We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matemwe Baharini Villas
Nearby Hotels
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel(Matemwe)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Marine Lodge(Matemwe)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zanzibar House(Matemwe)(Great Value!)
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Karabai Villa(Matemwe)
US$225
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$658
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$587
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tamani Villas(Matemwe)
US$935
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
12
16
10
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
16
10
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful poolpalm treesmnemba islandlow tideseaafricabeachtides
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We've been in august 2011, me and girlfriend. It has been one of the best week in all my holidays.
Very comfortable rooms, good maid service, very tasty kitchen, chefs are italian!!
Sea in front of you, exposed by east so you can see wonderful dawn.
Perfect if you search for a quiet and relaxing place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rlerius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

For the price, the bungalows are reasonable value for over-priced Zanzibar. The room was clean, nutrally decorated, comfortable bed, good mozzy net, nice bathroom etc. The pool and gardens were lovely. Our one complaint is the service from the 2 (local) zombie-like girls int he restaurant. It seemed to us that unles you speak Italian, the service you receive is extremely poor. We spoke to other non-Italian speaking guests about this and they felt exactly the same - all a bit weird - especially as the actual Italian owner, Andrea, was lovely!! Anywa, the lack of attention and friendliness from the girls put us off eating there for lunch and dinner. The meals were hugely over priced ($12 for very mediocre mac and cheese) and so we went to Sele's Beach Bungalows, just a 10 min walk up the beach - great food, service, decor and atmosphere. Also, if you stay here, dont get too excited about the breakfast - it's a bit on the small side!

Room Tip: if you stay for more than 2 nights, ask for a discounted rate.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoubleFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We (a family of four), came here after kendwa en nungwi and just loved the place. great bungalow, clean and spacious, lovely swimming pool where our kids enjoyed when it wasn't possible to swim in the sea, and great food!!! Thank you, Andrea and Mario!!!
Aleksandra, Holland

Room Tip: we 've had a bungalow which was absolutely lovely
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tebita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We reached this place for our last 5 days and could not find any better : this italian family running the place is just lovely, warm, and makes everything they can to make you feel good.
The place is quiet and beautiful, Bungalows are clear, very clean with all the comfort you can expect for very reasonable price. And most important for a couple like us, you have all the privacy you expect.

And the food, god the food!!!! We'll definitely remember the king fish and calamari, cooked by this very talented and sweet Italian father. The choice is also very wide, and we appreciated also the freshness of the products (too bad I did not have my camera when the fishermen brought you calamari !!)

Thanks again for this unforgettable experience and long life to your Zanzibar adventure.

Caroline & Jonathan, France ( stay from July 28 till August, 2, 2011)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grabou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

I'm travelling with children so it is really important for me to find hotels that are suitable for kids. Baharini Villas did have a pool, the hotel was just right at the beach and the surroundings were ok. The rooms were clean although they seemed to be only half finished; the walls were a bit dirty, the book shelf with the TV set seemed ready to break any minute and the electrical wireing was not properly done. There were also several ugly holes in the walls.

The menu in the restaurant was very limited (only 4 main dishes for dinner and some days only 3 dishes to choose between for lunch) but the food itself was ok. The staff in the restaurant were nice even though they did not give the impression of being very professional; they were loud, shouting to each other or just hanging around without doing anything (just stareing at the few guest who had dared to eat at the restaurant). When we ordered room service just to avoid eating at the restaurant the food was cold, the waitor forgot the drinks - we had to go and get them ourselves -, they never came to get the dirty plates and they still charged us full price for the service!

The manager had a nice attitude from time to time but he wanted to overcharge us for taxi to the neighbour village. Instead of taking the very expensive taxi the manager offered us we made a deal with locals and got a taxi for more than half price.

All in all; the hotel was a little bit scruffy, the pool itself was more than ok even though the pool area wasn't very nice (everything was very old), the staff was mostly nice but very not very professional, quick or effective.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneAndAHalfPax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews