We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baraza Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Vermont
1 review
“A perfect spot!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at Baraza for three days after a whirl wind tour of Africa! It was perfect! So relaxing, the food was excellent, and everyone who worked there was so helpful, pleasant, and catered to our every need. We felt so welcomed. The design and decor was beautiful. And the spa is a perfect place to relax and unwind! The massage was the best I have ever had! Thank you Baraza!!

Room Tip: We stayed beach side in the executive suite with our friend. Very private and lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GristMillHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    59
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
229
398
20
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for seven nights after safari and Stone Town. We opted for an ocean view suite which had a great view but offered a little more privacy than the ocean front suites. The suites here are really amazing being very spacious and lavishly furnished, the outdoor plunge pool being a great touch.
All the staff here are very helpful and attentive, food and drinks being of a high standard.
Pre dinner cocktails and nibbles were all very good with dinner often a four /five course affair sometimes alternating with buffet dinners. A good choice of wine was also available with dinner
Overall the hotel was very hard to fault with the only thing we noticed was lack of maintenance on our plunge pool with approx 100 small tiles missing and a few missing in the main pool, however this did'nt spoil our stay in any way. Not a cheap place to stay but if you want somewhere special then we'll worth paying a visit!

Room Tip: Ocean view suites have more privacy than ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marksutton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome/Thessaloniki/NY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was our second time in Zanzibar and this hotel is very impressive. From the service to the decor we felt that we were at a first class hotel. The staff make you feel welcomed and are very attentive. The setting is truly stunning with a sultan inspired design in the midst of a flush tropical landscape. The food was very good both in presentation and taste. The only suggestion I would make would be to somehow conceal the air conditions. Overall a beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting with a high level of service. We definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitra202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed at the Baraza Resort in April for a few days break between Safaris in Kenya/Tanzania and our trip to So. Africa/Zimbabwe/Botswana.

Immediately we were impressed. The design is like a sultan's palace with arched doorways/passthroughs and well manicured garden areal Our son joined us during the first safari so had a two bedroom Villa. Nice furniture, and even your own private dipping pool in addition to a nice sitting room with a pillow filled nook for a good read.

What was most impressive was the outstanding service at this all inclusive resort. They were always available for anything you desire. The food was awesome as well.

Well donel

Room Tip: All of the rooms face in the direction of the ocean, but the ones closest to the beach allow the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamJordan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I've been in many good Hotels in my life, but to be honest, this goes beyond everything i could possibly think. the place is amazing, the construction is taken from a ferry tale... The people that works here makes you feel like a real King ... the attention of Mr Kalei and the wonderful Chef Mr Mayaven Alankalee will make your stay as you were in haven. I've also dive every day, and it was fantastic ...... Thaks to Sun Rise Dive Center .....

Room Tip: all rooms are amazing ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatiasKappes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed here after a busy two weeks touring Cape Town and on Safari so it was a much needed rest. The hotel is beautiful, staff excellent and the food amazing. They have a buffet on two evenings a week, but it is nothing like the buffets I have had before! All main dishes cooked fresh to order and the choices were so extensive you couldn't try them all!
The rooms are beautiful and huge - we worked out that inclucing all the day beds they would sleep 10. Spent our days lounging on our beds by the beach (they are reserved for your villa) and kayaking out to the reef and snorkelling back in - heaven!
Cannot reccommend this hotel enough, already planning to go back!

Room Tip: Although the Ocean front villas are very handy if you need to pop back to your room for something, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caz8096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Wow, wow, wow. Every detail attended to. Stupendous facilities.. Extraordinary spa. Loved the palm weaving experience and bike ride along the beach. Incredible beach BBQ. Wonder dinner beside the pool. Loved the cocktails on the roof top as the sunset. Stunning rooms. A total wow. Dream hotel.

Room Tip: A real bonus to have a sea view beach front villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyGarbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
24.8 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
477 reviews
20.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,533 reviews
36.2 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 6 in Kizimkazi
921 reviews
24.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 10 in Bwejuu
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baraza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baraza Resort & Spa

Property: Baraza Resort & Spa
Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Baraza Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful resort evokes the heritage of Zanzibar dating back to the era of the Sultans. A fusion of Arabic, Swahili and Indian design, with beautiful arches, hand carved cement décor, beautiful antiques, hand made furniture and intricate brass lanterns, Baraza offers unparalleled standards of luxury on the Island of Zanzibar. Baraza has set a unique standard of luxury accommodation on the island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Baraza Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baraza Hotel Bwejuu
Baraza Resort And Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing