We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Matemwe
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed for three nights and enjoyed the relaxed ambiance. The rooms are large and comfortable and we enjoyed the private plunge pool. The food was wonderful. It would be a lovely honeymoon hotel or somewhere for total relaxation. Don't be put off by the rough roads on the approach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    40
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
23
168
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed in kasha 5 nights. It was wonderful. Excellent food (the best we had in our 3 weeks trip in Tanzania). Very good service. The manager Andrea is very attentionnate and professional. Our room was outstanding, large, well decorated and with a seaview. What makes Kasha unique is the superb view of the lagoon.
We loved Kasha and our stay there

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Didier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

A very beautiful place to have a very intimate honeymoon - chalets are exquisite and very private. Food is amazing. You must do the beach barbeque and a visit to Stone Town . Food is excellent and I advise a min stay of 7 nights. If you are from SA remember you are paying in dollars so it can get expensive

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

It's not a hotel, it's a residence... It's not a room, it's a house... It's not a hotel staff, it's a family ! In this very luxurious place, from the moment you are welcomed until the very last minute, everyone here is dedicated to making your stay memorable.
Food is great, staff is amazing and the management is completely service-oriented.
The room is spacious, very clean and really makes you feel it's yours!
Lots of nice little attentions are available for you in the room.
Just like when you are at home, you can go to the reception where discretionary DVDs, snorkeling apparel are available to borrow. No formal list or any other things, you just take them and bring them back, which gives you a sense of the peaceful atmosphere that lives in this piece of heaven.
If anything does not satisfy you, ask the management and it is fixed in a blink of an eye !
We were impressed by the quality of this place and we'll definitely make sure to check back in soon !

Room Tip: Attention, sea view is not in front of the sea which is confusing. If you want to be at the very fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georges D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
369 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Our welcome was warm and the manager Andres explained everything about the hotel and rooms and even showed us to our villas. The room was massive with a lovely bath area as well. Each room opened into a sitting area with a small plunge pool.

The hotel also has an infinity pool and bar attached which faces the ocean. Mnemba Island is located about 2 km offshore and we took a snorkelling trip there which was lovely.

The beach below the hotel is subject to the vagaries of the tide since there is a reef just off Matemwe. When the tide is out, you can walk along the beach and wade out to the reef if you choose to. The hotel provides you reef shoes. But when the tide comes in, you cannot go down to the beach.

The room has a large screen TV and they have a selection of DVDs on offer. The toiletries provided are thoughtful and small touches like giving a set of pool towels in the villa make your stay a memorable one. One consideration is that the water is a bit salty so you need to use bottled water to brush teeth etc.

Bottled water is provided on the house. The food is lovely and service quite efficient. There is wifi in the sitting area near the restaurant.

Kasha is easily the best hotel we stayed in on our trip to Tanzania.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShareKhan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Kasha is a little bit of paradise on the east coast of Zanzibar. It was strongly recommended to us by Imagine Africa for the final part of our honeymoon and they couldn’t have suggested better. With just a handful of villas, each stunningly decorated and with its own plunge pool, Kasha made a perfectly romantic setting. When we arrived our immaculate villa was decorated with bright hibiscus flowers, and we quite happily spent the next five days relaxing in this beautiful place. A few of the review here criticise the ‘bumpy’ road getting there but this is really no big deal – it’s what you get for a private spot in an unspoilt part of the island. The food was fresh, imaginative and delicious and we still miss our pre-dinner cocktails as the sun went down. Don’t miss Mariam’s wonderful massage in the spa or snorkelling on the coral reef.

Room Tip: Go for a sea front villa - it is worth the small amount of extra money for the extra privacy and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieBen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We visited Kasha for nearly one week during our honeymoon and it couldn't be a better decision! There are only 11 villas what makes it a really relaxing and private place (exactly what you are looking for on your honeymoon). All the hotel is amazing but once you enter your villa with private splash pool you just want to live there forever. The views from every point of the hotel are impressive and the FOOD is really really GOOD. One of the best things is the excellent service from management & all the staff which make you feel like home.

Our recomendation, DONT MISS IT!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_HernandezS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
9.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
7.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
2.6 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#3 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
9.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
8.9 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel

Property: Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel
Address: Kigomani, Matemwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique Boutique Hotel in Zanzibar An island that holds a legendary status among travelers as an exotic island paradise blessed with palm fringed shores, timeless fishing villages and lush plantations. Kasha is a boutique hotel situated on the northeast coast of the island surrounded by clear aqua water, access to excursions, and beaches, yet it is very private. It is an intimate hotel for friends, couples and honeymooners that guarantees a peaceful and tranquil holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel Matemwe, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing