We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sultan Sands Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Melia Zanzibar(Kiwengwa)
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mvuvi Resort(Kiwengwa)
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveller rating
352
205
52
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
205
52
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach boysblue baybahari roomstone townsister hotelevery nightsmaller poolman made beachfruit selectionbeach frontbeautiful dinnerlandscaped gardenstropical fishtanzanian shillingsspecial foodspend moneylow tide
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 638 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The rooms are appealing and the location fantastic, just by/on the white beach. We did however miss the staff friendliness and hospitality that we often experience in Greece and Spain. We very much appreciated the gym and the other facilities and we feel that they could have done better on the basis of the resort and location. Also: Watch out for the room bill. All prices are given in tanzanian shillings, but when you pay your room bill you have to pay in US dollars, and at a ridiculous exchange rate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjetil10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed in Sultan sands in June 2013. The hotel is clean and well kept. Our room had an issue with the AC but after I went to reception someone was there within 5 minutes to mend it and they did. Food fairly similar each evening but it was very nice and they did different themed night with American /italian / oriental to name a few. The sea they recommend sea shoes to protect your feet from coral and shells but we did not find this to be necessary. The locals were kept away from you on the beach by the Masai warriors who kept guard. A lot of sprot can be played here and my son enjoyed a great game of water polo. The balcony on the hut was small and not in the sun but others did get the sun

Room Tip: I would pay the extra to get the larger rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nyladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Our room was clean, modern, and had good A/C, and the beach and ocean were nice. The food was about average. The staff were polite and reasonably efficient. Also, as a vacationing family, we appreciated the lack of a pulsating disco beat at night. On the other hand, the drinks were overpriced (the "special" that week actually cost 2000 shillings MORE than normal) and Sultan Sands shares with its far better sister resort Bluebay the obnoxious practice of pricing services in shillings but forcing customers to pay in foreign currency at the resort's artificially bad exchange rates. Also, a word of caution about the Blue Safari excursion. We enjoyed the outing, but it bore little resemblance to what was advertised. It began with a 90-minute wait at the beach while the crew slowly got organized and laboriously loaded all the boats, followed by a goat-grab as 80 or 90 people simultaneously tried to find the right size fins. You may ask why they didn't use the 90-minute wait to hand out fins at leisure, but this is Africa. The promised "85% chance" of sighting or swimming with dolphins turned out to be zero percent. There wasn't even any mention of dolphins, much less an attempt to find them. Lastly, the three separate snorkeling dives turned out to be one dive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not too far from the main building. We had quite an uphill hike to reach our room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The hotel employees, with the exception of a select few, were rude and had no customer service skills. If you go, expect to get your own drinks by the pool. No one walks around and asks you if you want a drink. Many times when I went to the restaurants, no one greeted me at the table. I had to flag a waitress down and ask them for drinks or a menu. The Masai guards that are supposed to be watching the beach area sit around and stare at the people in the pool and kick the soccer ball around rather than doing their jobs. There is another employee (I think he was the pool cleaner, not sure) who stands by the pool all day long and just stares at all the guests. While we were sitting by the pool relaxing, the waiters/waitresses were goofing around and yelling in the restaurant like little kids. Not very peaceful. First night we were there, they served dinner on the beach which was nice, until a group of waiters and waitresses started arguing right in front of our table. When taking my luggage to the front desk to pay my bill and go home, I had to drag my bag across the gravel driveway. The people standing at the front door just watched me instead of assisting me. I don't know if this was the "B" team since this is the low season, but the staff are definitely in need of a customer service training.

On the bright side, it's a nice looking hotel with nice rooms. The food was just "ok". One night they had seafood night which was excellent. Beers are $5 each. If you want to actually go in the ocean, be prepared to be swarmed by the beach boy vultures. The ride from the airport takes about an hour. I will not go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Best to get a premium room closer to the pool. To get to the economy rooms in the back of the resort you have to climb a relatively steep hill.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank greg4444444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This is an average resort with its strength being that it is on the beautiful white sand beach. The cottages / rooms on the beach front are rather small with a balcony.The amenities are limited. At night there is no telephone operator on duty. The service leaves much to be desired.Sitting in the open in the evenings is certainly painful because of the mosquito's and with no anti mosquito coils etc.
I was surprised and aghast to see the TRIP ADVISOR Plaque displayed rating this property as a 2013 winner.
The address of this resort as on their printed material is P.O.Box 3156, Zanzibar

Room Tip: Choose another resort in the area if available as this particular resort is barely a 4 star property.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akbar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews