We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise just a tiny step away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Paradise just a tiny step away”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We spent 5 nights here after 3 days safari in Saadani. Quite a contrast from that small, intimate place which I'd been very sad to leave. Very many positives and a couple of negatives.

The layout and planting are beautiful though quite a lot of steps to climb if you're at the lowest level. However that's not at all a bad thing as the buffets are superb with a huge amount of choice at both breakfast and dinner, which makes it very difficult not to eat far more than is good for maintaining a beach body. :) The staff and management are very friendly and attentive - possibly even over-attentive if I wanted to be picky.

A great band plays in the evening. We chose to sit in the outside area which I regret now because I missed a lot of good stuff. Masai warriors dancing and performing their famous jumps and a ritual that's performed for a girl who's about to marry. I did see some of it but wished I'd see it all. So make sure you get an inside table if this interests you - or it can be totally unobtrusive if it doesn't. (It's not actually inside, just covered.) Best was the Swahili themed evening when various members of staff joined in to demonstrate their prowess. Amazing! Participation was invited but never forcibly encouraged. I'm too shy but those who did join in we're visibly buzzing.

I very much liked the layout of the bandas. The dressing area, bathroom and balcony surrounds the bedroom. The standard of housekeeping is very high; rooms are thoroughly cleaned and tidied with fresh petals from the gardens arranged on the bed each morning - a very nice touch. In the evening beds are turned down and the room effectively sprayed for Mosquitos.

We both took (and passed :) ) courses from the dive centre. Patricia is lovely and went out of her way to accommodate us. They were very busy as they'd had to cancel a couple of previous days because of the weather, but she shuffled things around and managed to fit us in. I'm so glad she did because the sights to see down there are truly wonderful.

The negatives, which are minor in comparison:
- it's difficult to get a sunbed. Even though there were lots empty they had been claimed with towels. I think it would be better if they were removed after, say, 2 hours of non-use but there is a charge of 30 dollars for not returning a towel so they can't do that. I think this policy should be reconsidered as I doubt if many people staying there have the need to steal a beach towel.
- the pillows are lumpy
- you can't get any currency except Tanzanian shillings and even then it's converted to dollars first which I'm pretty sure must result in a poor exchange rate. You can't get US dollars even though the bill is charged in dollars. This led to a pretty unpleasant experience at the airport when we needed dollars to pay the exit tax. The bureau de change doesn't take cards, the ATM was supposedly not working (though they check your flight time before confirming that) which gave a porter the opportunity to arrange a taxi into town at a extortionate price to visit an ATM. All very stressful. Our own bad planning to blame but make sure you don't make the same mistake!

I feel bad ending with the negatives because the pluses are numerous and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: We had a garden room which was lovely, but you need to be prepared to climb a lot of steps. But ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Shirley

Thank you for taking time to write an in depth review and give us your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Ocean Paradise Resort and trust you relaxed and ready for new ventures back home.

We regret to hear that you had some trouble with exchanging money, which we seldom get complaints. However, your concerns have been noted and the matter has been raised to the Management to address.

We take note that the new airport tax regulation is a situation that’s not comfortable but beyond our control. We do recommend guests to keep aside US$ for this purpose and consult with their agent or tour operator before traveling.

Thank you once again for your feedback and choosing Ocean Paradise Resort for your holiday.

Warmest regards
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    201
    35
    20
    20
See reviews for
149
347
52
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We spent 5 nights in Feb at this hotel. The hotel is beautiful and well located next to the beach. The staff are helpful and polite. The evening food buffet was superb with something for everyone. Rooms are well appointed,clean and well air conditioned. We used the "One Ocean " dive centre and the staff were helpful and enthusiastic, taking us on 4 excellent dives. My one reservation is the way the hotel handles money exchanges. When changing up GBPS they change it into Dollars then into Schillings and the exchange rates were embarrassing/ridiculous compared to on-line guide rates, this left us feeling distinctly "ripped off" when ever we changed money. The reception refused to sell the us the US Dollars we needed for the exit airport tax (we forgot to take enough US, but expected some help from the Hotel at least!!)which left us getting totally ripped off at the airport. At Zanzibar Airport, they deliberately break the ATM so you have to pay a "taxi" to take you to an ATM....where you can only get schillings. The Bureau de change doesn't accept cards (even though the smallest souvenir shops manage to have a card reader) Overall, a good stay but take your own currency so you avoid the Hotel taking you to the cleaners!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Michael

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give us your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, however regret to learn about the money exchange issue, which we seldom get complaints regarding. However, your concerns have been noted and the matter has been raised to the Management to address.

Kind regards
The Ocean Paradise Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

The general manager Samuel Bond and his team run an excellent, friendly, efficient service for all guests ensuring that particular attention to individual customer service needs are met throughout. The staff- too many too name all; but particularly Mwini, Anthony, the Chef and Sous Chefs, guest relations managers from South Africa and Bahrain - Yaqoob, bar staff, waiters and waitresses, gardeners and cleaners went out of their way to make this the most enjoyable stay. As it was our honeymoon we also got some free extras, however, all guests were treated as VIPs. Excellent food, entertainment nightly and plenty of watersports and free activities including free Swahili lessons by the Animator, an excellent PADI dive centre happy to hire gear for the odd snorkel or proper diving lessons, free sea kayaking, windsurfing lessons, a brand new Africology Spa, and daily evening themed buffets with fresh cooked food and subtle live bands and shows every evening. The beach and sea were perfect, and safe. The hotel employs good physical security but the locals are most friendly and the Masi warriors are very polite and speak excellent English, and are a mine of local information. The manager also recommended an excellent private restaurant for our ventures during a trip round historic Stonetown. A true Ocean Paradise. We are strongly considering going again, but also would consider going to the new Double Tree Hilton in Stonetown once completed, which will be a much easier journey once the new Zanzibar Airport is completed/ upgraded and direct flights from Europe are available. Our holiday was so relaxing we actually lost track of time. A very big thankyou to all the staff. It is just a pity we are now in England and it is two degrees centigrade !!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Richard

Thank you for taking time to write a detailed review providing us with your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed a relaxing and entertaining stay at Ocean Paradise Resort. We will convey your feedback to the team and former Food & Beverage Manager, Mr. Bond.

Thank you once again for your detailed review and choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa for your holiday.

Trust you are well rested and ready for new ventures in 2014.

Warmest regards
The Ocean Paradise Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We went at the Ocean Paradise in Zanzibar in mid january for 10 days on our honeymoon. The hotel service was EXCELLENT, the surroundings were beautiful, and we had the best time.
The staff was very nice, available, and always ready to help.
Since it was our honeymoon, the hotel not only upgraded us to an individual bungalow on the beach, but they also offered us a private lobster dinner on the beach, with a bottle of sparkling wine. It was also my husband's birthday during our stay, and the chef made a chocolate cake with his name on it that was brought in room service, AGAIN OFFERED BY THE HOTEL.
They know how to care for their customers!
We are very satisfied with our choice of destination, and are definitively recommending this hotel for a romantic getaway!!

Thank you Ocean Paradise Resort for the great memories !!

Room Tip: Definitively worth getting the upgrade to the private bungalows on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaaaIice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Aaaalice

Thank you for taking the time writing a review and giving us your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and trust that you will share the great memories with your family and friends.

Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort for your Honeymoon.

Warmest regards
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

As soon as you arrived in reception a wonderful backdrop of the ocean awaits you.
Acconadation in lovely surroundings,very helpful and freindley staff,good food good service.
I would like to give a special mention to mr Samuel bond GM who worked tiresley over our stay
To make sure everything was ok. Also a big thankful to Anthony head waiter for making my wife smile everyday

Ian & sally

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Ian & Sally

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide us with your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and it has been a pleasure to be your host.

We will convey your message to Mr. Bond, our Food & Beverage Manager, Anthony and the rest of the team.

We trust you will share your experience here in paradise with you family and friends. Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort for your stay.

Warmest regards
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasteras, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hotel have a nice level of service in everything from food to accommodation and surroundings. The week was one constant positive variation of meals, there is always something for everyone in the group to eat.
Seashore can only be used during high tide, but it did nothing when the pool area was enough, also with it´s bar and free towels. A very nice place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Thomas

Thank you for taking time to write your review and giving us feedback.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and it has been a pleasure to host you for your holiday.

Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Paradise.

Warmest regards
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Exceeded expectations, stunning setting, luxurious rooms, delicious food. Above all, exceptional service w/ the tone being set by Samuel Bond, the energetic, hard working GM whose attention to detail and our needs was second-to-none.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Cori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Cori

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and giving us your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and it has been a pleasure to be your host.

We will convey your compliments to Mr. Bond, our Food & Beverage manager and the rest of the team.

Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Paradise for your holiday.

Warmest regards
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,553 reviews
15.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
477 reviews
4.1 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
439 reviews
0.8 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Address: Pwani Mchangani | Pwani Mchangani, Kiwengwa 0000, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Zanzibar’s picturesque North East coast overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean, it is as the name suggests a little piece of paradise. From your arrival at Zanzibar Airport, the resort is a meandering 45 minute journey through un-spoilt scenery, passing typical African villages where the way of life has changed little for hundreds of years. At Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar, you will be greeted by a blaze of colour as you sweep down the imposing driveway, saluted by a Masai warrior as you pass through the entrance gate and be captivated as you arrive in reception and look out over the resort and the azure blue sea. Mature coconut palms swinging in the breeze, white sandy beach, beautiful landscaped gardens, traditional style round chalets with pitched makuti roof, a stunning waterfall feature and the largest swimming pool in Zanzibar are just some of the sights that await you. A big smile and the greeting of "Jambo" will be the first words you hear, as you begin to feel the warmth that the people of Zanzibar are famed for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Paradise Hotel Kiwengwa
Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing