We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,938)
Filter reviews
1,938 results
Traveller rating
1,427
364
99
28
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,427
364
99
28
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgabi beachtapasjetty baraqua restaurantoutdoor showerspices restaurantall inclusive packagegolf cartjose antoniobuggy rideterrace roommain restaurantprivate beachhuge bathroomindian oceankids clubspecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
539 - 544 of 1,938 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

3rd stay and wonderful. Spa is great, staff is great for a solo stayers!!

Beach Club lunch is refreshing. Rooms spacious and clean. I stay here as I have everything I need in 1 hotel. All-inclusive package is great value.

Jetty dinner is absolutely enjoyable.

I shall return!!!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas K, General Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

We will be delighted welcoming you back as mentioned!
Meanwhile, you may follow us on Instagram: melia.zanzibar
Thank you for your kind review.
Best regards, Nicolas

Nicolas König
General Manager - Meliá Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015

Beautiful resort with smiling staff. The property is very well maintained and beautifully located on the island. The food is really good. The rooms are comfortable with large comfy bed and huge bath. There are 2 pools. The Gabi beach is one of the property which is actually a restaurant shack at the beach for lazy noons and water sports enthusiasts. All in all it was a great experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the villas and pavilions are the best option
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank monicaPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas K, General Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2015

Dear Monica, thank you very much for your kind review.
We look forward welcome you back with your family to any Melia Hotels in the world.
Meanwhile, you can follow us on Instagram: melia.zanzibar
Best regards, Nicolas

Nicolas König
General Manager - Meliá Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed with our twin daughters in Junevfor 4 nights on an All inclusive basis and had a wonderful stay.
Yes, the hotel is not at the beach and you have to either walk or take the provided beach car which our kids loved. We never waited more than five minutes.
All member of stuff are very customer oriented and really go the extra mile.
We are definitely returning when we are visiting Tanzania again.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank soninni29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas K, General Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Your review was much appreciated!
We will be delighted welcoming you back with your lovely daughters.
Meanwhile you can follow us on Instagram: melia.zanzibar.
Cordially, Nicolas

Nicolas König
General Manager - Meliá Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

me and my wife enjoyed every bit of our stay at the Melia, we have been to several hotels in Zanzibar but the best one was yet to find. we found the best one to be Melia, we loved their dining themes as sometimes its the important part of your stay which many hotels oversee. we were amazed to see different kind of dining themes( Indian, Mediterranian, seafood buffet etc). The staff of the Hotel is very friendly if you ever wish to come alone you would still not be bored. The Spa was excellent too, we are planning to visit again in the near future and we do recommend this as the perfect stay for any sort of trip be it business, Couples, Family etc.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms are very nice and clean with good sea view
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shehzaad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas K, General Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2015

On behalf of my team, allow me to thank you for this review.
I am delighted to know that you have much enjoyed your experience with us.
We will be pleased welcoming you back or visit one of the other Melia Hotels in the world.
Meanwhile, you can follow us on Instagram: melia.zanzibar
Cordially, Nicolas

Nicolas König
General Manager - Meliá Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

The other reviews already mention the great food, gorgeous property and warm, friendly staff, and all I can do is agree. The staff also seemed well versed in English and Spanish. The wifi is surprisingly good for a place that's basically in the middle of nowhere.

We stayed in a pavilion room overlooking the ocean. The view is phenomenal and is worth waking up around 6:30 or so to catch the sunrise. My only complaint is that for a room that is supposed to be "romantic" you better be pretty comfortable with your partner because it's basically an open-air toilet in the room which doesn't leave much for the imagination.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas K, General Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

Thank you! Your comments were much appreciated.
We look forward welcoming you back to one of the Melia Hotels around the world.
Meanwhile, please follow us on Instagram: melia.zanzibar
Best regards to both of you.

Nicolas König
General Manager - Meliá Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews