We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peace and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Mombasa, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“peace and quiet”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I loved the grounds, the peace and quiet. The food was great for adults not for children under 4, my child kept saying pilipili ( pepper) mama as the food was spicy. I arrived at 1 in the afternoon tired and hungry with a 3 year old in tow and had to wait an hour for my booking to be sorted. Great rooms and views from the room though through out my stay the balcony was never cleaned.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mghoi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Mghoi M

Thank you for the time to write a review and provide us with your feedback.

We regret to hear that some of dishes were a bit spicy for your 3 year old and this has been brought to the attention of our Executive Chef for recommend dishes that is more suitable for children on our buffet.

The hotel’s check in time is 2pm , our apology again that you had to wait an hour upon your arrival at 1pm to ensure our rooms are well prepared for our guests check-in at 2pm. We try our very best to accommodate our guests who arrive early especially during the high December season period. Therefore we invite our guests to make use of our luggage storage facilities while enjoying the Resorts facilities and lunch down at our pool side.

Thank you for bringing your room’s balcony to our attention which our Executive Housekeeper investigated with your assigned room attendant and the needful actions were taken.

Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort for your stay.

Warmest regards
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    204
    35
    20
    20
See reviews for
152
351
52
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This was a gorgeous resort. Best food at an all inclusive I have ever had and really beautiful surroundings. We stayed in a beach bungalo and it was very peaceful and just steps from the beach. Perhaps the best thing about this resort is the staff, one and all they were amazing. We must particularly thank Elizalea and Samuel. They made our stay really lovely and are just great people to chat with (when they have time!). Also Patricia, Francis and Said along with many others. One lovely young man who was a gardener climbed a tree and brought us fresh coconuts every day, delicious! We can't thank you all enough for a wonderful stay. Tracy & Wendy

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Tracy & Wendy

Thank you for taking time to write your review and providing us with your feedback.

We take pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and will convey your compliments to the team.

Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort as your holiday destination.

Kindest regards,
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The design of this resort is excellent. It is quiet and peaceful throughout the day. The staff offer excellent service and the food is great. The only reason I am not giving an excellent rating is that the shower was a little smelly during the day. I have no idea why because the cleaning staff do a good job. This is not a big deal if you do not plan to spend all your time in the room. If your life depends on internet access then you might also find it a little inconvenient because it did not work that well in the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kgethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Kgethi

Thank you for taking time to write a review and providing us with your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and trust you will share your experience with family and friends.

We regret to learn about the shower which our maintenance team investigated and fixed.

The internet services, especially on the North East beaches are not as strong as one can expect in a city. With limited internet service providers we try our best to ensure our guests can enjoy an internet connection.

Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Paradise for your holiday destination.

Warmest regards
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanelle_W
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

A beautifully designed resort full of lush vegetation and beautifully designed buildings. Not to mention a peaceful, idilic beach and spacious pool. Perfect!! The food was also excellent- a huge spread each morning for breakfast and different "themed" nights for dinner. I am normally very weary of going half board but the dinner choice was vast and different each night. They also had an ice cream bar which sealed the deal for me!! Our room was a standard garden room but it was spacious and had a lovely balcony with sea views.

My only criticism was the village walk- which was very insightful until the guide handed out a huge box of chocolate bars to the local kids and then suggested we buy it for them. Many of us on the trip felt very uncomfortable with this and would have preferred giving the money to the local school or medical clinic- rather than aiding the childrens' teeth decay! It was also distressing having the children chasing us round all the time, trying to steal bars out of the box. It was building the wrong kind of relationships between locals and tourists.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanelle_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Chanelle

Thank you for taking time writing a review and providing feedback.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and trust you returned home relaxed.

We regret to learn about the incident that have occurred during the village tour and take the matter seriously.
Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Paradise for your stay.

Kindest regards,
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yambio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Everyone should go and visit this place! If you can only do one holiday in your lifetime then go to this place. The beach is White, soft sand. The sea is blue and warm. Perfectly named..... Paradise! The hotel is beautiful, very well looked after, fantastic staff, food was just wonderful and we had hot water daily.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Conife

Thank you for taking time to write a review and provide us with your feedback.

We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us in Paradise.

Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort for your holiday and we trust you will share your experience with family friends.

Warmest regards
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I recently arranged a 3 day conference at Ocean Paradise for 50 people. I have stayed in and attended events in many hotels around the world and nothing has come close to the friendliness, professionalism and hard work of the staff at Ocean Paradise. Add to this the fact that the hotel is truly beautiful, set in lush gardens with a massive pool and amazing rooms and you can't go wrong. The photos don't do justice to how awesome this hotel is.

Every single staff member I interacted with was absolutely amazing and contributed to a highly successful event. I will definitely be back at this hotel and urge any person considering staying here to book without hesitation.

Room Tip: Although the garden cottagers are deemed superior, most of the standard rooms have a lovely view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Aimee

Thank you for taking time to write a review and providing us with your feedback.

It was our pleasure to be your host and we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your compliments which we will convey to all our team members.

Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort for your conference and stay.

Warmest regards

The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 12 night stay at this hotel, and from start to finish, we were made to feel special by every member of staff we came into contact with. Special thanks must go to the mangement team of Lakshmi, Elzilea and Samuel who were always on hand to make sure the holiday went off with virtually no hitches at all.
The hotel itself is superb - the rooms are kept very clean and tidy, the grounds are very well tended, the pool is very clean, the beach is well looked after and the views are beautiful. Plenty of activities were available (reef walk, village tour, aqua aerobics, weaving, table tennis, volleyball etc) all managed by Khamis and his team.
Being on an All Inclusive package, we ate in the hotel every day, and were not once bored with the selection available - plentiful, diverse and well cooked and presented - compliments to the chef(s).
Breakfast comprised of everything from continental style pastries, cheeses, hams, up to the usual "Full English", including a dedicated omlette/waffle station for freshly cooked eggs.
Lunch was any choice from the menu, including a daily special, and dinner was buffet style, with a different theme each night (Swahili, Italian, Indian, Seafood etc etc).
Special mention must go to Francis, who was the most friendly and helpful waiter during our stay. This is not to say the others weren't as good, but Francis seemed to want to go that one step further to ensure our stay was perfect.
We mainly used the pool bar which was well run by Emmanuel (alright Guv'nor), ably assisted by the seemingly ever present and very efficient Lukas and the lovely Leah who has one of the biggest smiles you will ever see. Rather than the usual over gassy draught beer, it was nice to have decent bottled beers (4 different types - Tusker, Kilimanjaro (mornings), Serengeti (lunch and afternoons) and Safari (evenings). The beers could have been a touch colder if I was going to be picky, but I understand new fridges are in the pipeline for 2014, so this should cure that minor hitch.
All in all, a highly recommended hotel and perfect for a long stay as well as for a short, post safari break.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Kevin C

Thank you for taking time writing a review and give feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time in Paradise during your holiday. It’s been our pleasure to be your host.

We will convey your compliments to the team and thank them on your behalf.

We trust that you will share your experience with friends and family.

Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort for your holiday and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,581 reviews
15.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 169 in Zanzibar Island
488 reviews
15.4 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
615 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Address: Pwani Mchangani | Pwani Mchangani, Kiwengwa 0000, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Zanzibar’s picturesque North East coast overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean, it is as the name suggests a little piece of paradise. From your arrival at Zanzibar Airport, the resort is a meandering 45 minute journey through un-spoilt scenery, passing typical African villages where the way of life has changed little for hundreds of years. At Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar, you will be greeted by a blaze of colour as you sweep down the imposing driveway, saluted by a Masai warrior as you pass through the entrance gate and be captivated as you arrive in reception and look out over the resort and the azure blue sea. Mature coconut palms swinging in the breeze, white sandy beach, beautiful landscaped gardens, traditional style round chalets with pitched makuti roof, a stunning waterfall feature and the largest swimming pool in Zanzibar are just some of the sights that await you. A big smile and the greeting of "Jambo" will be the first words you hear, as you begin to feel the warmth that the people of Zanzibar are famed for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Paradise Hotel Kiwengwa
Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing