We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I recently arranged a 3 day conference at Ocean Paradise for 50 people. I have stayed in and attended events in many hotels around the world and nothing has come close to the friendliness, professionalism and hard work of the staff at Ocean Paradise. Add to this the fact that the hotel is truly beautiful, set in lush gardens with a massive pool and amazing rooms and you can't go wrong. The photos don't do justice to how awesome this hotel is.

Every single staff member I interacted with was absolutely amazing and contributed to a highly successful event. I will definitely be back at this hotel and urge any person considering staying here to book without hesitation.

Room Tip: Although the garden cottagers are deemed superior, most of the standard rooms have a lovely view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Aimee

Thank you for taking time to write a review and providing us with your feedback.

It was our pleasure to be your host and we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your compliments which we will convey to all our team members.

Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort for your conference and stay.

Warmest regards

The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    193
    35
    20
    20
See reviews for
143
340
49
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 12 night stay at this hotel, and from start to finish, we were made to feel special by every member of staff we came into contact with. Special thanks must go to the mangement team of Lakshmi, Elzilea and Samuel who were always on hand to make sure the holiday went off with virtually no hitches at all.
The hotel itself is superb - the rooms are kept very clean and tidy, the grounds are very well tended, the pool is very clean, the beach is well looked after and the views are beautiful. Plenty of activities were available (reef walk, village tour, aqua aerobics, weaving, table tennis, volleyball etc) all managed by Khamis and his team.
Being on an All Inclusive package, we ate in the hotel every day, and were not once bored with the selection available - plentiful, diverse and well cooked and presented - compliments to the chef(s).
Breakfast comprised of everything from continental style pastries, cheeses, hams, up to the usual "Full English", including a dedicated omlette/waffle station for freshly cooked eggs.
Lunch was any choice from the menu, including a daily special, and dinner was buffet style, with a different theme each night (Swahili, Italian, Indian, Seafood etc etc).
Special mention must go to Francis, who was the most friendly and helpful waiter during our stay. This is not to say the others weren't as good, but Francis seemed to want to go that one step further to ensure our stay was perfect.
We mainly used the pool bar which was well run by Emmanuel (alright Guv'nor), ably assisted by the seemingly ever present and very efficient Lukas and the lovely Leah who has one of the biggest smiles you will ever see. Rather than the usual over gassy draught beer, it was nice to have decent bottled beers (4 different types - Tusker, Kilimanjaro (mornings), Serengeti (lunch and afternoons) and Safari (evenings). The beers could have been a touch colder if I was going to be picky, but I understand new fridges are in the pipeline for 2014, so this should cure that minor hitch.
All in all, a highly recommended hotel and perfect for a long stay as well as for a short, post safari break.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Kevin C

Thank you for taking time writing a review and give feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time in Paradise during your holiday. It’s been our pleasure to be your host.

We will convey your compliments to the team and thank them on your behalf.

We trust that you will share your experience with friends and family.

Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort for your holiday and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My daughter and I stayed in a standard garden room, on arrival at our room we realised we had a double bed and not a twin as requested. Within 20 minutes we were installed into another room with twin beds and staff very apologetic about the error. The room was very clean, every morning when the room was made up, fresh flowers were added to the bed and the mosquito nets neatly styled. Each night the beds were turned down and the mosquito nets released. The balcony was a good size with fantastic views across the gardens to the sea. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room

The gardens are beautifully landscaped and well kept. The beach is wonderful soft white sand and very warm waters. At low tide it is possible to walk out to the reef, so swimming is not an option at low tide although wallowing in the warm sea is a pleasure. There was varying amounts of seaweed but apart from seaweed the beach and sea is very clear of any litter.
The swimming pool at the resort is large with views of the sea.

We were on a half board basis and were very impressed with the quality of the food. Each evening was a different food theme. The tables were set beside the swimming pool for the evening meal a lovely setting.

Overall a fantastic place.

Room Tip: If having a standard room the views are impressive from the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turtleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear turtleEngland

Thank you for your review and feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you will share your experience with friends and family and that you returned home relaxed and energized for new ventures.

Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort for your stay.

Warmest regards
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had booked for 5 nights in July but very quickly realized that we needed to extend our stay to 6 night as we had found paradise! Our bungalow was fantastic and comfortably housed our family of 4 for the stay. We were close to the beach, everything was clean and comfortable.
The service was amazing and the staff were so welcoming to us and especially our kids. All the staff (especially Alex and Francis) were really keen to help us out and learn Swahili and took time out to teach the kids some African games. The food was amazing and the staff always made meal times so much fun because they were so friendly and happy. The scenery was amazing but the highlight for us was just the personalised attention and friendliness of all at the resort to make us feel so welcome. We had an amazing trip - thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Nick W

Thank you for your review and feedback.

We are happy to hear that your family enjoyed your stay in paradise. . . Ocean Paradise.

It’s been only our pleasure to be your host for your family holiday and we trust we will welcome you back in the near future. We will convey your compliments to the team, especially Alex & Francis.

Once again thank you.

Warm regards,
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We arrived after a few days on safari to this lovely hotel, it is situated right on the beach , with lovely views , The Rhonda, round houses , the superior accommodation , by the beach are lovely, well appointed, except for an Iron and ironing board ( of which they only had 2 in the hotel , but the laundry services were very cheap and very quick ) there is even a kettle and bottled water put in your room every day. And lovely flowers put on your bed every day for that extra special touch. The food was lovely and service great, very friendly staff . and the new mananger Samuel will inject some more pzazz into the hotel, just a few extra things needed to make it the 5 star luxury hotel that I definitely think it can be.
Thankyou again for a very lovely holiday of a lifetime. Zanzibar we will definitely be back, really lovely island and great people.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnapzazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear donnapzazz

Thank you for your review and feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in paradise, Ocean Paradise Resort. It’s been our pleasure to be your host during your holiday.

We will convey your compliments to Mr. Samuel and his team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Paradise in the near future and trust you will share your experience with friends and family.

Thank you once again.

Warm greetings

The Ocean Paradise Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We - father (68) and son (30) have an 8 night rest in that excellent resort, very near to the sea situated and the fine sand strand before. If you like a pool, you can have, very clean with view to ocean. Nice bungalows and good standard rooms, also with seaview. All very clean, large rooms with veranda and strong water-shower! The staff very competent and friedly over all. But the best was the delicous meals in the evening, allways fresh fruits also to breakfast. - Nice entertaiment at evening and over the day you enough action possibilities, espacially for divers gives a Padi 5* station. Over all we were satisfied and will give 5 stars.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lutz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Lutz

Thank you for your review and feedback.

We are pleased to hear father & son enjoyed their stay with us here at Ocean Paradise Resort.

We trust you will share your experience with friends and family.

Thank you once again.

The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

My fiancee and I spent two nights at this resort, after our safari in the Northern Circuit and a couple of days spent in the busy streets of Stone Town, and we got the rest and relaxation we badly needed. Everything about this resort is absolutely wonderful. Suits are very luxurious, spacious and pretty. Gardens, brimming with flowers and palms are amazing and so relaxing. Restaurant and the food prepared by master-chefs is one of the best we have ever had. From traditional Swahili meals, to international and Indian cuisine specialties, fresh and wonderfully prepared sea food - everything looks and tastes amazing. The fact that dinners are open buffets means that you'll definitely gain a few extra pounds and be very happy about it! Seriously, the food is definitely one of the highlights of this place.

The beach is really nice and good for sunbathing, beach soccer, relaxing in the sun and all sorts of fun, summer activities, but, unfortunately, because of the nearby coral reef, the water is very, very shallow, so don't expect that you'll be able to swim much. Of course, you could always walk to the reef, as a sort of exercise, and swim your way from there.

All in all - this resort offers so much and is very much worth a visit, especially after an exciting safari.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JankoJerinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear JankoJerinic

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you had a relaxing holiday with us.

It has been our pleasure to host you.

Paradise Greetings,

The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
15.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
#1 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Address: Pwani Mchangani | Pwani Mchangani, Kiwengwa 0000, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Zanzibar’s picturesque North East coast overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean, it is as the name suggests a little piece of paradise. From your arrival at Zanzibar Airport, the resort is a meandering 45 minute journey through un-spoilt scenery, passing typical African villages where the way of life has changed little for hundreds of years. At Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar, you will be greeted by a blaze of colour as you sweep down the imposing driveway, saluted by a Masai warrior as you pass through the entrance gate and be captivated as you arrive in reception and look out over the resort and the azure blue sea. Mature coconut palms swinging in the breeze, white sandy beach, beautiful landscaped gardens, traditional style round chalets with pitched makuti roof, a stunning waterfall feature and the largest swimming pool in Zanzibar are just some of the sights that await you. A big smile and the greeting of "Jambo" will be the first words you hear, as you begin to feel the warmth that the people of Zanzibar are famed for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Paradise Hotel Kiwengwa
Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing