We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place !”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Buganville House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
the beach
sunshine from your bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Kiwengwa, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
kapsztad
Sopot, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing place !”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Amazing stay in fantastic house with pool. The best dinners prepare by Chiara, I've ever eaten. It was unforgettable time, which we spend with our Friends in Buganville House. Private beach, silence and quiet ..... charming area. At night Chiara comes for us to the Airport and help organize trips on Zanzibar. Everyday fresh and very good Italian dinners. Each day fresh fruits if You want order breakfast. My recomend- take half board ! It's cheaper and better then in restaurant in this area. I hope to back on Zanzibar to the same house....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baasliset...
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful decorated house with sea views!”
Reviewed 27 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed with our family (5 persons) in this beautiful house which was decorated beautifully in Swahili style! We were really spoiled the full week that we stayed there. We did not even have to set the table before diner and do our dishes afterwards! Halima cleaned the house every morning and brought in even more sunshine to the house than there already was! Our beds were decorated with bunganville flowers every day. Abbu did the maintenance of the garden and swimming pool! Everything was more than perfect and the house looks even more beautiful than on the pictures.

Kiwenga is only a small village with a couple resorts, and some local shops where you can buy fruits and vegetables and some water. All utilities are provided in the house for cooking! But make sure that Chiara, the friendly host cooks at least once your diner while she is a great cook!

If you have any questions during your stay Chiara, Abbu and Halima are always more than helpfull to advise you or organise a trip!

Enjoy this beautiful Swahili style decorated house on the beach surrounded with a big garden and friendly staff!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2017
thank you very much.. i hope to see you soon..
Chiara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjolein...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth”
Reviewed 26 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Buganville house is the perfect place for a holiday on Zanzibar. The house and the location are absolutely stunning! We stayed with my family (total 5 persons) in the Buganville House and had an amazing time. The house provides all the utilities you need and is very spacious. The pictures look not even close to how beautiful it is in real life. Chiara is a lovely host and she is a great cook. Abbu helps in and around the house and was of great help for us in organising trips and is very friendly. Halima cleans the house and every day we were surprised again with a beautiful bed with flowers on it. The swimmingpool was great and the sea was only a few meters away (with high tide). The house is in a very quiet part of Kiwengwa. But the resorts, tourist shops and diving schools are only 800meters away if you want to go there. Very close to the house you can buy some fruits, vegetables and water. In Kiwengwa there is a small supermarket, around 30 minutes walking from the house, where you can buy almost everything you need if you want to cook your own meals. But you have to at least enjoy the dinner Chiara cooks for you once, because her meals are absolutely amazing.
I will highly recommend the house for everyone, it really was paradise on earth!!!! Thank you very much Chiara, Abbu and Halima, we hope to see you again the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Dec 2016
Thank you very much Marjolein..you too were the perfect guests and I really hope to see you again. Chiara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melle R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in Kiwengwa”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house and the garden are beautiful. The pool is very large & clean. The beach is just like a postcard. Chiara is a very good host & cooks an amazing dinner and breakfast. The only point of notice is that the correct internet password wasn't given to me so I spent five days without internet. But for me it wasn't a problem to live without internet. And the Blu Marlin hotel next door has got reasonable Wifi for a small price. So overall, with the amazing food & perfect beds for a very reasonable price Buganville is the place to be in Kiwengwa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2016
I'm really sorry for the internet. the problem is that the password that worked in March now no longer works. Moreover even the 3G connection does not work properly, and this is the only reason why we have not given the connection to WiFi. unfortunately we also have already paid the subscription fee but the coach has not yet come to check the reason why yet I can not seem to use for the service.
sorry again
Chiara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UlfTerlin...
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quality, but with restrictions”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
13
people found this review helpful

The house is one of the best holiday rentals in Zanzibar in terms of quality and value for money. Except for the dishwasher it has all the amenities mentioned in the description. We enjoyed three weeks at the house and had a great holiday. However, there are some aspects that guests should be aware of:

1. “Self-catering” applies in the very narrow sense. Unlike many other houses in coastal Zanzibar, this one does not provide for or allow a local chef or house help to assist. You’ll either need to cook and clean dishes yourself or go for the (relatively pricy) full board option. That makes the house less attractive for longer-term guests, especially those from the region.

2. The owner’s best efforts to provide hospitality and support notwithstanding, privacy at this holiday home is limited. The owner stays in a quarter on the same compound, just opposite the house entrance. She is expecting to co-utilise the kitchen of the house and needs to access a storage room next to the kitchen, inside the house, several times daily.

3. Two of the three bedrooms have their own separate entrance but no direct access to the house. (You leave those rooms to the veranda and enter the house from there). For families with children, this can be a challenge at night. It only worked for us because our nanny was sharing the room with our small kids.

4. Language is limited to Italian.

We feel that especially the first two points could have been made transparent before we rented the house. The owner would do well to develop and issue house rules as foreseen by tripadvisor.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
895brk
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Photos do not do it justice, an excellent house.”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Buganville house is a European house with a Zanzibar flavour. It looks good in the photos but they do not do it justice, it is the best house in the area. It is located in an Italian enclave but is at the far end of the beach away from the all-inclusive resort hotels so is very quiet. The local languages are Swahili and Italian with English a minority language. As we had no Italian we had to rely on Swahili, this could be a problem for some. We decided before we arrived not to accept the offer of hiring a cook to prepare our meals. This turned out to be a mistake; buying food in this area is difficult unless you have a hire car and even then it can be quite a trek to obtain quite simple basics. In the event we were able to change our mind and Chiara offered to cook for us; an excellent decision, I have never eaten better, thank you Chiara!
The pool was fantastic, large and beautifully clean with various loungers air beds etc available; a beautiful sight at night when illuminated. We did have problems with the air-conditioning though; only one of the air-con units worked properly and none of those in the bedrooms worked, something I am sure will be addressed by the owners. The house is well equipped but I would advise anyone visiting that they should if at all possible hire a cook or if not, hire a car!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacques64...
Arcangues, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2018
Merci aussi, ce fut un plaisir de vous accueillir. et merci encore pour l'aide avec les abeilles que vous m'avez données, c'était un plaisir de voir comment vous les avez prises et déplacées. si la traduction est incorrecte, nous accusons le traducteur Google :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing