We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
150
44
16
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
44
16
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view main building low tide swimming pool water shoes local guide can walk for miles huge balcony private taxi ocean front other hotels indian ocean fresh fruit juice seafood platter restaurant offers beautiful hotel jozani forest
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Stayed here recently after a stint in Dar with 5 other buddies.

Check in was bliss and easy with complimentary orange juice at hand.

Rooms were on point with some petal decor upon first entry, great balcony view off the sea, pool and beyond!

Breakfast could have been more efficient but potentially a language barrier breakdown. Dinners were awesome, particularly the coconut chicken curry with hints off mango.

Internet could be a lot better, not that this is the primary goal out here but you want it to work at night when you're going to bed at least.

Overall this was a great jaunt and i'd recommend this place to others!

Room Tip: room 20 or 21
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M7Power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

I had a very nice stay at Warere Beach as a solo traveller. The single room was small, but ok for a single person to sleep. Lounge and pool area were fantastic and very cosy and just above a beautiful stretch of beach. Breakfast was good and I also enjoyed dinner at the restaurant, in particular the currys, but it is a bit more expensive than other places in Nungwi. The hotel also offers different trips around the island, which I can really recommend. Two friends and I made trips to Jozani forest, Stonetown, Prison island and a spice farm, all well organized. Originally we had planned to combine the spice tour with the tour of Stonetown, but one of my friends unfortunately got sick and we had to turn back to get him to a hospital. During this trip, our driver Waleed was very helpful and handled the situation great.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Moritz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

It’s a gorgeous little hotel, about a 30mins stroll along the beach from the main buzz and party area of Nungwi, so a small almost private like sandy beach to very few guests which is exactly why we picked it.

Positives: staff are wonderfully friendly and attentive. Our room faces out directly to the sea and in the morning it’s heavenly watching the sunrise or sleeping with the sound of the waves in the background. Very clean and the staff will come clean your room and leave you a bottle of still water if you leave the keys at reception.

It has a lovely little pool for parts of the day where it’s high tide when the waves can be a little rough to be swimming on the beach.

Couple of small points that would have made the stay even better:

1) Breakfast is the same everyday except for the good fruit selection which changes (though you’ll always get fresh pineapple and watermelon which is great); however they will do you fresh eggs and pancakes which makes up for the (occasionally cold) sausages and mushrooms. They fortunately do have a toaster so you can make your own toast.

Dinner - food portions were generous - we had some amazing soup on Safari in Kenya and Tanzania so was a little disappointed with the soup in the restaurant which was bland. The fish didn’t always seem fresh despite being by the sea. However the curries and pastas were good.

2) we didn’t use it but the air con was broken on our room.

3) There was shampoo, conditioner and body lotion but no shower gel? Wasn’t sure if this was intentional though. Appreciated the body lotion though.

4) there were a couple of holes in the mosquito net that needed patching up.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Explore801523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We were so glad that we find this hidden paradise! The accommodations is just perfect, in individuals bungalows, very spacious and beautiful decorated in Zanzibar traditional way. We stayed 6 nights in bungalow no. 7, right to the ocean. Amazing view! The restaurant is good, the personal is very polite and always ready to help. The beach is very quiet, with white sand and cristal blue water. There are 2 sand banks which appear when the water is low and disappear when ocean grow.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Hartmann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

We had a nice stay at Warere Beach. We got an upgrade to a nice room in the main building (which was however little bit noisy due to the bar next to it). The pool is nice as well.
The location is great if you just want to relax. You can only walk to the main beach (ca 30 min) during low tide. Otherwise a taxi is needed (about 10-15000 Tsh). The road is under very bad condition, hence it takes quite a while to get from the village to the hotel.
If you have to pay by credit card, they apply an additional fee of 5% which was not mentioned at all during the booking. As there is no ATM in Nungwi, you don’t have a chance but to accept the fee - which was quite high in total as we stayed 4 nights...

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank rosalie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, Owner at Warere Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for your review Rosalie, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

I just wanted to point out that we send an email to all guests upon booking, whereby we state the 5% bank charge on card payments, amongst other useful information.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday on Zanzibar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews