We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matemwe Retreat, Asilia Africa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Matemwe Retreat, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Matemwe Retreat en route to Uganda. The private villa is beautiful and we had perfect service from our butler, Menlad. The staff was very pleasant. we also enjoyed the snorkeling trip.

Room Tip: Stay in any of the villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBtraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    18
    9
    1
    5
See reviews for
11
138
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at Matemwe Retreat (Leila) for 7 nights arriving on the 24th July. Short & sweet review. Everything was simply AMAZING!!!! We got married on the 26th July and that too was a truly beautiful experience & day! The staff could not do enough to make sure everything was perfect.

Big thanks to Ndaki our butler who was also our witness :-) for all his hard work in making our stay so memorable.

Would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarkeathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Our stay at Matemwe was superb. The view from our villa was spectacular. We watched the local fisherman sailing their vessels on the tides, just amazing at sunset. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and always willing to help however they could. What I did appreciate the most was a conversation with staff about the resort's involvement with local community projects. I think that this could be promoted more as they are doing an amazing job with their efforts. Yes, this is a 'must have' experience when visiting Zanzibar.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a villa as this provides you with a butler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed at Matemwe Retreat for 5 days in June. Amazing diving, amazing staff, amazing food and overall a great experience. We stayed in Leyla and our butler Abdi made our time special.

Yes you can't always swim at the beach, yes they might have power issues or problems with their hot water, but the location and the helpful staff make up for everything!

Again I would like to thank Frank from the dive centre as well as Abdi our butler.

We will go back again!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We spent 4 fabulous nights at Matemwe Retreat in the "Nuru" house. The villa was wonderful, the view absolutely breathtaking, and the people... fantastic. Menlad was our butler and he was incredible. We both worried it would be uncomfortable having a butler around during our honeymoon. Menlad was such a professional, so caring, and became a good friend to us. Since we were leaving before the resorts traditional swahili dinner on Sunday, Menlad had the chef prepare a special swahili dinner for us in our villa on our last night. Menlad even brought traditional attire for us to wear and decorated a very romantic table. We will never forget his impersonation of how my wife should greet me, mimicking a lady with a sultry "jambo".
We can't say enough good things about Menlad and the entire experience at Matemwe.
Clayton and Nichole Cheek

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clayton c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Matemwe retreat is everything you read in the hotel profile. Great accommodations, wonderful service, blue ocean waters and white sandy beaches. The staff did everything to make our stay enjoyable, but the remote location of the hotel and clear issues with the locals made it hard for us to get comfortable with our accommodations.

Nothing happened with the locals specifically, but You got the feeling from everyone you encountered (zanzibar as-a-whole)there was an unsettling. Generally the locals were not happy to meet, speak with or interact with tourist. The retreat seem to know this well as they tried to mask it with over compensation highlighting what a great relationship there was with the locals.

This is not a reflection on matemwe at all.

It might be more of a reflection of the type of traveler I am. I need more than just a beach. I like to explore, interact and emerge myself in the culture. Given it was so far from stone town or major communities, so I got a little board.

I was there for six nights. I went snorkeling, trip to stone town, bike ride, walk on the beach and kayak around the reef. I had a great trip. We had amazing service enjoyed lots of local dishes prepared by the retreat staff and relaxed.

I recommend this place for anyone that wants a wonderful, secluded beach retreat with one of the most beautiful views I have ever seen.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caleb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport beach
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Spent 5 nights at the retreat.
The retreat and rooms are very quiet and exotically decorated.
Would not return as, there is no swimming beach. They may tell you there is one, but is a beach full of boats and you would have to swim out real far to have the water reach your knees.
The room was supposed to be air conditioned. It was broken the entire time. A repairman came out 2 days spending the time talking with our butler. Destroyed any privacy and unable to take a shower or sleep while they were there. They would say it was fixed but never worked.
Our butler was mildly hostile. Would walk in on us without knocking. Would give wrong information about massages and buffets. He seemed burned out and resentful. Actually he was pretty obnoxious. Rather than providing relaxation he prevented it.

Room Tip: I would go elsewhere for a nice beach and more caring staff. Stonetown was a great day trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewportBeach1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Matemwe Retreat, Asilia Africa, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. First and foremost, we are very sorry to hear your experience at Matemwe Retreat did not meet your expectations. From the Matemwe management we understand you did raise most of your concerns during your stay, and that compensation was offered by not charging you for your massages and the excursion to Stone Town. We understand that the aircon should work at all times and hope you appreciated our gesture towards compensation.

The Matemwe beach – as with most of Zanzibar’s beaches – is dependent on the tides; and therefore only allows for swimming and snorkelling during high tide. During low tide, we offer reef walks and encourage Retreat guests to make use of the two swimming pools in Main Lodge, or their private rooftop plunge pool.

We acknowledge your negative experience and have already taken proper actions to prevent a similar experience for any future travellers, and ensure we maintain our high service levels at all times. Should you wish to further discuss, please feel very free to contact me at marleen@asiliaafrica.com

Warm regards,
Marleen Haverkamp – Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
7.5 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
2.4 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
9.2 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Green and Blue Ocean Lodge
17.8 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matemwe Retreat, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matemwe Retreat, Asilia Africa

Property: Matemwe Retreat, Asilia Africa
Address: Matemwe, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Matemwe Retreat, Asilia Africa 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your own private tropical escape at Matemwe Retreat. The four elegant villas that make up the retreat are set high in the palm trees with uninterrupted Indian Ocean views. With its secluded location and dedicated private butler, the retreat is considered one of the most exclusive choices of accommodation on Zanzibar Island. If you are looking for pure escapism, these villas - which combine the spirit of Zanzibar with the highest standards of comfort - were designed for you. The private plunge pool, personal bar and spacious roof terrace with day bed and loungers are so appealing that we would not blame you if you relaxed in your hidden sanctuary for your entire holiday. Echoing the white sand beaches and the changing turquoise hues of the tropical waters, the fully air-conditioned Matemwe Retreat villas are a reflection of their tranquil island surroundings, filled with locally produced materials and furnishings. The ground floor of each villa features a private bar area, cool and airy double bedroom with king-sized bed and en-suite bathroom with double basins, shower and a sunken bathtub with impressive views of the sparkling ocean. Outdoors, impressively comfortable and very private lounge areas invite you to make the most of the tropical climate.The rooftop deck with sparkling blue plunge pool offers panoramic Indian Ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Matemwe Retreat, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matemwe Retreat, Asilia Africa Hotel Matemwe
Matemwe Retreat, Asilia Africa Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing