We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”
Review of Tamani Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamani Villas
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We had the most amazing time at Tamani Villas! The villas are right on the beach and the rooms look out onto the ocean. The sand is whiter than white and the water in the ocean warm as bathwater! If you dont fancy swimming in the ocean, then there is a nice pool.

We were fed and watered and extremely well looked after. The staff are courteous and obliging and nothing is too much trouble.

Mnemba Island is close by where you can enjoy first class snorkelling - it feels like you are in a giant aquarium.

We had a wonderful time and a big thank you to the owners for making our trip a memorable one. Their project to provide education to the local community is amazing and highly commendable.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zanzibarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

Just got back from a week long stay at Tamani Villas and it was absolutely amazing. It is the closest I have ever come to seeing paradise on earth! Amazing luxurious villas, friendly staff, swimming pools, beautiful gardens which open up on to a whitesand beach! 15 minute walk from a PADI scuba diving centre down the beach, an hour's drive from zanzibar's famous stone town. You can rent cycles or motorbikes to drive along the beach for $10-15 an hour, there's spice tours and turtle aquariums all close by. At night you can lie in a hammock or relax by the sea and see a sky full of beautiful stars (which is a rarity for us with all the light pollution back home!) - the honeymoon couple staying there before us told us they saw shooting stars a few times too! sunrise is also amazing to watch

Baba Ali the manager is helpful and friendly (as are all the staff), and Shabbir the owner is one of the nicest men I've ever met - he's set up a small school for disadvantaged children from the local village; it's only a couple minutes from the villas (and a must see if you get a chance!)

Would not hesitate to go back again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarrowAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

We stayed at Tamani Villas for a week in January and had the most amazing time.
The accommodation itself was pure luxury, right on the beach and it had its own swimming pool. As a family we got to enjoy everything without even having to lift a finger. There was a full time cook who specialized in everything including western and African food. Try the baked fish, it is scrumptious. Then we had a maid who ensured that the villa was always clean, turned the beds. It was just like living in a hotel.
The best part though was the exotic juices provided by Ali the manager. He would make some of the best tasting fresh juices i have encountered all locally sourced.
We loved everything about Tamani. The rooms were lovely, the views amazing, the food scrumptious and the staff were great. If you want luxury in Paradise this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imv81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank kheira75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrAlejandroLP .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
Thank Nils H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanetteJ68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
1.1 mi away
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
#2 of 6 in Matemwe
89 reviews
0 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#1 of 10 in Matemwe
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sele's Bungalows
Sele's Bungalows
#8 of 21 in Matemwe
121 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamani Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamani Villas

Address: Beach Road, Matemwe, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Matemwe
Price Range: £55 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your home away from home, on the paradise island of Zanzibar! Both four-bedroom villas are staffed with full-time chefs and housekeeping, making it the best scene to serve your needs in Zanzibar. Tamani has 2 exclusive luxury beach front villas - one is 5 bedrooms with 5 bathrooms and the other one is 4 bedrooms with 4 bathrooms. Each villa has its own private swimming pool and is equipped with air conditioned rooms, personal chef,and full housekeeping services. Tamani Villas provides the unique opportunity to give back to the local community as all proceeds are donated to the Tamani Learning Center which provides nursery, primary and adult education for the people of Matemwe. By choosing Tamani as your next holiday destination, you will be contributing to help the locals with excellent education that equips them with the opportunity for a brighter future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tamani Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamani Villas Matemwe, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing