We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bellevue Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 14 Bwejuu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Bellevue is a true gem! For couples and single travellers alike. They even have a special room for newlyweds!

The staff is great and helpful, the food is good, the rooms are clean and free of mosquitoes. I have travelled plenty and it's hard to find a better guesthouse than Bellevue anywhere in the world.

Bellevue is a great base to explore Zanzibar. The location, a short carride away from any bars or more busy places like Paje Beach gives you the sense of a second home away from home.

A must is the weekly Swahili dinner. As you arrive at the guesthouse, you´ll find a few fish on a stick, slowly smoked untill perfection above a campfire. All the food of this shared dinner with all the guests is fantastic. To top it off: an afterdinner-campfire on the beach.

I just fell in love with the place and the people that work that. After my first visit, I just had to go back. Not only for kitesurfing on Zanzibar but also for the Bellevue and its staff.

Room Tip: There are different rooms to choose from. The jungleroom looks great but I never stayed there. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

bellevue is an amazing place with a great vibe....the hostes are very nice, and I went out with them sometimes. The most beatifull place was the Kai Funk Bar....an amazing beachbar in the middle of nowhere...The food was great and the rooms where clean and nice....I can really recommend this place!

Room Tip: all the rooms are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Me and my wife had a very good stay in Bellevue!

The (dutch) hosts are very friendly and they will help you with all the lovely things you can do on the island as Kiteboarding, snorkling, renting a scooter and SUP-ing. The bungalows are clean and the food is good.

We stayed for a little over a week and we were very sad to go off to our Safari in the Serengeti (which was also very good BTW).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmileDelaHaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We enjoyed much our stay at Bellevue guesthouse and were very satisfied with our choice, and the services and price/quality ratio offered. The room is pleasant and clean, and the terrace where one can eat and relax is wonderfully done. The staff is friendly and helpful, and importantly, the food is very tasty. A great plus is the offer of real coffee (and not instant coffee) at breakfast in the morning. Also, the beach is only 2-3 minutes walking from the guesthouse, and though the coast suffers from high/low tide, one can easily enjoy the sea for a considerable chunk of the day. We highly recommend Bellevue for a relaxing time in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serbanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Bellevue is a a good clean nicely decorated relaxed and friendly option. The staff were all friendly, all the plumbing worked which is quite something for Zanzibar. The beds were comfortable the snorkeling at Blue lagoon an hours walk away was good ...but for how long no one knows with the locals netting fish in amongst the corals while you snorkel ....
The restaurant was the only disappointment and one would think with them having only a few choices (which all sounded good) each night that the food would be good but it wasn't and we all felt it to be overpriced.
There are other places to eat within walking distance though.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to eat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank payback21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We spent just two days here, loved it! Not the best beach for swimming but the guest house is stunning. Nestled in the bush, full of character and very peaceful. The food was excellent and the staff super nice. They offer a huge range of activities too and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodesireesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We have had a very good time and stay in this guesthouse in March 2013. The staff is wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The place itself is beautiful, clean and serene. The food is quite good, although not very special and very much overpriced. The special rooms (e.g., jungle) are really very special and totally worth the extra price. I found the regular rooms quite dark and especially the bathroom a bit run down, which gives you the feeling it is not clean. If you want to have an unforgetable stay, book one of the special rooms!
All in all, the service, the surroundings and beautiness of the place will make you forgot its weaker points. I would recommend this place (and advice you to have dinner/lunch at one of the neighboring guesthouses/restaurants).

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank T_Koomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
0.2 mi away
Evergreen Bungalows
Evergreen Bungalows
#6 of 10 in Bwejuu
86 reviews
8.4 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
261 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Indigo Beach Zanzibar
Indigo Beach Zanzibar
#2 of 14 in Bwejuu
194 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sahari Zanzibar
Sahari Zanzibar
#1 of 14 in Bwejuu
264 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pakachi Beach Hotel
Pakachi Beach Hotel
#4 of 38 in Jambiani
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Guesthouse

Address: Bwejuu Street | Stone Town, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bwejuu
Price Range: £40 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellevue Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the hospitality in our cosy Guesthouse, north of Bwejuu, on the southeast coast of Zanzibar! The area of our guesthouse is a great place to relax and just 50 meters away from the beach. Wake up every morning with the beautiful sunrise and a fresh fruit juice. Discover the delicate food from our restaurant. With local fresh sea food and other fresh ingredients we serve local and international orientated dishes on a daily changing menu!Enjoy our green garden, where you read your book in the lounge area, hammocks or on your own private terrace. Take a nice relaxing walk on the stretched white beaches, and enjoy the spectacular colors and tide changes of the ocean.After you done relaxing go for a kitecourse on the amazing beach and waters of Paje. If this is too hectic let our professional tour guide mr. Mussa reveals Zanzibar's secrets in a Spice Tour, Stone Town City tour or a Dolphin Tour. Go on a Safari Blue, Sea Safari or let our partners take you on their professional organised dive and snorkel trips.We support the local NGO, by organising the Sea Safari where this income directly benefits the local projects organised by the NGO.Bellevue is a small personal Guesthouse, we hope to give you a homy feeling...There is always staff around or one of our management to assist you with any question you may have!Karibu Sana!Melanie & the Bellevue staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bellevue Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Bwejuu
Bellevue Guesthouse Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing