We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

After 4 intense days of Safari in Kenya we went to relax to Villa Kiva Boutique Hotel in Zanzibar. We chose the perfect place. It is very quite, beautiful landscape, white sand and blue clear water. The food at the hotel is excellent, a mixture of italian food and african food. Delicioussss!!! The staff were very friendly, always smiling. Gabriella, the owner is very friendly and everytime I asked her something she said YES OF COURSE.
Thank you very much Villa Kiva Team for these fantastic days. We are already missing Zanzibar and the hotel. Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leahzita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

Very relaxing, beautiful and quiet place. Very comfortable bungalows. Gabriella and her staff were very friendly and attentive. We especially appreciated Gabriella's assistance in arranging for a car and driver to take us on daytrips around the island. Villa Kiva is conveniently located near Nungwi and Mnemba Island. We enjoyed our stay so much that we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were staying down the beach at Sunshine B&B (nice place) and came here for lunch. Lunch was great-amazing views and good food. Kids enjoyed the cheese pizza and we had red beans with coconut milk with chapati bread -fantastic! Honestly one of the best things I have eaten in this 3 week trip!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank AndyM_WHCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days in January in the Africa room. Only positive things to say..the dinners were just great - we just couldn´t stop eating. The pasta if perfectly made! Just located on the beach we spend several hours just sunbathing. Low tide during the day but we did go to the little "pool" in the sea cooling down now and then.
We just had a wonderful time! It´s so nice just to hang out on the terrace facing the ocean and just see the world go by.
Gabriella and her staff is very helpful. I got a little cute soap from her as a gift.

Room Tip: Africa room is spacious and with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bugg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

By far our best stop on the trip.

We stayed here for 3 nights and kept reminiscing about this place after.

We arranged a free pickup from Stone Town which lasted about 30 minutes. Upon arrival, we received lovely fruit cocktails and a fresh towel.

The whole place is relatively new so all amenities are in excellent shape.

Gabriella, the manager, runs this place superbly: clean, efficient, quiet, luxurious yet simple and relaxing. Dozens of locals work here which also makes for a nice interaction. There is a lot of attention to the small details which really makes a difference.

We stayed in room 17, which is the top floor of one of the bungalows. The room had a decent air conditioner and a very old fan which didn't fit in with the spirit of the place. A very large room with seating area as well and a small balcony. The only draw back was the shower which wasn't inline with the rest of the place and the pipes were a bit rusty.

Aside from that, phenomenal dinners and excellent breakfasts. Dinner is always 3 course and everything is freshly bakes or cooked. Breakfast consists of the usual stuff but also amazing passion fruit juice and your choice of eggs. There is afternoon tea with a selection of pastries served poolside.

Lunch is modestly priced with a good selection, cocktails will set you back 5-7$. The coffee was a bit disappointing and they can surely do better.

Now for the outdoors: amazing poolside and hotel exterior. Very well kept tropical garden and the pool is almost purely fresh water based. The beachside is excellent with a flower wall that keeps the papasis away yet allows you to comfortably relax.

The beach in Matemwe is not the best for swimming at ANY point of the day. However, it is simply beautiful and you can take long walks for miles and miles in any direction. Lush palm tress dot the coastline and the stars really come out at night. It's an excellent base for exploring Mnemba Island whether for diving or snorkeling.

We really enjoyed this place and found it also affordable for the value that you get. Book ahead directly with Gabriella to enjoy the best rates.

Room Tip: I would go for ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avichai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We didn't visit Villa Kiva on our first trip to Zanzibar a couple of months ago, but having eaten there several times on our return visit last week, we're wishing we had!

The restaurant has an excellent menu with a wide choice of options - including many vegetarian dishes (a rarity in Matemwe). The prices are good compared to other places, particularly the pizzas which are just $5 each. Beware though - they are 'deep pan' in the extreme, something not especially in keeping with the Italian theme to the menu, and something we didn't really enjoy.

We ended up eating several meals there (lunches and a dinner) due at first to it's proximity to One Ocean where we were learning to dive, but also for it's reliable service and quality. It was surprisingly quiet every time we went, but it's not peak season so most places are quiet now.

Overall, Villa Kiva has proved itself to us as a 'must visit' while in Matemwe.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Villa Kiva in July of 2012 after our safari. I had been to Zanzibar before and when booking was looking for something on the beach and near the dive center but that would not be super busy. I am also a student so I was really concerned about cost. I honestly didn't have the highest expectations for Villa Kiva when I booked it but I knew Zanzibar would be amazing either way. As soon as we arrived my expectations were completely blown away. The place is absolutely stunning once inside the resort compound. The pictures do not do it justice at all. It is perfectly clean, romantic and welcoming. Excellent staff that go the extra mile to accommodate you for meals (which are so, so good) and booking activities. The manager Gabriella could not have been any better at making our trip special. The individual villas are amazing and the place never feels crowded. Perfect beach that you can walk for hours on and rarely be approached to purchase anything (especially if it is on a weekday). We walked down the beach for a trip with one Ocean Dive center that was fantastic. You can swim in front of the hotel or walk out to the second sand bar at low tide. We never had a problem with sea urchins at all. The hotel pool is also lovely. I have traveled all over East Africa and this has to have been my favorite spot to stay. We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: They all face the beach and are private with air conditioning, a safe, shower with hot water etc, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
5.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
464 reviews
35.3 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
35.4 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
261 reviews
16.0 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#6 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant

Address: Matemwe 3151, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Matemwe
Price Range: £66 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Kiva is located on the long and white sandy beach of Matemwe on the north east coast of Zanzibar. Matemwe is well known for the absence of big resorts and mass tourism. It is a part of the island where it is still possible to share and live the local life, walking through a local fish market and having a relaxing time on the beach. Just in front of Villa Kiva there is the atoll of Mnemba Island where it is possible to admire the amazing reef and colourful fish both snorkeling and scuba diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Kiva Resort And Restaurant Matemwe, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing