We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beach stop!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Matemwe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights, and we couldn't have been happier! The owner, Jan, was very responsive on email, and he worked with us to give us a great deal! He even worked it out so we could upgrade to the suite with a balcony halfway through our stay! The rooms were VERY clean, and beautiful!

The food was AMAZING - the BBQ one night was the BEST! We loved that they would let us split a dinner or order from the a la carte lunch menu on days we weren't as hungry, and the breakfast was filling, healthy and delicious. Happy hour was great - we especially loved the drink called The Dawa!!

We couldn't say more about the service and the staff. Lucicelo went out of his way to teach us a little bit about African culture and the music, so we always looked forward to being able to have a conversation with him each day! Every single person we met was so friendly and helpful, and I think this aspect of our stay was among the most outstanding! Jan made sure we had all the information we needed to enjoy the beach and our trip, even introducing us to people he knew who would make us custom clothes and someone to take us scuba diving. He also was able to tell us what was going on in other areas of the island and how to get there!

The location right on the beach was PERFECT! It was wonderful to have comfortable chairs and shade for enjoying the ocean. Walking out to the reef at low tide (just need some sturdy water sandals) was great to see different ocean life, as well as get a unique perspective on how locals fish and harvest seaweed. The beach was long and wide, so perfect for long walks...day and night.

Overall, we can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay at Zanzibar Retreat Hotel! I just hope we will get to go back someday!

Room Tip: The suite with the oceanview balcony is definitely the best! Simply amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

We spent 4 nights with our 2 young kids, and we all had a fantastic time! The perfect place to just relax by the nice&big pool, or at the lovely beach. At the same time, there are also options to go on various trips if you feel like it. We went out to Mnemba with some locals in their boat, and enjoyed seeing dolphins, and snorkelling. You could also go on diving trips, spice tour, trip to Stone Town etc. The food at Zanzibar Retreat was fab, always very fresh and cooked perfectly. The staff made sure there was also something special for the kids to enjoy for their dinners, and in general they really made the kids and us as a family feel welcome and at home. Manager Jan and his super-woman assistant Karin always made sure we had everything we needed, and went out of their way to assist us with organising trips, transport, and even henna painting for the kids on the beach - which they absolutely loved. Would highly recommend this place to families and to everyone, and we hope to go back ourselves at some point.

Room Tip: We "upgraded" to the upstairs DeLuxe room, and it was great, definitely worth the extra co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelsen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our 7 night Tanzania Northern Circuit Safari. We wanted a small, quiet hotel to chill out for a few days and do nothing, and that is exactly what we got! Absolutely perfect! Room was perfectly formed, (we were only in it to sleep!), food was amazing, staff were lovely, and the other guests (apart from 2 inconsiderate young girls) generally on the same wavelength of just wanting to chill out. The pool was lovely and the beach endless. We walked up and down everyday , chatting to the locals - who once told you didn't want to buy anything or go snorkelling were happy just to chat! We also made the 2 hour journey one night to 'The Rock' restaurant. Well worth it & the journey itself was a mini island tour! Wished we could have stayed longer was our only regret!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank hoorayholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We spent 5 nights here after climbing Kilimanjaro and it was the perfect place to relax and unwind. The food was incredible and the service was first class, very friendly and helpful staff. You must go snorkelling in Mnemba Island, great sealife and dolphins if youre lucky which we were. Highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel. Nice view, spacious room, excellent service and delicious food.It is a perfect place to relax ,especially after a safari trip.
I. ROOM
The DeLuxe room overlooking the sea with a spacious balcony is highly recommended. It is worth extra dollars. Standard rooms are rather small and mediocre.
II. LOCATION
Approximately 1 hour drive from the Stone Town as well as the airport . There is not much to see around the area. But the beach with white sands is long and good for walking.
III FOOD
Tasty food. I was nicely surprised to come across with delicious seafood spaghetti. The spaghetti was real aldente(not overlooked like in many other places)! I did not feel like going out of this hideout. So I ended up eating 3 meals a day here for 3 days. But I never got bored.
IV SERVICE
All the staff are friendly and helpful. The general manager Jan is managing the hotel professionally . He will give you always a good advice,whenever you need it. I kept in touch with him in email ,since the time of reservation. He was quick to answer and tried to accommodate my preferences (such as the room type). Thank you Jan.
V EXTRA
There was a family who went out to a tour of watching dolphins. They came back very excited,because they could swim with 7 dolphins! If you try to do this in Hawaii ,you have to pay 150 dollars per person(and together with a big crowd).

Room Tip: Definitely choose a DeLuxe room with a balcony. There are not many. So you have to reserve well in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globetrottingloner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I cannot recommend Jan's place highly enough. The hotel is small and perfect for couples on their honeymoon. The staff are really friendly and helpful and Jan is great for advice on where to go, what to do. It was really good value compared to other places we'vd looked and the food was great.

Room Tip: Ask about the honeymoon offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiamhOD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

The Zanzibar retreat is a fantastic place to stay. Jan and his team provide excellent service. The food is great and we enjoyed the option of ordering fresh seafood a couple of nights which was beautifully cooked! The rooms are very clean and well kept. Even the laundry was perfectly washed and ironed! Happy hour cocktails (4-6pm) were fantastic value and served in the delightful sea view bar. We highly recommend Zanzibar Retreat!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BellGell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
15.7 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 174 in Zanzibar Island
541 reviews
23.3 mi away
Zawadi Hotel Zanzibar
5.4 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
956 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
#2 of 6 in Matemwe
108 reviews
3.3 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Retreat Hotel

Address: Matemwe Beach, Matemwe, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Matemwe
Price Range: £76 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated directly on the beach. Its a peaceful and tranquil setting with plenty of shady places for you to relax. There is a 16x8 meter pool perfect for a refreshing swim when the tide is out. The hotel serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and there is a well-stocked bar to accompany. We are proud to have a good reputation regarding food. We work consequently with proper waist management, and support education in the village. Most of our suppliers are from the village, and we try our best to have a good relation with the whole village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Zanzibar Retreat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Retreat Matemwe
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel Matemwe, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing