We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baraza Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of December, whilst having a break between safaris.. Not many people around, no problem. Beautiful rooms, stayed in a 1 bedroom villa, plus a separate villa for our 2 older children, Enjoyed their own space.
If not on the beach front still have reserved beach loungers for each villa. Food is a plenty, plus great variety, with different themed quisine each night. Staff, very friendly and very attentive.
Just remember, there is a dress code for dinner, men need to wear long pants. Great Stay, and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greyclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    57
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
223
384
20
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Baraza from the 28 th dec to the 2 nd of jan and it was 5 days in paradise. We would recommend the beachfront villas which had their own terrace ,small garden and reserved beach loungers. The staff were attentive and ever available,nothing was too much trouble. A great resort in a stunning location.
Nik and Abi.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Arriving here from a 7 night stay next door and a 5 day safari the first impressions looked good.We were greeted with the usual cold towels and drink and then taken to our room.We entered into a cool fully air conditioned 2 bedroom villa. The man gave us the tour bedroom 1 with en-suite then little kitchen area then huge lounge with day bed tv etc then the master bedroom an 8 foot wide deluxe bed and the en-suite double sinks shower separate toilet with bidet and a luxurious bath as well pure luxury! Then showed outside to our garden with loungers and your plunge pool very nice. then the man said and here is a present for your wife 2 sarongs for her birthday and in the fridge there is a card and bottle of bubbly for your anniversary "what a lovely touch" We didn't really want to leave this room but We couldn't wait to get back to the beach well by the time we sat on the reds we were walking towards there were to men 1 armed with 2 towels the other with a large bottle of water in an ice bucket.Do you want to order lunch or go in the restaurant?. Lunch here please we ordered fish and chips it came under silver domes and was presented to us on our beds just as we like it.The next day the manager came to us and said that we could have a private lunch for your celebrations. This was set up on the beach and we had a private waitress at our side for the duration "quality" They truly do go the extra mile here and all the way they have a great big African smile on there face!. The food is outstanding here as are the drinks. The staff and management here get on really well which in my opinion makes it all run as smoothly and perfectly as it does. This is a true gem Wished we had stayed our full 11 nights in Zanzibar here as we did not want to leave!! Thank you All for making our Anniversary/birthday Totally Awesome end to our Perfect Holiday!!! Booked with Lucy@Pure Zanzibar highly recommended. Check out my reviews on the safari and Anna...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buddylove13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We got married just before Christmas and spent our honeymoon here. Unbelievable place - quite simply, paradise on earth! I was persuaded by the travel agent to try this place, and though I was unsure as I really wanted to go to the Caribbean, I'm so glad I listened to her! The food was varied and delicious, and the service from the staff was outstanding. It is quite pricey, but it is a once in a lifetime experience. We went scuba diving, and Stone Town is a fascinating place so well worth a visit. I will be back and will probably take in a safari in Tanzania on the way over first. Finally, I cannot recommend Lisa at Live For Travel enough. Her email address is Lisa@Livefortravel.co.uk so contact her for help with your plans.

Room Tip: All villas are beautiful so you will be spoilt for choice. Book through a good travel agent for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tweedboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Baraza was quite outstanding and thoroughly enjoyed by parents and children (17 and 12) alike. A peaceful setting in beautiful gardens, the villas are large, comfortable and well designed; the service throughout the hotel at the front desk, the bars and restaurants is exemplary (without being 'over the top'); and the quality and variety of the food over a 9 day stay was perfect. We would recommend this hotel to any discerning traveller!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CDHLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Spent nine nights over Christmas as a family of five in a two bed villa. Beautiful setting and very well designed and built resort. My experience of service in Africa has been mixed but here they have clearly spent a lot of effort on training staff.

Food was superb and despite staying for over a week it was never repetitious.

Particular thanks to Samson who looked after us very well.

Would recommend, particularly for families.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fourseasonsplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We are a family of five who recently stayed here for three nights before a safari in Tanzania. Everything is absolutely beautiful. The villas are large and clean with huge bathrooms. The pool setting (near the white sand beach) is gorgeous. The food is fantastic and the service top-notch.

Zanzibar is a wonderful place to settle in after a long trip to Africa (we are from the US) and Baraza is the place to stay. We only wish we had stayed a few more days.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DWurz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
24.8 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#3 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
20.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
36.2 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.2 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
16.3 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 10 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baraza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baraza Resort & Spa

Property: Baraza Resort & Spa
Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Baraza Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful resort evokes the heritage of Zanzibar dating back to the era of the Sultans. A fusion of Arabic, Swahili and Indian design, with beautiful arches, hand carved cement décor, beautiful antiques, hand made furniture and intricate brass lanterns, Baraza offers unparalleled standards of luxury on the Island of Zanzibar. Baraza has set a unique standard of luxury accommodation on the island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baraza Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baraza Resort And Spa
Baraza Hotel Bwejuu
Baraza Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing