We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay, Fantastic Hosts, Amazing Activities Overall Wonderful Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kamili View Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kamili View Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay, Fantastic Hosts, Amazing Activities Overall Wonderful Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I recently had a girls trip and stayed with 3 other guests in the Habiri house for 7 days. First, the website doesn't do the house justice. IT. WAS. HUGE and very beautiful. The staff was also very friendly. The four of us had more than enough room to accommodate us and with two bathrooms and showers, there were never any problems getting ready for a day about town. Carola and Mado were so attentive, that it felt more like we had come to visit them, than it was meeting and renting a house from complete strangers. We had dinner prepared for us our first night and had the fridge stocked with groceries we would need for the week prior to our arrival. The dinner was a traditional Swahili meal and it was amazing. The beach was a short 5 min walk away and early morning sun rises were a daily treat. There was also a nearby forest and natural caves that were a short walk or taxi away. What I loved the most about staying here was the inclusiveness of the Apartments. Carola had an activities book and had everything priced WITH transportation included. All we did was pick out what we wanted to do and she organized the whole thing. All we did was show up. She was very upfront and honest and no surprise fees or cost anywhere. I absolutely loved staying here and will do so time and time again. This was an extremely clean high quality place for a very modest budget, rare to find that together. 5 STARS.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola P, Owner at Kamili View Apartments, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Mine,

very very glad to receive a 5 STARS review like yours!!!
The secret behind our success is that we enjoy hosting guests! And personally I enjoy sharing information and chatting via mail before arrival... so basically when you arrived for us was a bit like receiving our friends!
We will be really happy to see you again... and again!!
A big hug to the girls in sunny California!!!

Carola & Mado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We spent 10 fantastic days in Zanzibar in April 2014 for a diving break.
Mado and Carola are the perfect hosts! If you look for a nice place were to spend holidays this is it!
5 stars resorts are cool, but you never find a warm welcome with a nice service for all your holiday needs. At Kamili View you do!
It is true someone loves all-inclusive and cooking on holidays is boring, no problem 10 min walk and you are in the a fantastic 5 stars restaurant on the beach!
If you watch a little (and contract in advance) you can have local food even delivered in the room! In Zanzibar local food means grilled lobsters and any kind of seafood at a price not even comparable with Europe!
If you go only for restaurants you are fine, but you would loose the taste of row food that is the closest to nature, something we are not used anymore in Europe!

We had private excursions perfectly organised by Carola, with room pickup and private guide. We went adventure quad in the countryside, much fun after agreeing my drive style with the guide, don¹t do it if you are afraid to get dirty ;-) We also went for proper tourist trip visiting Stone Town and around always with private guide and first class service.
Diving in Zanzibar is simply fantastic, Mnemba atoll is 40 min boat away from Kiwenga beach and the diving center close by is 5 stars at the right price. You may also have room pickup from the diving, we got it only first/last day with the equipment, as it is a nice 10 min beach walk to the diving.
What else can you ask from a holiday, simply nothing it was perfect like that!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrico Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola P, Owner at Kamili View Apartments, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Enrico and Leatitia,
thanks for your fantastic review!!
It's so accurate that I should copy it into my excursion fact sheet!! eh eh eh!!
We are glad you had a nice time
and we also got a bit jealous of you going diving almost everyday!
We wish you all the best! You will be Always very welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

What a wonderful find! Carola and Mado have created a beautiful and restful retreat that is tastefully decorated and very functional. As a family traveling on a “backpacker’s budget” it is often challenging to find accommodations that are high quality, yet affordable. Carola and Mado’s place is both and we thoroughly enjoyed using it as a place to relax and recover in the middle of a multi-month trip. Carola is charming and she really “got us,” sharing with the kids a chameleon from the garden and giving good advice on stocking up on food before leaving Stone Town. She went out of her way to be helpful. The house was well equipped and the beds comfortable and mosquito nets new. There is even a collection of books for reading and/or exchange. They also have great plans for additional improvements and we hope to return to enjoy the pool and expanded gardens.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola P, Owner at Kamili View Apartments, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear happy family,
we are really happy to receive your super positive feedback and glad that you appreciate so much our copany and enjoyed the place!
The swimmingpool is plan to be done by July 2015... but the expanded garden is already getting there... Just in these days Mado is planting 3 big spots rocky garden with tropical succulent plants then with the rain season the grass will cover all other areas!!
We are ready to travel and getting merried soon , but I can't wait to be back to see how the garden will look like after the rain!!
I wish you all the best!! And hope to host you soon again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

What wonderful hosts and a great apartment! I booked a 3 day stay with Carola and Mado while my wife was working mainland Tanzania in Morogoro. I can not say enough about Carola’s and Mado’s hospitality – they make you feel more like you are visiting friends rather than renting from a resort that is removed from the local population. From the moment you contact them until you leave, you are in great hands….like I mentioned, it is more like staying at a friend’s apartment. Once you arrive at the port of Zanzibar they will organize a car to pick you up. The 50 minute drive across the island is in itself a great experience as you drive through several communities and see some visually impressive landscapes of the island’s interior. The apartment is great, everything you need and a very short walk to the beach which is spectacular. The eastern side of Zanzibar has quite a different feel than the western side of the island (sunrises as opposed to sunsets). If you are looking for a resort-type experience this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a peaceful experience with a community-feeling, this is your place. I would highly recommend for couples, families or just some alone time. if you want to do tourist things Carola and Mado will help you organize trips/activities, but if you are like me and you prefer fitting into local life you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blksaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola P, Owner at Kamili View Apartments, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
What to say.... this is one of the best review we've got! And you only stayed with us 24 hours!! What a pity you had to leave, but we are happy to keep in touch and know that your wife recovered well!
Guys, we wish you all the best! And... Welcome back anytime!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This place was amazing to stay at! We stayed in the garden view apartment. Really spacious, clean, self contained and only 2 minutes to walk to the beach. I stayed here with my friend after we had just climbed Mt Kilimanjaro so we were looking for somewhere quiet to relax and recover near the beach! This place was ideal for what we wanted. Carola and Mado were very welcoming, friendly and easy to find if we needed anything. They offered to help us book tours if we wanted (they emailed us a tour list in advance) and to deliver us grocery items that we couldn't buy from the main road if we needed. The area is perfect for relaxing as we wanted to with small restaurants and bars located along the beach where we ate every day. The area itself was very nice and as two young female travellers there in low season we felt safe there, with the locals being very friendly. It really was a nice place to stay and I couldn't recommend it more for anyone wishing to stay on the East side of the island!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacma9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola P, Owner at Kamili View Apartments, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi Girls!!!
We are super glad to hear you had a good time with us! And also that you liked the area and felt safe! Kiwengwa is as pretty as friendly and when we've choosen to live and realize our project we were sure guests would appreciate the semplicity and comfort of this village!
Nice to hear that this became true!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

A very comfortable, well managed home. Carola and Mado were terrific in helping organize tours and transportation. The availability and convenience of them to purchase groceries upon arrival was a bonus and very worthwhile! We arrived late at night due to delayed flights and still they were here to welcome us. Friendly, caring, intelligent and hard working hosts. I have 2 boys ages 8 and 9 and it was a perfect stay for our family.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank obmmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola P, Owner at Kamili View Apartments, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thanks "MWALIMU" for your terrific review!! Mwalimu means "teacher"!!!
Has been all our pleasure to have you here! A really super positive and energetic family! Nice!!
We wish you all the best an keep enjoying your African experience! Big hug to BIBI... Granma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Staying at Kamili View was just wonderful. My sister and I had such a great time thanks to the nice apartement, the pleasant hosting of Carola and Mado, the beauty of the island and in general the friendliness of the zanzibarian people. The apartement is just as beautiful as you can see on the pictures and you have plenty of space. Also it is located in a nice area. You're close to the beach and to a small local market where you can find some food. But mostly Carola did the shopping for us, which was very nice and comfortable to us. Carola also organized a lot of trips for us: Stone Town & Prison Island, Jozani Forest & Butterfly Farm, Swimming with Sea Turtles in Nungwi, Snorkeling in Mnemba and visiting Kendwa Beach. All of them were awesome experiences and we can highly recommend them! On our way back home we stopped in Dar es salaam and Carola also helped us organizing a taxi driver for us. We're already missing Zanzibar and Kamili View a lot and can only thank Carola and Mado for the great time we've had. If we should come back to Zanzibar one day (and I hope we will) we'd definitely come back to Kamili View.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sannanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KamiliViewZanzibar, Owner at Kamili View Apartments, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hi Sisters!!!

Wow!! It's a pleasure te read all good things you enjoyed about Zanzibar!!! Infact you have probably been our busiest guests, in term of excursions, and we are glad you liked them all!!!
But don't worry, next time you'll come we will work out a brand new program for you, so that you can keep busy exploring the Island!!
Big kiss to your nice Germany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
2.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
3.0 mi away
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
#1 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sultan Sands Island Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kiwengwa Apartments
Hotel Kiwengwa Apartments
#3 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zan View Hotel
Zan View Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamili View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamili View Apartments

Property: Kamili View Apartments
Address: Mafarasi Road, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OUR APARTMENTS:Our apartments have been designed and built with enormous amounts of care and energy just as you give to your own house... with the hope that this attention will make you feel at home.Kamili View consists of 3 apartments, some with sea view, only 200 meters away from the beach and a short distance from Kiwengwa main road, ideal to reach either by car or by foot in only few minutes.All apartments are attractively and fully furnished and besides enjoying a nice refreshing sea breeze, they offer all the comforts described below: Speed internet WiFi connectionLarge windows all with mozzy netsAttractive balconies, verandas and gardensSpacious fitted kitchen and dining areaCeiling fans in all roomsBathroom and bedroom linensHot water30.000 liters underground fresh water reservoirAmple parking area into the compound24 hrs security Kamili View is located in Kiwengwa, the largest village of Zanzibar north east coast, in an area called "Mafarasi", popular for the dozens of minimarkets and shops were you can find all what you need, from food to cleaning stuff. Mafarasi is also a good starting point for those brave that prefers local transports, "DalaDala", to comfortable taxi.The aim behind our project is living the island life without rules or timetables to follow, together with the local community or in total privacy, in the relaxing environment of our brand new apartments, built with comfort and practicality in mind as well as some Swahili style and flair. We live here and we know what is important for a great stay. Kamili View Apartments are also ideal for long term rentals.Kamili View is the fulfilment of our dream project! We built 3 houses - built them with passion and love, tracing and designing every piece, from foundation to roof, from staircases to the interior decorations...we took care of each plant, each flower...and finally watched the making of our lush garden.We will be there to welcome you and to help you settle in and then its up to you. We will always be on hand with tips and advice and recommendations as we just want to share our love of Zanzibar with you. Come and stay with us at Kamili View Apartments and experience Zanzibar not as a tourist but as a friend. KARIBUNI NYUMBANI... Welcome to our Home!! HOUSE MANUAL AND RULES: We would appreciate if you treat our place with the same care and respect you give to your own house. We kindly ask to do a conscientious use of water and electricity. At beginning of your stay we provide house cleaning stuff, basic kitchen ingredients (cooking oil, vinegar, spices, salt, sugar) and toilet paper. We don't provide body soaps and laundry soap. Bed linens and towels will be changed free of charge under request after 3rd day. Our towels can NOT be used as beach towels. House cleaning service will be provided on demand and costs $10/day. Check In time from 1pm.Check Out time by 9am. EXTRA SERVICES:Need a help with your shopping?? You can count on us!!! You can book your first shopping in advance, so that on arrival all goods will be on the shelves and in the fridge already! Request our "Shopping List" via mail...Not in the mood of cooking? Let our private chef spoil you!! Prior reservation according with chef availability.On demand we will be happy to organize your transfers from/to airport (50 minutes distance) or other destinations around the island. Our experienced tour guide will be delighted to chat with you about excursions program and help you organizing your zanzibari trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kamili View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamili View Apartments Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing