We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Zanzibar
Nearby Hotels
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mvuvi Resort(Kiwengwa)
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,830)
Filter reviews
1,830 results
Traveller rating
1,342
349
95
28
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,342
349
95
28
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgabi beachtapasjetty baroutdoor showeraqua restaurantspices restaurantall inclusive packagegolf cartjose antoniobuggy rideterrace roommain restaurantprivate beachhuge bathroomindian oceanspecial thanksour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
659 - 664 of 1,830 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel has serious security issues. Although rooms are cleaned under observation of security officers, someone managed to steal my iphone from the room. The manager Antonio and chief of security apologized for that.
I spent a week in Melia Zanzibar. The nice beach that you can see on the photos is not really nice. It's dirty because of algae, seaweed and trash and no one cleans it. We couldn't swim in the ocean because of the law tide, there was no water from morning till 5 pm near the beach and the beach is quite far from the main building (10 minutes by cab plus waiting time for the cab from 5 to 20 minutes). The only place to swim is the pool. The teritory is huge and beautifull. The breakfast selection is average but the rest of the food during the day is very good (if you have full board package). Rooms are big and clean with huge bathrooms but need some renovation. I paid for my room through melia website and my cc was charged twice. One month later the mistake was corrected and the blocked amount was released.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
9  Thank IrakliKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks you so much that you opted to stay with us during your recent holiday in Zanzibar. We appreciate your feedback and we are happy that you loved the ground, meal plans, and cleanliness of the rooms. We take all comments from our guests seriously, as they are the base which we work on every day to improve and offer the best services to our clients.
I am however saddened for your perception towards our team in regards to your lost iPhone. Please allow me to clarity some few points for the sake of all travellers in Trip Advisor Community.
1. First of all, we don’t agree that your iPhone was stolen in your room as there was no any evidence of damage or breakage. The incidence was reported to us after 14 hours of missing of the iPhone when it was clear to you that you could not find it neither remember where you kept it, if it was in your hotel room or outside the hotel.

2. We offered you an assistance to report the incidence to the Police but you refused, which made the all process very difficult as we could not establish and identify the recovery of the mentioned iPhone.


3. In regards to Credit Card to be charged double; we totally disagree with your statement. Our Front Office Agent has been in contact with you and he has already confirmed that your card was not charged double by our hotel. We have all evidences to prove that of which you also have. The last email which was sent to you advising that you should check with your Bank to identify the problem and revert to us, unfortunately you never replied back.
Lastly, I would like to inform you that, we are an experienced and professional company; we value much our guests and understand their reasons for choosing our hotel. And besides, we also have procedures and policies which guide us and our guests inclusively.
We remain at your disposal, and hope welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We paied all inclusive, and been asked to pay the extra lunch bill just because the hotel's process problem, and been blocked at the gate, my husbund was also been kicked by the security. And no manager came out in time to settle the disaster situation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank Jie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback in Trip Advisor Community.
We understand that sharing comments on Trip Advisor is an opportunity offered to everyone wishes to share their experiences with the community. However, we are very disappointed for your negative comments and the attitude towards our entire management. I would also like to clarify some points below for the benefit of other travellers:
 At Melia Zanzibar, we don’t accept any kind of criticism in terms of physical attack, abusive language and lack of respect towards our staff. We have policies and guidelines which are abided to us and we have to respect them.

 During your check-in all information concerning our hotel were given to you.

 You tried to leave the hotel without settling your bills which was totally criminal offence against our hotel policy and Tanzanian Law. The management were ready to meet with you and resolve the matter but you didn’t want to listen, instead you were antagonizing, attacking and abusing the guards, throwing chairs and bicycles, destroying and damaging the environment of the hotel, creating unpleasant situation in front of the clients.

 Whatever happens to our clients while in the hotel, we have Guest Experience Desk and management to resolve issues in a professional way.

 Lastly but not least, this case has been reported to the Police in Zanzibar as “Breach of security and cause disturbance in business areas, physical attack and unauthorized taking photos of the staff without their consent”
Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A good resort to spend a one week beach holiday,enjoying the ocean, food, scenery, culture of Zanzibar people and the activities like the spice plantation tour, swimming with the dolphins, visiting stone town, snorkeling.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest

We are so happy to hear you had such an enjoyable experience with us. We take great pride being your chosen hotel in the Island. Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. As a loyal and valued guest, your kind words mean so much to us. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the entire team.
We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at melia resort for 6 nights in October 2013 and we had the most wonderful experience. A very professionally run and elegant resort with the most wonderful staff and management.
We stayed in one of the ocean front pavilions- absolutely magical watching the ocean and beach scene from our balcony! Truly beautiful!

The service and food was also excellent. I would thoroughly recommended melia.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the seafront pavillion!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna_K833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for a wonderful review and for taking your time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that you had a great time with us, and that you were impressed by our magical ocean front pavilion, the property itself, meal plans, unique services and professional ambassadors around. We are committed to provide incomparable services in terms of hospitality, and guest satisfaction is our priority.

We appreciate your comments so much and take them as a tool we carry along.

Looking forward to your next return.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I came here on holiday with a friend of mine and we had an amazing time with this hotel. The food was always good and the staff very nice. It is unfortunate that the beach is a golf cart away but you could easily stay at the infinity pool and hear the waves crashing. I would definitely come back again. The outdoor shower was a cool feature as well!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your sincere comments and patronage, we are very glad that we met your expectations during your stay.
Hoping to see you back soon!

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews