We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Zanzibar”
Review of Melia Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melia Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Best place in Zanzibar”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure to stay in this resort. Great place with great food. Gabi Beach is the highlight in our opinion.

Most resorts on the island are runned by Italians (famous for food but not so famous for hospitality!!) but now think they got some competition with Melia.

If you want sun, relax, beach and comfort in a tropical destination then I only can recommend this hotel.

One query: The jetty lacks a bit of entertainment!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endaxi0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Endax0815


May I first of all take this opportunity to extend my sincere gratitude for selecting Melia Zanzibar as your preferred hotel for your recent holiday. On behalf of the team I truly appreciate your honest and positive feedback.

As you mentioned that, most of the Island Resorts run by Italians here in Zanzibar. It is very true but I would like to assure you that, we are very unique; we have our own style which differentiates us from others.

In regards to entertainments, we have an entertainment plan on a weekly basis, of which you will find an activity plan upon your arrival. We provide different entertainment during dinner time to our Main Restaurant according to the theme of Nights.

We are very proud that you were the one to exceed your expectations with our outstanding services. We do believe that you will be a good ambassador to your friends and family telling them about Melia Zanzibar. This is truly a thumb up endorsement for us which we carry along.

We wish to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,128
    309
    87
    24
    14
See reviews for
244
919
61
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I have stayed in Melia Zanzibar, it was a great experience. Staff are relally very sympathetic, food is great, rooms are gorgeous. The beach is 1,5km far, but the hotel drive you in a golf car till there..
Tips.. Always get a half board because fod ar quite exensive, and inclifing brekfast and dinner when you are booking makes you save a lot money..

Room Tip: Half board...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcilio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Marcilio C

Thank you for your comments posted on Trip Advisor, and the trust you have shown in Melia Zanzibar to be your recent holiday destination. You made a great choice coming to Melia Zanzibar, and many guests have loved our hotel because of its rich history, quaint design, unparalleled beach proximity and spectacular views.

In regards of our packages, we offer different meal plan packages like Bed and Breakfast, Half Board, All Inclusive and All Inclusive Premium. We offer more options for our guests to have wide choices in our different out lets.

We wish to welcome you again in the near future.

With Kindest Regards from Melia Zanzibar Team

You’re the Journey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

So relaxing to stay here. Stayed here for 5nights and loved every minute. Food only ok though. We had an all inclusive deal and I often struggled to get a full meal at night at the buffet. Beautiful decor. Be careful to make sure they know when they are collecting you from the airport as there was confusion for us on this. Great beach a buggy ride away. would recommend this place.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Dear Valnera

Thank you for taking your time to send a constructive feedback about your recent holiday at Melia Zanzibar. We are grateful that you share your experiences of which does help us to improve on our services to our guests.

Please be advised that Gabi beach is a private beach and also is part of our landscape with a 2.5 kilometre all along. When it is low tide most of our clients enjoy searching for star fish coral reefs. In this regard we have a consistence transportation system with Golf Cars every 15 minutes from and to the beach. As for furniture in the rooms; we are sorry to learn that we meet your expectations, we try to keep Zanzibar style (traditional art) of which some of our guests like it very much. For our buffet style; we try our best to give options to all our guests.

We always serve fresh food and every day we have different dinner theme from different culture in order to meet every client’s needs and to give them more variety. We also have all outlets open every day during dinner time, where we propose a set menu as an additional benefit for all inclusive packages.

Melia Zanzibar is part of an international company with experienced team. I would like to assure you that, we have procedures and strategies which made us qualify to put our hotel in the market as a 5 Star Hotel.
Thank you for choosing Melia Zanzibar to be your holiday destination. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilhavo, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Olá! Hello! Jambo!

We heard of Zanzibar as a tourist destination just a few weeks before our vacation. We saw some pictures and information about the island and we decided to book the trip. So we had to choose the hotel. From all that have been presented, the Melia hotel seemed the best. In addition, it had the advantage of being a well-known hotel chain, which we had several references.
After an exhausting journey from Portugal, there is nothing better than finding a hotel that corresponded to what we expected and even more. The Meliá Zanzibar is a lot better than the photos. It features a highly personalized service that makes us feel quite comfortable. The people of Zanzibar and especially the employees of the hotel have an extraordinary affability. They are always ready to help us with a smile and always available to help us with any problem or concern that arise.
The facilities are fantastic. Starting with the garden room we stayed in, which is huge. The bed is huge and even the extra bed is quite comfortable. The TV has plenty of channels. The bathroom is the biggest surprise. Almost as big as the room. It has two sinks and a giant bathtub. An inside and an outside shower, and as is obvious, a toilet. Everithing is very clean.
The central building is quite beautiful, comfortable and functional.
The pool is great and the bar sells a nice range of cocktails and food. The jetty lounge, the bar above the sea, is fantastic. The hotel is seafront, but the sandbeach is 1 km away. It is called Gabi Beach. But this is not a problem. There are caddies that take us there. The sand "flour", the hot water of the sea and the fantastic African sunshine makes this a very pleasant space to spend the day.
We have several restaurants to choose from. The all inclusive, wich we had, allows you to enjoy the majority of them. They're all excellent. At the buffet, the food is very good and never repeats during the week.
We've been in many tropical destinations around the world, but this trip was undoubtedly the best and much is due to what this hotel has to offer. Not even a single problem! It's a great hotel for families or couples. We have recommended and we will continue to recommend to those who wish to spend a quiet peaceful week in paradise. Excellent in all aspects. We promise to return.

Asante!
Obrigado! Thanks!

José Jr, José and Isabel from Portugal.

Room Tip: The romance pavillions are excelent for honeymoons. For a family, choose the garden room. They are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jose_r_esteves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear Guest

Warm greetings from Zanzibar were the Sun always shines.
With great pleasure we thank you for spending your valuable time to write an overwhelming review and choosing us to be your option during your stay in Zanzibar.

We celebrate to read your outstanding comments that you consider Melia Zanzibar the place where perfect oasis combined with tranquilly can be found. Our intention is to make our guest’s dreams come true and create unforgettable stay even more when their expectations are high as expected.
We are looking forward to see you again soon.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

Was attending a regional conference/meeting at the hotel and decided to have a few days to myself. Glad I did ! What a fabulous hotel, staff exceptionally friendly and very helpful they cannot do enough for you. Setting absolutely breath taking especially Gabi Beach. Stayed in a terrace room, very clean and bathrooms to die for... Every day returned to flowers around the bath and basins (a lovely touch) and in the evening the beds and mozzie net turned down and the room sprayed. Was on an all inclusive package more than adequate. Good all round selection of food and drink! Definitely going back with family in tow! Oh yes and meeting a great success as well! If I had to have a negative it is the guys trying to "drum up" business on the beach i.e. trips in dhows, henna tattoos, etc but once they know you are not interested they move on and I suppose they have a living to make as well!

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Adele O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Guest

We are very pleased to read this review posted on Trip Advisor, that we were your chosen option for your holiday in Zanzibar. The comments of our guests are the base on which we work on every day to improve and offer the best standards as it is the commitment of our company.

On behalf of the team, I do apologize that the beach boys bothered you. I would like to assure you that, we have a very strong security team at the beach, who are keeping a very close eye to make sure our guests are protected. Strict guidelines are followed all the time.
We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The Melia Zanzibar is a bit like an Ikea piece of furniture. It looks very pretty on the outside, but as soon as you start using it falls apart miserably.

The resort’s appearance is majestic, a huge plot of land with well groomed lawns, exotic vegetation, a stylish infinity pool, a private beach, 5 restaurants and perhaps the coolest feature: a 150m pier stretching out into the Indian Ocean with a chill-out lounge at the end. The rooms also look great with King size beds equipped with mosquito nets, flat screen TV’s, plenty of storage space and an oversized bathroom which is literally as big as the bedroom (almost too big to be honest). It hosts a giant bath-tub, two wash basins, an indoor AND an outdoor shower, and of course the toilet. All of this is tastefully presented with some flower petals scattered around the room which are different each day.

So far, so good – in fact, even the restaurants are pretty good. We had dinner at the Aqua (a la carte) twice and the seafood platter was mouth-watering, the setting was also truly relaxing (large tables, ambience music, not too busy). We also explored the Jetty lounge (at the end of the pier) and apart from the strong wind that made the evening a little chilly had a great night (by the way a tip for the hotel, you should provide guests with pashminas if the lounge gets chilly and fit powerful underwater lighting to illuminate the sea, the ones you have fitted now barely light up a couple of meters of water and the light is not visible from the tables). Gabi beach was good, both the beach itself and the grill based restaurant. Perhaps though they should invest in a small tractor to clean up the beach more quickly as the tides bring about quite a bit of unsightly seaweed. We saw it cleaned by hand which took forever and the job seemed mediocre.

OK, why so harsh on the rating then? In fairness, I might have been a bit strict but the level of service and response to our problems we faced (both at the hotel and replies to our complaint letters) were beyond appalling and substantiate most of my rating.

I’ll cut the story short as this review is getting too long, but essentially we had a problem with the hot water as it faded to an unpleasant room temperature after a mere 5 minutes. Upon making several complaints and being told every time ‘the problem was fixed’, on the fourth time (at around 23:00) an engineer eventually told us that the rooms are fitted with 80L hot water cylinders and once the water is finished, you need to wait another 30 min to warm it up again. This essentially means you CANNOT ENJOY ANY OF THE FACILITIES IN THE BATHROOM. The bathtub has a capacity of around 300L, how can you fill it with 80L hot water? I tried and my legs weren’t even covered when the water turned cold. The power showers mean the hot water is used up way too quickly. The Teka taps are of very poor quality (isolation between lower/ceiling pieces faulty) and overall level of building works finishing is bad (loose handles, mouldy corners, curtains malfunctioned).

We changed three more rooms in the middle of the night none of which were of better standard than our initial one. The second room had not been cleaned (it had a disgustingly dirty toilet seat of which I have a picture), the lights weren’t working in the third room and completely exhausted at 1 am in the morning we settled with the fourth room, which was actually smaller than our first room and the hot water turned out to last less!

While I am very surprised the rooms are equipped with hot water to last only 5 minutes – not exactly a 5 star experience- I would have accepted this fact had I been told so immediately. Instead, we were mislead to believe the problem could have been solved and left hopeful for a further three days which only made our frustration greater. The room change saga was then completely ridiculous, and even more so the fact we were never offered a better room as a courtesy for our troubles. We received a 10% discount on our restaurant bills and a free taxi to the airport (worth $50) which I believe was insufficient given the degree of disruption to our stay.

I wrote a number of very angry and detailed complaint letters to the head office in Spain which were merely bounced back to the resort. I got a couple of standardised apology paragraphs as a response (and of course no compensation) sent from an employee’s account, but signed off by the resort manager (Marko [--]) – which I don’t believe he wrote personally. I mean, at the very least don’t sign with your name if you didn’t write the letter. That’s just rude and disrespectful!

I’m surprised no one has pointed out the hot water issue in previous reviews as I believe it’s a pretty big deal. Also, no wi-fi in the rooms and breakfast was mediocre.

Overall I would say 5 stars for APPERANCE, 0 stars for EXPERIENCE.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CL1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Guest

Once again we really appreciate the time you spent time writing your comments on Trip Advisor.

Please, bear in mind that your first report was removed by TripAdvisor as we didn’t agree the unacceptable way you presented your comment. We take some of your doubts and concerns as a challenge to improve our services.

At the time you were at Melia Zanzibar, we offered you a compensation as it has been explained in our last conversations, of which you accepted. We are very professional company, basically we don’t see any mistakes on our side. We have been champions on protecting the environment of our country. Water is not endless and expensive good in Zanzibar, nevertheless our water system is more than sufficient for the normal consumption of hot water as well as cold water. Melia Hotels is a very active company in terms of sustainability. As well we have many Biosphere Hotels around the world. Finally we have to mention, that we never had any complain from any client concerning water issues.

I would like to assure you that, our major mission is to exceed our client’s expectation and always to cater their desired needs, which make a land mark in their stay.
Let me finally confirm that we enjoyed being your host.

Marko Janssen & Melia Zanzibar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norge
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

After only being open for 7 months I must say the hotel is outstanding. The view is perfect, the facilities is perfect, the beach is perfect and the room is perfect. If I have to put my finger on something it has to be the 1 kilometer golf car trip to reach the beach, but you barely notice it and the scenery and garden along the road is magnificent. The staff is extremely service minded. The servers in the restaurant could be faster as they tended to be rather slow with drinks and extra orders. I guess it reflects the tanzanian culture. We upgraded to all-inclusive and it was well worth it!

Bottom line: I can highly recommend this hotel as a five star relaxation paradise.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Guest

Warm greetings from Spicy Island of Zanzibar!

On behalf of Melia Zanzibar team, I am very pleased for your honesty comments on Trip Advisor. Your gesture has a great meaning to us, whereby we count ourselves privileged to read that you had a memorable and wonderful experience in our hotel.

We have noted your comments on slowness of services in the Restaurant. This has been taken on board of which we are concentrating much on training; you will surely find a big difference on your next visit. I would also like to thank you for your understanding concerning the distance from the hotel to Gabi Beach; we have a consistence schedule of Golf Cars every 15 minutes trip to and from Gabi Beach.

Once again thank you very much, that we were the one to exceed your expectations. We are looking forward to see you again soon.

With Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,580 reviews
16.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
615 reviews
16.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 169 in Zanzibar Island
487 reviews
32.2 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
934 reviews
25.4 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Zanzibar

Property: Melia Zanzibar
Address: Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Hotel and Resort is Zanzibar's leading international resort, situated on the north-east coast of the island. Melia Zanzibar is built on a 40 acre estate with a beautiful beach of pearlescent white sand lapped by warm ocean waters, 300 meters long, situated at the very end of the property to procure the perfect combination with nature. The resort is ringed by a natural coral reef, making bathing a relaxing and safe experience. The hotel is the perfect destination for honeymoon or wedding vacations as well as meetings & incentives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Melia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Zamani Zanzibar Kempinski Kiwengwa
Melia Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing