We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunshine Marine Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Matemwe
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect spot to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel is heaven. It is quite out of the way so it is perfect to relax. The location is superb. What an amazing view of Mnemba. The resort itself is decorated really well. It is rustic chic and adds to the feeling of relaxation somehow. The food in the restaurant is very good and so I was happy to eat there despite being someone who likes to get out and about. I needed to relax and this was just the tonic.

The dive centre is great. The coolest looking dive centre I have encountered. I was very impressed with the equipment and the professionalism.

I have said the service is excellent. The service from the local staff and the male manager of the hotel are very good. I have to say that the female manager really needs to address her attitude. She apologised for snapping at me and being very unhelpful when I had booked another night at the hotel on Booking.com. She blamed it on being early in the morning and I put it to one side and enjoyed the rest of the stay. However I did see her scowling around the place. It is not consistent with my experience of the hotel. Perhaps she was just having a bad time of it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gimgam44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    32
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
84
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent 3 nights here over Easter. It is a lovely hotel and beautifully designed. The rooms were spacious and extremely clean. Housekeeping was on point and even came in the evening to spray the room against bugs and mosquitos. The staff are very friendly and helpful, overall service was excellent. As the lodge is quite secluded we ate at the restaurant. The food was good, however the portions were quite small which makes it a bit overpriced. My suggestions: bigger portions. If you're looking to party and meet loads of people, this may not be the place for you. If you're looking for a relaxing holiday in a gorgeous setting then this place is highly recommendable. Also, very ideal for couples.
Will definitely be returning here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

the hotel opened about a year ago and it looks amazing. our family room was spacious, super clean, and very comfortable. the pools were right on the beach and provided our kids with hours of fun. food was tasty - great breakfast was included in our BB and we ate all of our meals at the hotel since it is quiet far from other places. The hotel is located just in front of Mnemba island where most dives are being done, and it is only 15-20 minutes by boat (in comparison to 1.5 hours from Nungwi) so the dives were beautiful (120$ for 2 dives, including rental of equipment). And most importantly - great friendly service for everything we've asked, big or small. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaidush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a lovely resort with great views out to Mnemba Island. The lodges are very nicely furnished but don't have air conditioning which can make sleep difficult. Ensure your taxi driver knows where they are located, as ours didn't and ended up driving through Matemwe village and onto a terrible road instead of taking the better route which other drivers use. The gardens are very well kept and the pool and dining area beautiful relaxing areas. I didn't snorkell but other guests recommended a trip from the resort over by Mnemba Island where the sealife was abundant and dolphins can be usually found.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Beautiful resort,great views of the ocean and Mnemba Island,very good service: staff very friendly,food is very good: plenty of seafood and fish,interesting walks on the beach, very quiet and peaceful and good snorkeling tours

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bld2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I endorse everything in the recent reviews of Laurenatsea and mwillis52, so I'll try to keep this short. This place is fantastic. It is very new, so everything is in stellar condition. The staff is very friendly and customer-oriented, so the service couldn't be better. The rooms are extremely clean and modern, with fans, mosquito netting, and twice-a-day service. The common areas are uncommonly nice, open to ocean breezes and immaculate. Restaurant has a limited menu, but everything is delicious, for both lunch and dinner. The full breakfast included in the price is complete--eggs to order, crepes (with Nutella!), etc. Views are spectacular from everywhere on the property. On-site snorkel trip was great (energetic, friendly, and knowledgeable guides, along with first-rate equipment), and it looks like an excellent dive operation, too. "Low season" is completely incomprehensible to me, as the weather is spectacular in mid-March. I could go on and on. Bottom line: We couldn't be happier. (We had spent a few days at the sister Sunshine Hotel a few clicks from here. While it is smaller, it is similarly excellent in quality and service.) Note: this is in an isolated location at the end of a bumpy, back-country road, so during the drive you ask yourself: Really? I'm headed to a great resort? I don't believe it. Well, believe it.

Room Tip: I don't see any bad locations here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Wow! I could gush for hours. This is most definitely the place to stay. I would recommend at least 4 nights.
My husband and I are world travellers, we have done every continent and this in mind. I would say Sunshine Marine Lodge has got the mix absolutely spot on.
The lodge is about a year old now, so still very new....everything is still fresh and new. The lodge design is spacious, it exudes relaxation and tranquility.
The rooms are fantastic. Bathrooms stunning. Housekeeping is excellent, everything from making sure the rooms are super clean, replenished and each evening turndown service.
The staff in general were amazing. On arrival we were met by Lucas, and his accommodating attitude really set the tone for our stay. The staff and especially management really really care and it shows.
You are made to feel so welcome.
The quality of the cocktails and food was a delight.
The pools ... there is No better ... They are the BEST!
The view of Mnemba Island can not be beat.
The lodge is built on a small cliff so at low tide you can wander around the rock pools, its truly beautiful.
They have an on site diving snorkeling operation. We did a snorkeling trip to Mnemba Atoll Reef... it was a well worthwhile outing.
I can not recommend this Lodge enough. .. It is absolutely fantastic. If you want to relax in a phenomenal chilled atmosphere, THIS IS THE PLACE!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurenatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
8.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
9.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
4.0 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
38.5 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Marine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Marine Lodge

Property: Sunshine Marine Lodge
Address: Muyuni - Matemwe, Matemwe 4749, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Marine Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is situated 20min. far away from Matemwe, just in front of the beautiful Mnemba Atoll and near the unspoiled Muyuni Beach. Surrounded by a wild bush (local flora), Sunshine Marine Lodge is the ideal location to relax, enjoy the pure nature and the Dive Point diving center's activities (diving, snorkeling, dive courses), far away from the mass tourism and huge properties "all inclusive". The Lodge disposes of 3 outdoor pools overlooking the Ocean and Mnemba Atoll as well the Restaurant and Bar. Guests can choose from "a' la carte menu" tasty dishes from local and international cuisine, different all the days and cooked only with fresh ingredients and lovely care. Half or Full board are provided on request. As located on a rocky cliff, the wooden jetty gives the chance to reach the sea and swim or, on the low tide, do a nice promenade in the sea bottom and discover creeks, wild fauna or reach Muyuni Beach (700mt on foot or 15 minutes by bike). Our diving center provide for special reef shoes and mountain bikes are available at the reception, for free. All the bungalows are within a lush and colored garden. Bedrooms have an African modern design, with sea view, from the private garden with veranda or the terrace, all equipped with outdoor furniture to chilling out in privacy. King size bed with mosquito net, desk, stone bench, bathroom with shower, safe, 3 fans (no a/c and TV), are the main features in all the categories. Family, friends or little groups are welcome thanks to the huge Panorama Suites, suitable up to 4 people or extra/twin beds available in most of the other rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Sunshine Marine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Marine Lodge Matemwe, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing