We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
22 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$389
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/10/21
Booking.com
US$367
View deal
Trip.com
US$358
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/10/21
Hotels.comUS$389
CheapTicketsUS$389
TravelocityUS$389
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,602)
Filter reviews
2,602 results
Traveller rating
1,966
431
131
40
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,966
431
131
40
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gabi beach aqua restaurant jetty bar golf cart spice restaurant all inclusive package library bar huge bathroom guest experience private beach main restaurant indian ocean our honeymoon every night infinity pool ocean front garden room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 2,602 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2019

We are on our last day of a very relaxing week. The staff was always cheerful and helpful, including helping locate lost items left at another hotel. The wait staff go out of their way to accommodate any special needs or requests, especially our favorite waiter Alphonce at the beautiful Jetty restaurant located right over the water. The most stunning shoreline we have ever seen. Our bungalow room right on the water was like our own little piece of paradise!

Room tip: We upgraded to a bungalow room, and the location on the water was worth it!
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maxine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2019

Dear Maxine,

First of all, we would like to thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

It is extremely grateful to see that you share your feedback on your last day and that you have found here your little piece of paradise.

Of course, we will share your kind message to Alphonce and all the other team members for their great job, and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards

Stevan Cochennec
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2019 via mobile

We are very HAPPY!! We start our Holidays an Excellent choice!! We stay in this hotel from yesterday and We only one night and We don’t need more that We said that is RIGHT CHOICE!! The personal is very good in special Rocio. She help us very much and explained all very well “Thanks Rocio”!! You are fantastic
And all all persons are very good for example at Species Market Restaurant , Suzani on excursión planing , etc etc , etc always have an Smile and Very kind persons Thanks so much. The hotel is very nice , the room very comfortable and decoration all all is perfectly
I will be continue our holiday because our holidays star now and we have 18 days is fantastic !!
We are sure that We will be THE BEST HOTEL for us
Maybe We doubt it that if this hotel will be good no sure but ...
We don’t make a mistake and We HIGHLY recommended 100% Hotel Melia Zanzibar Thanks a lot for all

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank galenajeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2019

Dear galenajeann,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review after your first night!

We are extremely happy to know that you already feel home with us and that you are enjoying that much your holiday at Meliá Zanzibar.

We have shared your feedback with Rocío as well as with the rest of the team and we remain at your complete disposal to make your stay unforgettable on Spice Island.

Kindest Regards

Stevan Cochennec
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2019

Me & my Daughter visited Melia Zanzibar late august this year
The Property is beautiful with much attention to details, the staff was welcoming starting from the front desk we had a very welcoming experience in check in
the waiters @ breakfast lunch & dinner were amazing we tried all the resturant except Aqua ( was not included in our package )
the food was good , the service in all resturants was excellent & the food differed every night in all resturants & the menu changed & all was very good . I had a beautiful experience For lunch @ the pool resturant , my daughter was diving & returned late which didn't leave us much time to have lunch before we go for a visit to Stonetown & it was our last evening
the beautiful waitress @ the resturant once I ordered my food & I explained to her , did a beautiful packing of the lunch for us , which we ended up enjoyng on our drive to Stonetown
The rooms are clean , The turn down service was very nice
I would stay in this property again if I return to Zanzibar

Room tip: we were in room 1810 not too far from everything
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrchai200
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2019

Dear Mrchai200,

Allow us to start thanking you for sharing your review with the other TripAdvisor users.

We are totally thrilled to know that you have had an amazing experience you and your daughter at Meliá Zanzibar.

Also, it is our pleasure to read that you have found the food quality and the staff attitude excellent, and we would be more than happy to welcome you back if your plan do ever bring you back on Spice Island!

Kindest Regards

Stevan Cochennec
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2019

Melia Zanzibar is an embodiment of relaxation and chill! We spent a week there enjoying amazing Gabi Beach Club (highly recommended to walk there: great garden on the way), relaxation pool by the gym, and meals in the restaurants (Aqua chefs are truly masters). Great service: welcoming and efficient at the same time. Special thanks to Mariam, Samson and Daniel! And if you are lucky: bush babies will be your neighbours:)

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Natalya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2019

Dear Natalya,

We would like to start thanking you for choosing Meliá Zanzibar for your last holiday.

We are very glad to know that you consider our resort like Paradise and it is really nice to see that you found our team excellent. We have already forwarded your message to Maryam, Samson and Daniel!

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards

Stevan Cochennec
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2019

Very average level of service considering price paid for this villa Level. However, staff very very nice and helpful, with a special thank you to Alphonse. Overall, the so-called Level service is poor. The Gastronomique restaurant is especially a very bad experience.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank ld662018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2019

Dear ld662018,

We would like to thank you for choosing Meliá Zanzibar and for reviewing your stay.

It is great to see that you found the staff very nice and helpful, as we always want to create memorable experiences for all our guests, and we inform you that we will forward your message to Alphonce.

We deeply regret that you did not find the food quality at our Aqua restaurant was up to your expectations, as we usually receive excellent feedback regarding to the menu and the products we serve there.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you in Zanzibar and to provide you with the best service.

Best Regards,

Stevan Cochennec
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews