We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience of a lifetime!”
Review of Melia Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melia Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

After having climbed the Kilimanjaro during an 8-day arduous but thrilling climb, we were ready to rest and relax for a few days before heading back to reality. We flew directly from Kilimanjaro (JRO) to Zanzibar with Precision Air and in less than 90' arrived in paradise. Once arrived, the Melia driver picked us up and dropped us off at the hotel, 45' later. We had arrived in paradise!

The GM, Cesar and his head of F&B, Nicolas, waited for us and gave us such a royal welcome before being escorted to our villa, which was absolutely amazing. A massive living room, bedroom (with a gorgeous posted bed), bathroom with exterior jungle shower and an incredible pool in your own private yard with the ocean in the background. We could not have dreamt about this!! It was perfect.

The service was amazing (people are so friendly, they pick you up in a golf cart and take you anywhere you like to go); the food absolutely delicious in the several restaurants, and the atmosphere whether at the Gabi Beach or at the jetty bar was truly exceptional.

We cannot wait to get back, and would highly recommend it to all couples who are looking for some indulgence after climbing one of the seven peaks!!

Thank you SO much, Cesar and Nicolas!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dsquare2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia O, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Meliá Hotel Zanzibar for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Meliá Hotel Zanzibar.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,


Sophia Othman
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Mélia with a friend for give nights but I wish I could have stayed for 50. This all inclusive met and surpassed all our expectations.


PROS

From the bat, we were told by airport drivers that Mélia is one of the top three resorts in Zanzibar.

We booked a garden view room with plans to upgrade until we realized we could see the ocean clearly from our patio. The rooms were clean and spacious and the bathroom was divine! Perfect for couples but we enjoyed it all the same.

We made the mistake of booking bed and breakfast only but front desk staff immediately offered us an upgrade to all inclusive for a reasonable rate! No haggling needed here!

The resort offers a few restaurant and meal options (poolside, evening buffets, room service, habit beach restaurant) so we did not run out or culinary options. Plus there was a lovely library bar which was beautifully furnished and perfect for winding down a long hot day.

The spa was a marvel. It has a wonderful private pool that we took advantage of, as well as wonderful Anantara services, a gym and sauna, and much much more. Wish we had taken advantage of it more.

The staff was amazing throughout, from the front desk managers to the pool staff. We did not have one complaint to proffer and that is a triumph as far as customer service and national standards are concerned.

CONS:

Not enough spa staff to cater to even double bookings at time. And they ran out of a lot of stock.

Room service stands to be improved. Its night menu is limited and the service is slow (an hour!) after midnight.

TIP

GO ALL INCLUSIVE ! Trust me. prices are exorbitant otherwise, but please note that spa services are not included. Neither is shisha/hookah (booooo!)

All in all, I will definitely be back! Can't wait.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank ClarisseBaleja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia O, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Mrs Baleja,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Meliá Hotel Zanzibar for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Meliá Hotel Zanzibar.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,


Sophia Othman
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at Melia Zanzibar for 9 nights in March. It was amazing. We are family with two small kids (1,5 and 4-years), and children loved it too. We had garden view room, it was spacious with the same sized bathroom with bath, shower, outside shower and toilet. We stayed in house 15, so it is next to reception and main restaurant Spices. We had garden balcony where you could see ocean as well.

The pool was great, view to the ocean and Jetty-bar. Chlidren's part of the pool was a little bit separated from the main pool so I hope the other visitors didn't mind the childrens burst of laughter and little bit louder voices time to time. There was Children's Club behind the main pool area.

Staff of the hotel were very good, always smiling and trying to do the best for you. Room was cleaned well, and bed was made in the evening as well and fresh towels twice a day.

Gabi beach - such a great place with white sand. There was tide every day while we stayed there, so you could see locals go fishing and collect the seaweed that time. Gabi Beach a la carte menu, we loved it. Grilled chicken, beef and catch of the day - delicious! We thought about walking to Gabi beach but it was way hot :D, so the golf-cars are at your disposal in every 20 minutes.

Internet is free in main house lobby and by the pool, I bought 7-days internet to use in room, I paid 50USD.

I recommend the hotel as it is clean, beautiful, great food - you have the choice what and where to eat, great service with friendly stuff.

Room Tip: house 15 is right next to the main house. I think all the rooms have some view to ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Merle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia O, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Mrs Merle,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Meliá Hotel Zanzibar for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Meliá Hotel Zanzibar.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,


Sophia Othman
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I was given a suite and was amazed. Outdoor & indoor showers. Bathtub pristine enough to actually use. Perfect mattress. HUGE living room & dining room. Gourmet food. Awesome pool. Incredibly large property. It was perfect and I will 100% return, potentially for my honeymoon :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Asatu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia O, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Mr. Asatu,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Meliá Hotel Zanzibar for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Meliá Hotel Zanzibar.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,


Sophia Othman
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife and I spent 14 days at Malia Resort and Spa. The hotel facilities was grate. Spacious rooms with all you need. I had a couple of very good Thai massages at the Spa. My opinion is that the food could have been better - bland. Service was at times very slow. Beach was good - but online a couple of hours pr day - depending on tide.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bengt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia O, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Bengt ,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Meliá Hotel Zanzibar for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Meliá Hotel Zanzibar.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,


Sophia Othman
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

it was my first time in this hotel and i had come with my wife for our honeymoon. it was a very pleasant experience all there staff were very welcoming from abdallah who greated us and welcomed us to the hotel and Monica the receptionist plus azma the hotel pool restaurant waiter
they were all welcoming and friendly .

they upgraded us to a hotel suite which was a very good room with 2 balcony and it was a full board plan with unlimited food and drinks.

they have a private beach called GABI BEACH which is part of melia about 10 to 15 min drive by a golf car and they have a private restaurant inside that location which a plus point for us because when we went there they provided us with towels and soft drink when we arrived at the beach

the area was amazing, the food overall was good

our room location was good too and a good view from the balcony

this time around the year is not a high a season so for the first 2 nights it was really good me and my wife felt like we were the only ones staying in the hotel but then

plus they have the jetty lounge which is open in the evening for dinner and drinks during the day time but reservation for dinner is required and its a very pleasant place next to the ocean with a beautiful view especially during the day time

thank you melia and to all your staff for making mine and my wife's stay beautiful and pleasant

Room Tip: the suites are amazing room and spacious room they have 3 types of shower a) regular shower room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abbas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia O, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Mr and Mrs Abbas,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Meliá Hotel Zanzibar for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Meliá Hotel Zanzibar.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,


Sophia Othman
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband and I have just arrived from Zanzibar after spending 7 nights at the Melia Zanzibar resort & Spa for our Honeymoon.

The hotel representatives did as much as they could in order to make us feel well treated and at ease.
We were given a double upgrade to a Zanzibar suite and we could also experience a romantic dinner at their stunning gourmet restaurant Aqua.

Everyday was a joy, the hotel property is vast and green. When we arrived I immediately felt in a tropical holiday, the palms, the coconuts, the emerald ocean. We walked directly to the jetty along the bridge and had the spectacular tapas menu! which was part of the all inclusive! Paella! oh glorious seafood paella! and this was just the beginning!
The hotel has 5 gorgeous restaurants so we could eat at a different one every day. Regarding the beach, Gaby beach is at about 5 minutes from the hotel and you can go on a cute golf car that transferred you every 15 minutes. The road is very beautiful and it is an experience to get there with a driver singing Hakuna Matata!!!! Once there you have the white sands beach at your disposal! you can do kayaking if the tide is high, swimming, sunbathing, or simply drinking all inclusive cocktails at the beach bar restaurant. Lunch is served until 17h00!!!! and the last transfer back is at 18h00.

The rooms are very ample and the housekeepers decorate them with local flowers daily! We also got different confectionaries every night.

The food was something that really impressed me since buffet can many times be disappointing. Melia has the best chefs on the island. In the the 7 nights we could try Arabic, Swahili, Spanish, Mediterranian, Asian, Indian food and great sea food among others and it was well prepared and very tasty.

It is so important to feel at home when you are not, but to also feel spoilt!!

Well done Melia! Hope to come back soon!

Carla Agurto Thompson

Room Tip: If you want to be in a quiet or romantic space choose the rooms that are near by the Spa. The Spa al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carla a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia O, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Carla,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Meliá Hotel Zanzibar for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Meliá Hotel Zanzibar.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,


Sophia Othman
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,680 reviews
16.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
16.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
503 reviews
32.2 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
972 reviews
25.4 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Zanzibar

Address: Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range: £202 - £475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Hotel and Resort is Zanzibar's leading international resort, situated on the north-east coast of the island. Melia Zanzibar is built on a 40 acre estate with a beautiful beach of pearlescent white sand lapped by warm ocean waters, 300 meters long, situated at the very end of the property to procure the perfect combination with nature. The resort is ringed by a natural coral reef, making bathing a relaxing and safe experience. The hotel is the perfect destination for honeymoon or wedding vacations as well as meetings & incentives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Melia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Zamani Zanzibar Kempinski Kiwengwa
Melia Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing