We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible hotel, Wonderful Service, Total Bliss” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baraza Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baraza Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible hotel, Wonderful Service, Total Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

There is definitely something special about Baraza...it is not just the beautiful architecture, spectacular beach or the lovely smiles that seemed to be on everyones faces that made us love it...It is a very personal place with so much character. I am surprised to see the below review since we really had a wonderful time from start to finish and find it hard to find fault with anything. The Villas are beautiful and well laid out with loads of space and our own plunge pool. Our villa host took care of us from start to finish with an exceptional attention to detail. Overall we thought the food was excellent, with a great variety every evening. I especially enjoyed the Swahili Night where we got to try the local specialities. The spa has to be one of the best I have ever seen and the treatments and massages I had were world class. Thank you for restoring my aching post safari back! Baraza is a stunning property on an incredible beach and I truly cannot recomend it enough. Thanks to all who made our stay so special.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippyluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    56
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
214
377
20
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

Quite simply one of the best Hotel Experiences we have ever had. Wonderful position, beautiful Hotel, Great staff and people, superb food and beverage, very laid back and most relaxing.

Tip. If you want to see Stone Town it is worth doing it on the way to or from the airport or possibly staying one night on arrival or departure in Zanzibar

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bradsoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2010

I use Tripadvisor a lot and most of the time the reviews are pretty accurate. However with regards to this hotel they are not - be aware. I booked this hotel after reading some of the reviews and my husband and I were very disappointed.

First of all the cleanliness of this place is dubious. We were shown our oceanfront villa and at first glance it looked clean. Imagine our disgust and shock at finding a used preservative (i.e. male birth control method - not to be too graphic on this site) on the day bed of our villa. Our villa host was thankfully just as mortified and offered to move us. We had the highest grade in room so we were not offered an upgrade but we were glad at least they moved us. But this really tainted our view of the place - how clean can the place be if this is overlooked?

The food at this place was not good. We stay in 5 star hotels around the world and don't mind paying high prices for good food. But this place tried to be too complicated with the food they served - the result being that the food was very hit and miss. On one occasion the fish was very dry, on another occasion the combination of flavors were not good. The salad was always a little soggy and limp. The breakfast selection was not that good either. And for some reason on every dish there was a curious splash of red sauce no matter what the dish was. Apparently the chef is from Mauritius and they were trying to make the meals have a French flavor but the the results were not up to par. The times when the food was decent was when it was a simple dish like grilled fish. At these prices we were disappointed especially since the menus for lunch and dinner were set menus so we did not have much choice.

The pool and beach loungers didn't have cushions so they were quite uncomfortable to sit of for too long a period. There also seemed to be no beach service or simple touches like offering pieces of fruit or water spritzers like on other similarly priced hotels.

The water sports center had to coordinate everything with its cheaper sister property Breezes which meant that my husband had his kite surfing cancelled due to the instructor being busy with Breezes guests. Also the dive center at Breezes was sub-par. The equipment was not that good and the dive master couldn't find the first dive site resulting in that we did not see anything. We were disappointed with the diving which is surprising as Zanzibar is known to have good diving.

The beach was always full of seaweed and so was the ocean. The beach was pretty but for a supposedly 5 star resort you would think they would remove the seaweed from the beach in front of the property. Apparently depending on when you go the ocean is full of sea urchins and you cannot even swim. We did not have this issue but its good to check.

My husband and I had massages at the spa. While its a beautiful building the therapists were not great. They were nice but we were both not impressed with the massage quality compared to other spas we have been to.

In summary, the property itself is very pretty and the staff is nice but we felt very ripped-off. The prices they charge are by no means justified.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Abac72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

Baraza is a stunning resort, like a sultans palace and its staff do everything to make your holiday special!

Staff
The staff at Baraza are great, they give Baraza a personal touch that goes far beyond just being a voice on the phone or a service attendant at a meal time- they truly care and want to make your stay wonderful from the moment you arrive to the time you leave.

Accommodation
The accommodation at Baraza is exceptional! The Zanzibar Sultan palace like villas are luxurious, spacious and beautifully designed. Each villa has a lovely patio with a plunge pool. For couples there are reserved beach loungers away from the activities area so that you can enjoy your privacy.

Food
The food at Baraza is superb. The Lunch buffets have a wonderful spread and dinners are amazing. If you’re not happy with the menu, the chef is very happy to prepare something to your liking.
I was impressed with the variety and freshness of the food. The tropical fresh juice selection for breakfast is amazing.

Spa
The spa is beautifully designed, serene and tranquil. We enjoyed going to the spa at Baraza which was just beautiful. The spa has its own swimming pool and lounge area which was great.

Service:
The service at Baraza is absolutely world class,- smiling, friendly, warm, interesting and professional attitude from the guys meeting you at the airport to the head chef and management who quietly walks around and check if you are having a great time.

Overall, Baraza is an elegant resort with beautiful touches of Zanzibar décor. It is serene and gives you a perfect getaway. The place is great for both families and couples-you don’t feel crowded and can get your own privacy. The beaches are beautiful and clean.

We had a wonderful time at Baraza-this is truly a beautiful place and I would recommend you visit!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grimbergen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

Our stay in baraza was a fairytale...
from the first minute you feel like a princess and prins living in this 1001 arabian nights fairytale.The hotel,rooms,villas,restaurants are very spacious,clean,beautifull constructed and overwelmed with a serene,sultan,arabian,atmosphere.
Eye for detail....everywhere...colors,flowers,design,music in the pool,small personalised room messages,...staff and service...excellent !!!
Food...amazing...every plate,breakfast,lunch ,dinner was a culinary,highstandard feast.
A very professional watersportclub,a super relaxing spa,romantic beaches,top food,an heaven-on-earth-resort !!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quepasakapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

Baraza Resort and Spa took my breath away. When I booked Baraza I knew I was in for a special treat, but from the moment I arrived till I had to depart, Baraza consistently exceeded my expectations. The resort is amazing with every attention to detail. The service was very personal and the best I have experienced yet. The staff was amazing and took pride in what they did. The atmosphere spelt romance and beauty set in amazing architecture and décor that was truly out of this world. We experienced the true magic of Zanzibar at Baraza. It seems that Baraza was put together out of pure passion and love, which is reflected in the design, the atmosphere, the service and the food. We didn’t want to leave.... We found paradise.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2009

The best hotel on the island. Maybe costs a bit more than the others, but totally worth it. Huge rooms/villas with a private plunge pool out back. Totally private if you want it to be or social at the pool. The food and drink were amazing. As was the setting on the Indian Ocean.

Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
24.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
20.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
36.2 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.2 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
16.2 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 6 in Kizimkazi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baraza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baraza Resort & Spa

Property: Baraza Resort & Spa
Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Baraza Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful resort evokes the heritage of Zanzibar dating back to the era of the Sultans. A fusion of Arabic, Swahili and Indian design, with beautiful arches, hand carved cement décor, beautiful antiques, hand made furniture and intricate brass lanterns, Baraza offers unparalleled standards of luxury on the Island of Zanzibar. Baraza has set a unique standard of luxury accommodation on the island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Baraza Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baraza Resort And Spa
Baraza Hotel Bwejuu
Baraza Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing