We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical place in Zanzibar”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Matemwe, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Anna B
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical place in Zanzibar”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Villa Tulia is unique place. Not only because of comfortable condition to live in and stylish arrangement of interior, but mainly because of beautiful view of the ocean. It is fantastic experience to see every day siting at the terrace or walking along beach, colors of ocean changes and to follow life existing around it. If you want go to swimming you only need one minute to be in the ocean. You can fell safeness because the nearby cay is natural protection against strong surf. The kindness and commitment of the stuff makes you, fell as you were at your own flat. There are a several nice places situated on the beach near the Villa in which you can taste original food. It tasted fantastic. I reminisce my holiday in Villa Tulia and I m sure, that I will come back to this magic place.

Date of stay: November 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Thank you, Anna. You are always welcome to experience the magic of Zanzi and Villa Tulia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect beach village, tastefully furnished and beautifully run.”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband ,daughter and daughters boyfriend arrived at villa Tulia on the 20 December for a week. We were welcomed by the villa carers who also work at the excellent lodge next door. On arrival our maid and 4 delightful eskaries were awaiting our arrival. Nothing was ever too much trouble and we were particularly charmed by the educated and interesting young Masai eskaries.
Over the week the young people wake boarded nearby. On Xmas morning we took the snorkling boat from the hotel and were lucky enough to have a shoal of Dolphins swim around us. We enjoyed looking at the varied and fabulous lodges down the beach ( we had a good dinner at Green and Blue) the hotel next door was particularly appreciated as they were happy for us to swim in their pool and their food was very good. It was more difficult than we had imagined to buy many ingredients so we did need the lodges..
The helpful and kind owners provide 2 fridges and when one of them seemed to be losing power one of the excellent managers brought us a new one.
We hope to return!

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to beach amongst other things
Liked least: Needed another lounger
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The solitude
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Thank you, Noel. We hope to see you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mikołaj B
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
“Vacation in paradise”
Reviewed 22 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Baisically if you are looking for a peaceful palce to forget about your work and responsibilities while enjoying beautiful view of palm tres and ocean Villa Tulia is place to check out. It is ridiculously close to the beach, restaurants and bars are nearby but not too close. House is nicely decorated and well kept. Great place!

Date of stay: November 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikołaj G
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I was in paradise.”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in January 2014
4
people found this review helpful

If you're looking for a perfect place to rest - here it is !
We spent a wonderful time in a comfort house. Nice and clean rooms and bathrooms. Great hall and a terasse.
Two nice local bars in a walking distance.
I hope I'll come back to Villa Tullia. One can always dream.

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Thank you, Mikołaj. The paradise is still here and you are always welcome at Villa Tulia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauldwit
Cat Island
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location but a disappointing home”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We booked the Villa as a peaceful getaway and as our introduction to Zanzibar. We loved Zanzibar but alas, didn't fall in love with Villa Tulia. First off the good. The location is fantastic, you are literally steps away from the magnificent beach at Matemwe and there is a lovely restaurant and resort nearby run by Munisi (who also manages the Villa in the absense of owners Justyna and Jacek ) which we would actually recommend staying at over Villa Tulia.

If you are looking for really basic accommodation with minimal facilities then you'll enjoy Villa Tulia. As other reviewers have indicated, provisioning has to be done in Stone Town beforehand. We have rented Villas in remote locations before and the owners have offered per-provisioning, which helps the weary traveler who wants to get on and enjoy their holiday and who will be unfamiliar with local shopping customs/availability. However, if you enjoy the madness of shopping in the markets of Stone Town then that could be fun.

We found the house itself dark, the bedding/towels and kitchen fittings had seen better days and overall there was a feeling that the Villa had the look and feel of an absent owner. There was no welcome pack, neither Jacek or Justyna were there to welcome either. We were advised to stay at an alternate hotel by Jacek on the first night as our flight arrived in Zanzibar late, the hotel he recommended we stay in was possibly the worst we have ever stayed (pictures attached) , our introduction to Zanzibar was a flea-pit of a hotel, with no one who spoke English and where we felt threatened due to some very dubious characters frequenting the hotel at 2am in the morning. We were unable to contact the owners to help us get out of there.

We eventually went to the Villa the next day, as mentioned above it was underwhelming and had an unloved air about it. Munisi was very helpful and considerate, however we decided against staying at the Villa and moved to an alternate further up the island. At no point did either Jacek or Justyna bother to call us, they were out of the country at the time. Our request to refund part of the weeks booking was rejected out of hand. A disappointing experience at Villa Tulia but Zanzibar is a wonderful island and there are plenty of decent accommodation options to suit any budget.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: decor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
The guest who gave us this feedback has never stayed at Villa Tulia. His decision to cancel was actually made after a disappointing night at a hotel in Stone Town which we recommended to him based on his brief (inexpensive, backpackers type of place for a couple of hours). We have good evidence of that in text echange. The enclosed picture does not even show Villa Tulia. His comments on the house are either irrational (darkness = shade which is quite practical in the tropics) or not factual (he did not give himself a chance to experience the quality of sleep nor to evaluate the linen which were actually almost new). He arrived to Matemwe late afternoon and left after approx 1 hour of which most was spent on reviewing other accomodation options in the village. Prior to his arrival to Zanzibar, we shared contact details to all of our staff on the ground who are there to help in case of issues. We made the guest aware of the owners living overseas. We have communicated with him and our staff regularly until he disappeared without even communicating his decision to cancel. We value critical feedback from our guests and always try to improve the quality of our service but it is hard to react to comments of someone whose opinions are not experience based.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruced467
Cowra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Location and Property - some minor issues though”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Villa Tulia is a great property, on a lovely stretch of beach, isolated in feel but literally 5-10 minutes walk to restaurants/bars. `the bedrooms are large, good bathroom in each, and a good, well equipped kitchen. Decorations and living/relaxing space in plentiful. Cleaned daily by a local lady, guarded by Masai warriors, who are very friendly. What stopped it getting an excellent rating was (and these issues can occur).....
1) No instructions or written advice on where things are, restaurants near, places to shop. It just needs to be a folder.
2) We didn't have hot water in 2 of the 3 bedrooms for the 5 days. Not much fun for the user of the bedroom with hot water!
3) the Fridge was hopeless. Drinks were only basically kept cold in the freezer, food couldn't be kept.
On the plus side, the owners very very helpful, arranging a hire car for us. It costs 75 dollars for airport transfers, so a car at 30 or 50 a day was good value. You do need a car.
`the only ATM's are in Stone Town, an hours drive away, and ATMS were limited to $400K shillings. Restuarants have price lists in dollars and shillings, suggest you bring both and pay in the currency listed - the exchange rate used is poor. Shopping of any note is best in stonetown but don't expect western supermarkets. Bring lots of mosquito repellent (the beds have good nets).

Date of stay: July 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Dear Bruce, thank you for your feedback. We would just like to let you know that all issues that you mentioned were addressed immediately. The fridge and water heater are working all right. We have also placed a tips & tricks brochure in the sitting room. By the way, now that we are permanently based on Zanzibar, we can react to any issues much faster.
We do hope to see you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.