We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,141)
Filter reviews
1,141 results
Traveller rating
754
278
57
26
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
754
278
57
26
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar stone town every night beach boys superior garden room guest relations half board low tide resident band local village different theme daily activities turn down service prison island palm trees dinner buffet reception area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
520 - 525 of 1,141 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We will try and keep this review relevant to what matters, without providing a minute by minute account of our holiday....as one or two reviewers seem to do on here.

So...if you are staying in Zanzibar then this is definitely the place to stay. We had a wonderful 7 days here, and could not recommend it highly enough to anybody.

The biggest asset of the Ocean Paradise resort is it's staff, who were absolutely out of this world, and could honestly have not gone more out of their way to help us whenever they could. One example...we just mentioned in passing to one of member of staff on our first night that we were considering paying extra for wifi in our room, and lo and behold when we returned from dinner a piece of paper had been slipped under the door containing the password and wifi code.

All of the staff were fantastic, but special mention must go to the food and beverage manager Nikolas, restaurant staff Magdalene, David, Onen and Saidi (who all deserve promotions ;)) and the one of-a-kind barman Mohammed. Thank you all.

The restaurant food was brilliant, plentiful and varied each night, and the provision of a free (for all inclusive guests anyway) cocktail of the day is a great idea, which was very well used by us and a fair few of the other guests as well. One particular recommendation would be to pay a little extra on one night to eat at the beachfront restaurant. This is an experience we will never forget, eating lobster on a table placed on the beach with just each other for company (apart from the crabs and mosquitoes).

Stone Town, the Jazani forest and the spice tour are all fascinating and well worth doing. I'm sure that several of the other trips are great as well, but we didn't do any of these.

The beach is lovely and really is exactly like the pictures. There was a little bit of seaweed but it certainly doesn't spoil the view or get in the way at all. The beach boys that some people have complained about in previous reviews really aren't much of a problem either. I've been to many places (e.g. Morocco) where the locals sell far more aggressively. In fact many of the beach boys just want to have a chat more than anything, and they will take a polite no for an answer.

The only very slight issues that we had were with the wifi being a bit unreliable, but this is to be expected...it's in Zanzibar (!!)...the overall standard of the buildings (e.g. toilets near to the bar) being closer to four star quality than five stars...and the pizzas served at lunchtime having waaaaay to much cheese on them. But, in the grand scheme of things these really are totally insignificant issues.

Overall, we had the best holiday that both of us have ever had, and both of us have visited a lot of places before. We really want to go back already.

A big thank you to all of the staff again, who made our stay such a special one.

Jonny and Atim

UK

Room tip: Choose the garden bungalow rooms if you can...they are closer to the pool and beach.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonny-Atim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa - Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Johnny & Atim,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give us a feedback .

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us .

We will convey your compliments to our staff especially Nikolas, Magdalene, David, Onene, Saidi and Mohamed of the restaurant.

Once again Thank You for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa for your stay

Asante Sana & Warm Regards

The Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

As the organisers of a 5-day course held at the Ocean Paradise we cannot thank the friendly, competent and helpful staff enough - the course flowed seamlessly. We were in the hands of the guest relations and food and beverage managers, and felt well-supported at all times. The food was excellent, the rooms spacious and a highlight was visiting the neighbouring town to donate excess training materials to the principal of the local school.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaci v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa - Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear JVN2510

Thank you for writing a review,

We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay and that the course was a big success.

We will relay the message to all the staff especially to the Food and Beverage Manager and the Guest Relations Manager.
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Ocean Paradise Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

we stayed at the ocean paradise hotel in march after a six day safari in kenya just what we needed the beach is wonderful every one at the hotel were so freindly if you asked them anything they would go out of their way to help .plus sun and relaxation.avisit to stone town is a must . we paid 48$ to get out of zanzibar which we never knew about lucky we had some $s

Room tip: get rooms on the grounds
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janette r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa - Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Janette R,
Thank you for writing a review.
We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay with is at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.
We will relay your compliments to the staff.
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Asante Sana!

Warmest Regards
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

After a frustrating journey coming from Dar es salaam, the mere breathtaking view of the resort managed to take our irritation away. Despite our late arrival, the staff welcomed us with so much energy. Our receptionist tried to check us in quickly in order for us to have supper, as the restaurant was closing at 10. We were escorted to the dining area and were greeted with such warm hospitality from the dining staff and manager. We missed the entertainment on the first night but the second one was delightful. The staff, once again, was so involved and completely mingled themselves with the guests making us feel at home. The resort offered an array of mouthwatering foods that believe me tasted absolutely delectable at all times without a doubt! Whether it’s Indian night or an international themed night, you won’t be disappointed. One of my favourite spots was a sort of “hub” by a bar that was filled with these colourful and ravishing cushions with a guaranteed view of the sea and the hotel at large, plus the free wi-fi is a bonus. Apart from that, the grounds are very clean and beautiful. Ocean paradise is filled with palm trees and possesses an alluring, gigantic pool that will draw you in by the poolside at any time of the day. I have been to various hotels in Zanzibar like La gemma, Melia etc but this resort is one of a kind! Definitely coming back in June. Thank you for making our stay so perfect. It was the perfect getaway from work!

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa - Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Janet M,
Thank you for writing a review.
We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa. We will pass on your compliments to our staff.
The Ocean Paradise Team is looking forward to welcoming you & your friends soon again
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort $ Spa.

Warmest Regards
Ocean Paradise Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at the Ocean Paradise Resort in Zanzibar this past February after an 8 day safari (we were part of a travel group of 26). I cannot say enough about the staff especially the Guest Relations Manager, Elzilea. She went out of her way to talk with us and make sure our stay was the best it could be. Our laundry was late, Elzilea made sure it was delivered very quickly. My friend was having a birthday, Elzilea made it special with a cake and a really fun entrance by the restaurant staff. I ended up with a barb in my foot from a sea urchin, Elzilea made sure I was OK and got the doctor to see me first thing the next morning. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. We had a nice room very close to the pool and beach. We spent a lot of time at the pool, how can you not, it is so gorgeous. Also, the hotel has a daily guided tour/event and I highly recommend those. We were able to visit a nearby village with a guide from the hotel and it was quite an experience as we got to visit a school and talk to the students first hand. Relaxing, beautiful, great staff and the food is really good too, you can't go wrong with the Ocean Paradise.

Room tip: We did not use the spa, but others in our travel group got a massage. We used the dive shop at the hotel for a snorkeling excursion. I would recommend that if going snorkeling, go in the morning. Do not go in the afternoon as the tide can go out. That is how I got a sea urchin barb in my foot. See the "fisherman" he will take care of you.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa - Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Karen K,
Thank you for writing a review.
We will pass on your compliments to our staff and in
particular to Elzilea..
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews