is! Thats great if you want to relax in a hammock for a few days but if, like us, you want to go scuba diving or to dinner at a restaurant, or to a bar you need to get a taxi (£6 each way) or walk 30 mins. You can't walk down the beach to other hotels at medium/high tide as it is cut off... this also makes swimming tricky!

If you are backpacking or after a basic secluded beach resort then this is for you. It just wasn't quite right for us!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aimee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We booked a garden view bungalow for three and as they had rooms available with sea view they offered us one. Rooms are very clean and big like the bathroom. But there's no window so we hear the waves (depends on if you like it...).
There is no beach when the sea is up. It's a little far from the village and he night animation so a taxi is needed to go there (10000tsh).
Food is good but be careful when you order that they understand well. Cocktails are disgusting...
The staff is nice but not a good English.
We recommend if you want a relax place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elo92500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

After our host at AirBnnb cancelled on us a couple of days before we flew down, we ordered Tanzanite last minute. This was not a problem when the manager replied within 1 hour. Very good!!My friend and I stayed at Tanzanite in the end of August for 7 days for the purpose of full relaxation and de-stress. We could not have found a better place to stay at. The hotel was right by the sea, which is one of the most beautiful I ever seen. So clear that you would not believe it. When the tide goes back around 11, a beautiful "secret" beach that goes out in the water becomes visable 200 m from the Hotel. Since the hotel is not on the main beach( where all the hotels, restaurants and sellers are) we pretty much had the beach to our self. Awesome!!!
I would also point out that the staff at Tanzanite are so warm and service minded. The rooms are nice and clean with a quite big bathroom. The staff cleans every day and provides the room with new towels everyday.
James, the manager is also very helpful with booking different sightseeing tour for you.
If you are a backpacker or a party person that is on Zanzibar for the partying aspect, you should find another hotel. If you are here to escape the hectic world, Tanzanite is the best value for money. !!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.5 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
612 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#10 of 17 in Nungwi
1,019 reviews
0.2 mi away
Warere Beach Hotel
Warere Beach Hotel
#9 of 17 in Nungwi
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mnarani Beach Cottages
Mnarani Beach Cottages
#13 of 17 in Nungwi
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanzanite Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanzanite Beach Resort

Property: Tanzanite Beach Resort
Address: North-East Coast | Zanzibar, Nungwi 4036, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nungwi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanzanite Beach Resort is situated on a beautiful beach in Nungwi, on the northwestern side of paradise island of Zanzibar, Tanzania. Accommodation is in 18 tastefully decorated self-contained double bungalows, all with private balconies and magnificent views over the Indian Ocean. Whether you are looking for a special family vacation, a romantic getaway or business with pleasure, Tanzanite Beach Resort makes sure that your stay is comfortable, fun and relaxation.Karibu! Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tanzanite Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanzanite Beach Hotel Nungwi
Tanzanite Beach Resort Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing