We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Haugesund, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice resort”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had great time at the resort .We stayed der for 6 nights after 5 days of safari .The rooms were spacious and nice .The staff was friendly and helpful .The food was nice whit a variety of choices .The only drawback was that you had to juse car for visiting other parts of the island .I will recomend that you plan for that .Staying at the resort could be boring if you stay on the resort for many days .We went for the spice tour and blue safari .I can recomend that .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hansen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    280
    84
    43
    27
See reviews for
221
380
41
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Had a wonderful time at Blue Bay. The beach is just amazing! The rooms, food, service was all very nice and I could not fault anything. The best part was the Dolphin Tour the hotel arranged for us that was just excellent! We got to swim with wild dolphins out in the open sea and the experience was absolutely wonderful. After that we had a great snorkeling experience too!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farzana Mughal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The staff though friendly dont seem adequately trained.. our room was not clean when we arrived and my bedding was torn. Service very slow and one always got a feeling a lot of cost cutting was being done. Food is very mediocre and not value for money. Overall I would not come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheptoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I spent 3 nights here at Bluebay, which was a good amount of time. I should caveat by saying that I'm not that enamored by resorts in general, and while it was lovely and sunny, it didn't seem particularly "Zanzibar" to me, except for the Massai guards and the constant hassling by vendors when I ventured out to the beach (rarely, due to the hassle factor of people trying to sell things). I found Stone Town much more vibrant and authentic, but that's just a reflection of my vacation preferences more than a knock against the resort.

Basically, it was a very pretty, very nice resort with beautiful rooms on a beautiful stretch of land, but it wasn't terribly interesting and I don't think I'd want to stay for much longer than I did. There were lots of Europeans at the resort, and what seemed to be a lot of middle aged European women who came to hook up with Massai men, so there was a constant parade of those couples on the beach, which made for entertaining people-watching.

I felt comfortable as long as I was with my boyfriend, but when he left me alone to go back to the room for a few hours I got bothered by a few Massai (including one who worked there) inviting me to a disco that evening, and one random guy I believe working at a neighboring resort asking me to come play volleyball, and I had a hard time shaking them all off. It was annoying and I wanted to be left alone.

The food was excellent, especially the swahili night food. The zanzibar coconut curry at the bar restaurant was excellent, although the service there was incredibly slow. The house band that played in the evenings was comically bad, just amazingly, hilariously terrible.

I did a snorkeling trip with the dive shop that is sort of linked to the resort but not really (I'm not entirely sure what the relationship is), and it was fabulous! I highly recommend it to anyone staying there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwanawadunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Good Hotel, great service, lovely people, fab Divecenter.
Guests: mostly Skandinavians, but Locals aswell. Mostly older people, if you want to party.. no good! A good place to relax and have peace. If your a diver: one of the best Divecenters ever is located in the Resort!( good for Snorklers aswell)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrindiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

blue bay is the one of the most lovely homely place i ever been, it was a team trip which no one will never forget about it, we had an amazing time we felt like we are at home....then reservation team was very friendly,i can't explain about the waiters and waitress they become our friends on the same day they knew our name that was just amazing someone to rem your name it makes you fell at home..the security was amazing as well i still remember the Masai guy Paul hes a very friendly all in all the service is excellent words cnt express how blue is....the rooms are very comfortable homely,the pool is just too beautiful...the foood omg am still misssing it, the desert is to die for... for me blue i can call it a second home and its amemory which will never be forgoten at all..thank you mr hasssan you and your team are amazing keep it up.will make sure to come again n again.....blue bay is my second homee

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maya o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

It was our 3rd time at Bluebay, and it was as good as usual. The pros are: the beach, the ocean, the garden with the palm trees, flowers, skink, squirrels etc, smiling staff, the pool and the lack of noisy Italians :-) The neutrals: the rooms and room service, reception, shop and maybe the dinner. The cons: evening music entertainment is mostly disturbing, breakfast quality is very-very poor!!! and also the choice could be wider. Bar service is a bit slow, quality of coctails could be better.
So I think, all together, it is a good value for money choice, I will defoóinitely come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egermadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,562 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,579 reviews
18.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
615 reviews
12.8 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 169 in Zanzibar Island
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sultan Sands Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
Address: | North Coast, Kiwengwa 3276, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront resort with traditional Swahili charm, Bluebay Beach Resort & Spa is situated on the finest white beach on the east coast of Zanzibar. The resort is one of the island’s most prestigious properties offering the ultimate in beach comfort: excellent accommodation; fine wining and dining; a host of sports and leisure facilities; the famous Oasis Spa; and our award-winning service. Bluebay’s rooms and suites are set within 30-acres of tropical gardens with over 1,000 palm trees, some right at the ocean’s edge. All rooms are spacious, bright and beautifully decorated in Zanzibari style. Dining at Bluebay showcases Zanzibar’s celebrated local ingredients with an emphasis on fresh seafood and contemporary cuisine. As well as being a magical destination for holidaymakers wishing to soak up the sun and absorb the enchanting culture of Zanzibar, the resort offers excellent facilities for meetings, conferences and group incentives. And our weddings and events team can help you plan a private party, a wedding and, of course, a honeymoon! Bluebay Beach Resort & Spa is Bluebay’s premier brand. The resort shares a 500m stretch of beach with its sister property – Sultan Sands Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Bluebay Beach Resort And Spa Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing