We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baraza Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baraza Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have just returned from Baraza and it was outstanding. The service especially is exceptional.

Each villa is breathtaking, we are a family of four and had a master bedroom and bathroom with beautiful bath and a shower area. We had a big lounge area with TV and DVDs on tap with a double day bed where we would often find our 13 year old. The boys had a twin room with ensuite shower room. Outside we had a garden with day bed, plunge pool and sun loungers.

The main pool is big and we swam every morning, a necessity when there is so much food on offer! The beach is like a dream, beautiful white sand and warm sea with palm trees surrounding and beautiful weather. In August there is a welcome breeze by the sea taking the edge off of the heat.

The spa treatments we had were wonderful and very reasonably priced.

Before our trip we worried about the tide, would it be ok when the sea was out? It was even better, walking and exploring on the coral was fantastic. There is always a time of day when you can swim in the sea and if you want to take out a canoe or board.

Baraza stands out as the service is truly exceptional, from our villa host Jemima, who I am missing very much, to the restaurant staff who catered to our dietary requirements checking menus with us daily to the front of house staff who helped us more than we could have imagined when our flights changed on our departure day to a time that would have meant we would not get back to the UK.

Baraza sent a member of staff with us to the airport to sort out our problem and ensure we landed in Nairobi for a connecting flight on time. They stayed with us until the tickets were paid for. A stressful situation was made so much easier by having a local with us to negotiate.

We went for seven days which was a little bit too long with two teenage boys but five days would have been perfect. Men have to wear long trousers for dinner, not smart, just long!

One of the most wonderful places we have ever stayed.

Room Tip: Either a beach front villa or a villa on the end of a row closest to the reception side would be our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LilyFro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    56
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
214
377
20
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Baraza is outstanding on all levels but one of the things I liked most about it was it is not that bland 5 star luxury where you could be anywhere, rather you really have the feeling of being in Zanzibar. The food was outstanding. I am usually not a big fan of buffers but the lunch buffets were g=fantastic with a great election of things being cooked to order. We travelled with our 3 kids (14,12 and 9) and they loved the food too and there was always the offer to make them something different if they did not fancy what was being offered. The rooms are so luxurious with lots of space for everybody. Make sure you drag yourself away from the hotel to go snorkelling as the fish was fantastic. We loved our time at Baraza and plan to return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaricum, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

After a 10 day safari trip in mainland Tanzania we (Family with 2 kids) chose the Baraza for the final stage of our Africa trip. What a delight! Great villa's, great food, but foremost great staff. A level that is really top notch. We compare it to Banyan Tree, Six Senses and Oberoi.

Not a bad word.. well maybe the internet could be faster, but that's probably a problem of Zanzibar and not of the hotel.

For sure we'll return. - and yes diving is wonderful there.

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms. all villa's are premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KdJong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This review is a continuation from my previous review of my holiday in zanzibar at Breezes Beach Club and Spa. I had spent 7 nights at breezes and now spent a further 7 nights at baraza to get the whole zanzibar collection experience.

Baraza is something else. The whole hotel is a couple of steps higher in quality. It is themed around the Sultan era of Zanzibar who used to have Barazas (meeting rooms) and you really feel that you are a Sultan.

We arrived from Breezes and first got taken to our room. The rooms are a private 2 bedroom villa that is the size of a very large flat. It feels like you have your own palace with the decorations, the amenities and large rooms. There is also a private plunge pool where you can relax at the end of the day.

Baraza is set up in a way where each guest is be able to access all the amentites and facilities at their own time. I must also mention that everything is all inclusive. There are again private huts on the beach and the pool area that are allocated to certain rooms.

The activities are linked with breezes and therefore you can access all watersports and snorkelling and swimming with the dolphins from the breezes side. I gave more information about my experiences in the breezes review.

The food at baraza is absolutely amazing. I thought that the food at breezes was fantastic but at baraza it is another level. You have similar type of food for breakfast at breezes but the choices are larger. You can even make your own smoothies. Lunch is again a variety of foods with pasta areas, kebab areas, indian vegetarian areas, salad areas and most impressive, the dessert areas. Dinner at baraza is a more high quality a la carte menu with 5 courses and a variety of choices at each course. When the buffet is organised there are almost 20+ dishes with the chefs patrolling the area. If this is not enough for you then you can request to have any type of food prepared for you and the chefs will do it.
The timings around food give you control of when to eat but if you are still feeling hungry after this, you can request to have biting made for you. I requested deep fried calamari rings with sour cream and herb sauce and it arrived fresh in less than 10 minutes. In addition to the food, baraza have their own speciality made alcoholic and non alcoholic cocktails which are perfect throughout the day.

I felt at breezes, the staff cater around you but at Baraza, it feels like you have your own army of people helping you out and not letting you be inconvenienced. The staff are very proffessional and will also deal with any issues you have.

Baraza is a different experience, meant for seclusion and high quality. It is great for couples and families.

It is very difficult to find a complaint and if you visit im sure you will find the same. The zanzibar collection have again outdone themselves.

Room Tip: All rooms are more than imagined so whatever room you get will be exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Romil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Sampled the most awesome virgin beach.Water sport activities a must to enjoy, even for amateurs. Kite surfing, Kayaking, snorkeling in the lagoon, and the cream of it all is the swim with the dolphins. Absolutely stunning resort with the most polite and efficient staff. Excellent ambiance with an abundance of space and privacy. The villas are awesome with its own plunge pool for evening relaxation. My husband and I were treated to the Frangipani spa- thoroughly enjoyed it. The food is exceptionally good with a variety rich for a sultan! My boys had a great time with the water sports and the food. I must commend the service of the resort. We were taken care of at every step.... Definitely visiting again... Fantastic holiday!

Room Tip: We were in the 2 bedroom villa with a plunge pool. Spacious, exteremely clean, can't fault and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123dom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This luxury resort lived up to its reputation. The lavish property is extremely well maintained and the villas are very spacious. Each morning I woke up to a view of the ocean, as I stayed in the ocean front villa. This all-inclusive resort is supported by an army of staff ready to serve your every need. Every time we lounged by the pool or sat at the ocean front lounge chairs and umbrellas the bartender would bring a bucket with bottled water and offer additional drinks from the bar. We also used the spa/workout room. The massage was very good and the gym is adequate.
Breakfast is generally a large, freshly made buffet with an eggs station and smoothie bar. Lunch is usually a five course meal with a selection of three entrees and dinner is closer to a seven course meal with options for the entrée and possible option for appetizer. You can also place a special request for a meal served at the villa or on the beach. There is also a sundowner where guests come and enjoy evening cocktails and appetizers at another bar location on the grounds.
A light security presence was on the grounds and monitoring the beach front area. The beach dwelling merchants would be nudged to keep moving if they stopped for too long a period to offer goods to people. These merchants were not allowed to walk onto the property and therefore left us alone as we laid in the beachfront chairs.
This resort is also very accommodating as we came in early and had a late departure. There were no issues/additional charges with us using the facilities and receiving meals/drinks as we waited for our room to be ready (we arrived at 10 AM) and we were provided the room until our departure, at 3 PM. Basically, once on the resort grounds, I was treated like royalty.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJulien1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
103 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Set up reminds a American resort in Arabic style say a 4seaons...if you look beyond for character need to somewhere else impersonal . The beach is great and buildings extremely wells maintained . In short a top beach resort with great service , impersonal , us like, no feel of Zanzibar . Villas are good ...however don't count on a top restaurant food is imitation of western cuisine and not original .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank toversti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
24.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
20.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
36.2 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.2 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
16.2 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 6 in Kizimkazi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baraza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baraza Resort & Spa

Property: Baraza Resort & Spa
Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Baraza Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful resort evokes the heritage of Zanzibar dating back to the era of the Sultans. A fusion of Arabic, Swahili and Indian design, with beautiful arches, hand carved cement décor, beautiful antiques, hand made furniture and intricate brass lanterns, Baraza offers unparalleled standards of luxury on the Island of Zanzibar. Baraza has set a unique standard of luxury accommodation on the island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Baraza Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baraza Resort And Spa
Baraza Hotel Bwejuu
Baraza Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing