We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Zanzibar(Kiwengwa)
US$284
US$254
Melia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$195
US$114
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Mvuvi Resort(Kiwengwa)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (858)
Filter reviews
859 results
Traveller rating
554
222
40
21
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
554
222
40
21
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstone townseaweed farmsevery nightpool barour honeymoonevery member of staffguest relationsbeach boyshalf boardbuffet stylebreakfast and dinnera la cartedaily activitieslow tideevening entertainmentthe general managerpost safari
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
352 - 357 of 859 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

After a gruelling 6 day safari the Ocean Paradise was the perfect place to get some R and R.We stayed 5 nights and everything was excellent.The food,the staff ,the weather ,the pool,the beer!!!The staff go out of their way to make you welcome.Highly recommend the hotel.Lovely beach cleaned daily.Lots of activities going on if so inclined.A visit to the local village is a must .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Davin

Thank you for your taking time to write a review and provide us with your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you have to try out our Spa after a grueling safari for a relaxing massage.

Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa for your holiday.

Warmest Regards
The Ocean Paradise Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We spent 5 nights here after 3 days safari in Saadani. Quite a contrast from that small, intimate place which I'd been very sad to leave. Very many positives and a couple of negatives.

The layout and planting are beautiful though quite a lot of steps to climb if you're at the lowest level. However that's not at all a bad thing as the buffets are superb with a huge amount of choice at both breakfast and dinner, which makes it very difficult not to eat far more than is good for maintaining a beach body. :) The staff and management are very friendly and attentive - possibly even over-attentive if I wanted to be picky.

A great band plays in the evening. We chose to sit in the outside area which I regret now because I missed a lot of good stuff. Masai warriors dancing and performing their famous jumps and a ritual that's performed for a girl who's about to marry. I did see some of it but wished I'd see it all. So make sure you get an inside table if this interests you - or it can be totally unobtrusive if it doesn't. (It's not actually inside, just covered.) Best was the Swahili themed evening when various members of staff joined in to demonstrate their prowess. Amazing! Participation was invited but never forcibly encouraged. I'm too shy but those who did join in we're visibly buzzing.

I very much liked the layout of the bandas. The dressing area, bathroom and balcony surrounds the bedroom. The standard of housekeeping is very high; rooms are thoroughly cleaned and tidied with fresh petals from the gardens arranged on the bed each morning - a very nice touch. In the evening beds are turned down and the room effectively sprayed for Mosquitos.

We both took (and passed :) ) courses from the dive centre. Patricia is lovely and went out of her way to accommodate us. They were very busy as they'd had to cancel a couple of previous days because of the weather, but she shuffled things around and managed to fit us in. I'm so glad she did because the sights to see down there are truly wonderful.

The negatives, which are minor in comparison:
- it's difficult to get a sunbed. Even though there were lots empty they had been claimed with towels. I think it would be better if they were removed after, say, 2 hours of non-use but there is a charge of 30 dollars for not returning a towel so they can't do that. I think this policy should be reconsidered as I doubt if many people staying there have the need to steal a beach towel.
- the pillows are lumpy
- you can't get any currency except Tanzanian shillings and even then it's converted to dollars first which I'm pretty sure must result in a poor exchange rate. You can't get US dollars even though the bill is charged in dollars. This led to a pretty unpleasant experience at the airport when we needed dollars to pay the exit tax. The bureau de change doesn't take cards, the ATM was supposedly not working (though they check your flight time before confirming that) which gave a porter the opportunity to arrange a taxi into town at a extortionate price to visit an ATM. All very stressful. Our own bad planning to blame but make sure you don't make the same mistake!

I feel bad ending with the negatives because the pluses are numerous and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: We had a garden room which was lovely, but you need to be prepared to climb a lot of steps. But there may well be a better route which I didn't discover.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Shirley

Thank you for taking time to write an in depth review and give us your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Ocean Paradise Resort and trust you relaxed and ready for new ventures back home.

We regret to hear that you had some trouble with exchanging money, which we seldom get complaints. However, your concerns have been noted and the matter has been raised to the Management to address.

We take note that the new airport tax regulation is a situation that’s not comfortable but beyond our control. We do recommend guests to keep aside US$ for this purpose and consult with their agent or tour operator before traveling.

Thank you once again for your feedback and choosing Ocean Paradise Resort for your holiday.

Warmest regards
The Ocean Paradise Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We spent 5 nights in Feb at this hotel. The hotel is beautiful and well located next to the beach. The staff are helpful and polite. The evening food buffet was superb with something for everyone. Rooms are well appointed,clean and well air conditioned. We used the "One Ocean " dive centre and the staff were helpful and enthusiastic, taking us on 4 excellent dives. My one reservation is the way the hotel handles money exchanges. When changing up GBPS they change it into Dollars then into Schillings and the exchange rates were embarrassing/ridiculous compared to on-line guide rates, this left us feeling distinctly "ripped off" when ever we changed money. The reception refused to sell the us the US Dollars we needed for the exit airport tax (we forgot to take enough US, but expected some help from the Hotel at least!!)which left us getting totally ripped off at the airport. At Zanzibar Airport, they deliberately break the ATM so you have to pay a "taxi" to take you to an ATM....where you can only get schillings. The Bureau de change doesn't accept cards (even though the smallest souvenir shops manage to have a card reader) Overall, a good stay but take your own currency so you avoid the Hotel taking you to the cleaners!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Michael

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give us your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, however regret to learn about the money exchange issue, which we seldom get complaints regarding. However, your concerns have been noted and the matter has been raised to the Management to address.

Kind regards
The Ocean Paradise Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

The general manager Samuel Bond and his team run an excellent, friendly, efficient service for all guests ensuring that particular attention to individual customer service needs are met throughout. The staff- too many too name all; but particularly Mwini, Anthony, the Chef and Sous Chefs, guest relations managers from South Africa and Bahrain - Yaqoob, bar staff, waiters and waitresses, gardeners and cleaners went out of their way to make this the most enjoyable stay. As it was our honeymoon we also got some free extras, however, all guests were treated as VIPs. Excellent food, entertainment nightly and plenty of watersports and free activities including free Swahili lessons by the Animator, an excellent PADI dive centre happy to hire gear for the odd snorkel or proper diving lessons, free sea kayaking, windsurfing lessons, a brand new Africology Spa, and daily evening themed buffets with fresh cooked food and subtle live bands and shows every evening. The beach and sea were perfect, and safe. The hotel employs good physical security but the locals are most friendly and the Masi warriors are very polite and speak excellent English, and are a mine of local information. The manager also recommended an excellent private restaurant for our ventures during a trip round historic Stonetown. A true Ocean Paradise. We are strongly considering going again, but also would consider going to the new Double Tree Hilton in Stonetown once completed, which will be a much easier journey once the new Zanzibar Airport is completed/ upgraded and direct flights from Europe are available. Our holiday was so relaxing we actually lost track of time. A very big thankyou to all the staff. It is just a pity we are now in England and it is two degrees centigrade !!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Richard

Thank you for taking time to write a detailed review providing us with your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed a relaxing and entertaining stay at Ocean Paradise Resort. We will convey your feedback to the team and former Food & Beverage Manager, Mr. Bond.

Thank you once again for your detailed review and choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa for your holiday.

Trust you are well rested and ready for new ventures in 2014.

Warmest regards
The Ocean Paradise Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We went at the Ocean Paradise in Zanzibar in mid january for 10 days on our honeymoon. The hotel service was EXCELLENT, the surroundings were beautiful, and we had the best time.
The staff was very nice, available, and always ready to help.
Since it was our honeymoon, the hotel not only upgraded us to an individual bungalow on the beach, but they also offered us a private lobster dinner on the beach, with a bottle of sparkling wine. It was also my husband's birthday during our stay, and the chef made a chocolate cake with his name on it that was brought in room service, AGAIN OFFERED BY THE HOTEL.
They know how to care for their customers!
We are very satisfied with our choice of destination, and are definitively recommending this hotel for a romantic getaway!!

Thank you Ocean Paradise Resort for the great memories !!

Room Tip: Definitively worth getting the upgrade to the private bungalows on the beach.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AaaaIice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Aaaalice

Thank you for taking the time writing a review and giving us your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and trust that you will share the great memories with your family and friends.

Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort for your Honeymoon.

Warmest regards
The Ocean Paradise Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews