We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've reached heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baraza Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

There aren't words to describe the beautiful villa you'll get to stay in here. The private pool is large (when you compare to the sister hotel palms) and the service was top notch. Their kid quarter is to recommend if your traveling as a family!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Leila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was our second stay here and again it was outstanding. The service is exceptional with the staff offering you drinks before you realize you need one! The food is absolutely amazing and I would say that it is michelin star standard every night. The villas are huge and are decorated beautifully. They have large bathrooms, a pretty garden with a plunge pool, a lovely lounge and good sized bedrooms. They often have live music in the evenings whilst you're having drinks in the bar or at dinner. The breakfast buffet is incredible- so much choice including waffles, pastries, cooked breakfast, fruit, continental breakfast, prosecco etc. The SPA is definitely worth a visit - a lovely arabian experience and the beach and pool are also very beautiful. We cannot fault this resort. I would give it 6 stars!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 55Cam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Perfection and attention to detail isn't enough to describe the ultimate of luxury resort hotels. We were looking for a place that can end our honeymoon in style having done lots of safari lodges and tented accommodation. We highly recommend going to the hotel's own spa with Anil leading sunrise yoga class both private and not, also do treat yourself to a Bali 'soul-to-soul' massage (we had a few at a reasonable price).

The set menu meals were high quality and the constant flow of cocktails throughout the day was refreshing and tasty. Sunbeds are spaced out along the beach and the swimming pool, so there is always a feeling of private space.

The villa is HUGE and feels regal in style, watch out for the gardeners though as they trim their bushes right opposite your windows.

Thanks for having us Baraza we hope to come again soon!

Ben & Naomi
-London

Room Tip: Choose a room by the sea for better views, but if not then just go outside and enjoy it anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benandnemz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have spent several months searching ideal location for our honeymoon. Zanzibar and Baraza turned out to be our choice due to its exoticism, location, recommendations, quality and value. Almost everything about this resort was perfect or almost perfect.

Baraza organized very efficient transfer from the airport upon our arrival. After one hour drive we were warmly welcomed by the cold towels and drinks at the lobby, which looked absolutely impressive. Our villa host Nash greeted us and made a quick tour around the resort finishing at our Ocean View Villa.

The interiors of the villa and common areas were absolutely stunning. Everything starting from towels and ending to staff's uniforms were perfectly clean. The resort's landscape was amazing with so many wonderful palms and beautiful gardens.

The pool area was very well maintained as well as the beach where each villa (or almost all of the villas) has reserved sun loungers. The ocean in the beginning of June was warm enough, however not very clean because of some garbage and seaweed.

Service was very attentive and unobtrusive, very often with personal touch. Food was delicious even when we asked for some diet simple meal as steamed rice and chicken. The Beach Menu options with paninis and burgers were to die for, as well as the desserts.

However, despite all the brilliance, there are still a couple of minor things to be improved:
1. the beach is well cleaned by the staff, but when in comes to low-tide plenty of garbage could be found in the ocean. I think the resort may do this extra to clean the sand during low tides, cause plastic bags, bottles etc don't look attractive to the guests making the walks to the reef;
2. one of the biggest problems of the resort is very slow wi-fi connection. It was almost impossible to use Internet sometimes, the connection broke up too often, downloading a movie was a huge issue;
3. Frangipani SPA is very good with two masseuses from Thailand doing their primary job wonderful. However, apart from massages they handled all body treatments, manicures etc. My wide tried manicure and was far from good. Obviously, the resort may afford to increase the number of SPA staff;
4. There is shisha in the resort's bar, but nobody at the hotel can make it properly. They need either to find professional who would train them to make it right or not to offer it at all.

Despite these small cons we would definitely recommend Baraza to everyone. They doesn't make the rating Very Good, it is still Excellent, but if the management handles the described issues properly the resort would be absolutely exceptional.

Special thanks go to Nash, Lucy, Raza and Kalei who did their best to treat us.

A couple of words about the mosquitos, since many people worry about them: there were some in June, but it was not a huge problem. We have got some 4 or 5 bites during 7 nights stay only.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank from_moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Baraza Resort and Spa was the best choice we ever made for our honeymoon. The very picturesque marketing is modest at the very least. The architecture, interiors and layout of the resort is made for luxury. We spent a good seven days there and absolutely enjoyed every moment of our stay. The service was exemplary. The accommodation, perfect. We couldn't get enough of it. Before we arrived we had determined to take on a few tours and cruises in and around zanzibar but the moment we got to the hotel we decided to not bother.. Baraza will keep you in a daze of being spoiled over and over. Their Frangipani spa is second to none. We were there all the time. There's so much to say and so little time. I want to however give special thanks to Kalei and Jemimah who looked after us for the duration of our stay and made it all that extra special. BEST HONEYMOON EVER!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexKaruriNdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were lucky enough to spend 5 nights at Baraza in early June. Everything from check in through to a very sad check out was exceptional.

Although the accommodation, surroundings, food, drinks, facilities & spa were all excellent the outstanding feature of this hotel are the genuinely friendly & attentive staff.

I enjoy exploring different locations each time I travel but I will definitely be back to Baraza.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westy6912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were lucky enough to enjoy a dinner here one night during our stay at Breezes Zanzibar (a sister resort). Baraza was absolutely beautiful! It made me feel like I was transported somewhere in Turkey or Egypt.

The dining room was gorgeous and the food was delicious. I would definitely recommend this resort based on just one dinner. It seemed like the perfect destination for anyone but specifically honeymooners.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
24.8 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
516 reviews
20.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,661 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zawadi Hotel Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
1,017 reviews
36.2 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
655 reviews
6.2 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baraza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baraza Resort & Spa

Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range: £463 - £829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baraza Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful resort evokes the heritage of Zanzibar dating back to the era of the Sultans. A fusion of Arabic, Swahili and Indian design, with beautiful arches, hand carved cement décor, beautiful antiques, hand made furniture and intricate brass lanterns, Baraza offers unparalleled standards of luxury on the Island of Zanzibar. Baraza has set a unique standard of luxury accommodation on the island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Baraza Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baraza Hotel Bwejuu
Baraza Resort And Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing