We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 07:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Overall great experience (but first time in Africa so no baseline)

Overall a really good experience - as noted this is my first time diving in Africa so I don't have... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Byron_Goose_Johnson
,
Vancouver, Canada
Snorkeling in Zanzibar

Not a top rating if you want to see diverse fish and other marine life. BUT! You will see coral you... read more

Reviewed 17 October 2018
Karen G
,
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Read all 72 reviews
  
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
49
15
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
15
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small wall dive centre marine life mnemba island swimming with wild dolphins scorpion fish dive master dive locations great diving fruit open water dives picked up from our hotel stone town wet suits diving experience day trip snorkelers
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

I completed my Open Water qualification at One Ocean. I completed the theory before travelling and booked the training dives with One Ocean and then an additional 4 dives. My boyfriend, who had already qualified, also completed 12 dives with One Ocean.

The communication before we travelled was excellent, with prompt replies to emails. Everything was explained clearly and we were provided with a link to pay online (with a 6% surcharge).

The team were on time collecting us on day one from the hotel, although we cycled the rest of the time.

All the staff were very friendly when we arrived. Charlotte provided my training and was excellent - she was patient and had perfect English.

On the open water dives, the crew on the boat and the dive masters were all great. The snacks were lovely. The dive locations we beautiful with an abundance of sea life - which the staff were able to identify. We had no concerns about safety, and Charlotte was very patient with my extreme sea sickness.

We were also able to transfer 2 dives to the Stone Town site too and had an equally good experience there.

We would like to thank all the team who made diving such an incredible experience.

Thank Gemma623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneOceanManagement, Manager at One Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Gemma623,
thank you so much for your superb review!

We are so happy to read that the whole experience with us was just perfect, safe and memorable.

The team has been thrilled to read all your compliments, they all send a big ASANTE SANA to both of you.

Keep diving and say safe, we hope to have you back in Zanzibar for some more fun in the sun.

The One Ocean Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

I did the deep dive course with one ocean and had amazing dives. The instructors made you feel safe and give you a lot of good tips for a better dive. I really recomend one ocean and dive in zanzibar!

Thank Mariana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneOceanManagement, Manager at One Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Mariana L,
thank you so much for the fantastic review!

We are so happy to read that you felt safe while still having a lot of fun and receiving great info from your instructors.

We hope to have you back diving with us!

The One Ocean Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We have a dive with them in our trip to Zanzibar. Because we were many divers, they has separate dive instructor for each small group. Dive at Memba island is a must, you got to see lot of fishes and starfishes.
Boats are traditional dhows and generally I am not a seasick person, these boats makes you a seasickness.

Thank Petra_Somnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-One-Ocean, Manager at One Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Petra_Somnea,
thanks for your wonderful review!

We are so happy to read that you got a perfect time with us and you enjoyed the underwater beauties of Mnemba Atoll.

We are sorry to read that you got seasick but hope you took one of the seasickness tablets that we provide (free of charge) every morning before boarding the boat, they normally help a lot!
It might not be your case but you could be interested in knowing that people on anti-malaria medications tend to get seasick more easily, for this reason seasickness might not depend from the kind of boat used but from other factors.

We hope to have you back soon for more fun in the sun.

The One Ocean Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

I’m advanced diver , we stayed in the Matemwe beach village hotel . We dive in Memba , it was fantastic. According to tides we left the hotel by boat and came back by bus 35 minutes.
In Memba we dive on Aquarium spot ( better on low tide )

Dive equipment are good , and professional staff .
Price ( 110 Usd for 2 dives - with 10 liters tanks )

Thank Jean-Pascal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-One-Ocean, Manager at One Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Jean-Pascal D,
thanks a lot for your wonderful review!

It is exciting to read that you got a great time with us and you enjoyed our organisation, equipment and dive spot.

We hope to have you back for more fun in the sun.

The One Ocean Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my two snorkeling adventures with One Ocean. Staff were super-friendly and helpful. I thought their prices were very reasonable also. It was well organized from start to finish. Their boats were excellent and they did a wonderful job navigating some rough water on the return trip. They had some great snacks during the trip and drinking water anytime as well. If you needed sea-sickness tablets they offered those right from the beginning. They had picture books on board to show what fish you would see/ had seen. Each guide in the water pulls a tube around if you need to rest during the trip. It was evident they had lots of experience and were a reputable company.

Thank Gregory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-One-Ocean, Manager at One Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear Gregory D,
thanks your wonderful review!

We are so happy to read that all the aspects of your snorkelling trip was simply perfect, thanks for the accurate description, it will definitely be of great help to the readers.

We hope to have you back for more great snorkelling in paradise.

The One Ocean Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews