We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highest Quality Around”
Review of Anna of Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anna of Zanzibar
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highest Quality Around”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Anna of Zanzibar is truly an amazing place. The food is excellent and the service is impeccable. Everything about the place is breath taking and I highly recommend it to everyone. The staff did a wonderful job of taking care of us during our stay and consider this place to be top notch. Thank you for the memories.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeg10nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    10
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
136
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed at Anna's for the last week of our honeymoon, and could not have been happier with our choice of hotel and location. The concept is great - the five villa setup ensures a small number of guests and plenty of personal attention from hosts and staff. The service is tailor made to fit individual needs and fancies, we loved to be able to decide what, when and where to eat.

Our villa was tastefully furnished and spacious. The pictures on Anna's website do not quite give it justice. The location is beautiful, complete with almost-deserted paradisical white sand beach. The food was excellent - and plentiful! Great choice of home made food made with fresh local ingredients. I particularly enjoyed the seafood BBQ. But what impressed us the most was the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff. We took their smiles home with us! Nikki and Michael were great hosts, and made sure we were well looked after.

I stay a lot at upmarket, but generic business hotels during the year, and wanted something different for our honeymoon. Anna's has all the luxuries but with personal warmth, and was the perfect choice for us.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Swixpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed 4 nights at Anna's at the conclusion of our 5 week honeymoon travelling around East Africa. The service was impeccable as the staff were very customer focused, kind and polite, but what we appreciated was that they were also very down to earth and genuine. There were fresh flowers left in the room every day and it was so nice coming back from dinner to find the bed turned down. The decor was fabulous, while the food was some of the best we'd eaten on our trip and it was great to have multiple appealing choices for each course.

With only 5 cottages, it is up to you to make what you will of any socialising with the other guests. If you want time to yourselves, then Anna's is perfect for that, but if you want a bit more social interaction, then opportunities can be a little limited. In saying that, we met a lovely German couple who we ended up chatting with and having a drink with most evenings.

Overall, we loved our stay at Anna's and can highly recommend it is a honeymoon destination or just a beautiful place to come and chill out. Walking along the beach, there were a fair few other resort options visible in Bwejuu but we were always glad at the end of our walk to be returning to Anna's and it's intimate surroundings and wonderful service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SliceOfBevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Michael and his new assistant Nikki run this small but beautiful resort so well. With only 4 villas (the 5th one opening in the summer) you couldn't be more cared for. All the staff have a willing attitude and a smile as they greet you. Anything you want isn't too much trouble. The food is wonderful - every meal is a feast, with a choice for each of the 3 courses. Dennis and his blue book appears after breakfast so you can choose what you want to eat for lunch and again in the afternoon for dinner. Dinner by the pool under the stars is wonderful. Walk the beach to work of some of the food, it's soft white sand stretching 30 miles to the south! The bedrooms are all airconditioned, we took our 15 year old daughter and they put a double bed in the airconditioned sitting room just for her. The maids took great care each day making the rooms up with hibiscus flowers and jasmine arranged beautifully through out the room. We stayed for 7 nights and could have stayed for more. A beautiful place for rest and relaxation after the hectic time on safari.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah503775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Zanzibar is often referred to as the jewel of the East African coast...the spice island with a dark history
As part of a short trip, we took in a 3 day safari in Tanzania and then 4 days on Zanzibar
The whole trip was organised by the excellent Jim Forrest of Zanzibar Direct www.zanzibardirect.uk.com .
Jim knows the Island well so we took his recommendation of Anna of Zanzibar.....and we were not disappointed in any way

Anna sits on a stunning coral beach that is 30km long with only a handful of small hotels on it. Whilst this isn't the Maldives where you can often plunge straight onto the reef , it is still beautiful. The lagoon is flat ancient coral that goes out about 800 meters to the reef edge, so there is a fun plodge in rubber shoes to be had at low tide.
This didn't bother us at all...we are Indian Ocean ites and every Ocean environment is just teaming with life. If you want a snorkel its just a short trip out

Anna is actually 4 small villas built to a very high standard in their own grounds with a central villa area with bar, library, and internet area if you have to !
Villa in this sense...think....not Spanish style but more Moroccan/African , Middle eastern...with lots of wood ...all very tasteful
The food is FAB !! and the beauty is ...you can have it anywhere...on your veranda, by the pool , on the beach , in the villa,
Masses of lovely seafood and fish, pretty reasonable wine ...you will neither go hungry nor dry here !
All the food is freshly prepared for you for every meal....its like having a personal al la carte menu at your disposal !

The whole area is set in gardens with a lovely pool and open beach front ....and ...its exclusive...four villas means only eight people max here....bliss
And dont worry about the beach traders ...the really smart thing thats happened here is that the authorities have licensed a few huts (you cant really call them shops) on the beach...the owners move any (and they were only a handful) illegal traders on very quickly !

The staff were all a delight....all pleasant and always with big smiles.
Be clear on your choice of food from the menu.....confusion can occur ;-) but nothing that cant be fixed
Michael was away but in his absence Petra did a fine job of making sure everyone was content

Overall...this was a great way to chill out after the intensity on Safari !

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swimwithturtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We came from ten days of game parks to relax at Anna's What a pleasure. Indiviual cottages (only 4!!) are spacious and nicely appointed. The facilitiy is right on the Indian ocean. Wonderful pool. The dining experience was superlative. All meals served outside, including a fish grille night and a Zanzibar eat-with-your-hands night. Management and staff very friendly. Good wine. Service was excellent. Pamper yourselves; this is the place to do it!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

I cannot recommend Anna of Zanzibar, as well as Michael and the rest of his staff, highly enough. My boyfriend and I spent eight blissful days here in late January to escape winter and recover from a stressful few months, and it was exactly what we needed to recharge our batteries. The location was gorgeous and the service absolutely impeccable - everyone was so friendly and accommodating, particularly with the food (I'm a relatively picky eater!) which was delicious. I was slightly disappointed by the beach - I didn't realize it was so tidal, and the seaweed all over the sand and in the water wasn't very attractive - but the hotel more than compensated, and overall Bwejuu was beautiful. If you don't drink very much like me, perhaps you don't quite get your money's worth on the all-inclusive front, but I was happy to pay the price for everything else we did get. For a fuller account, including photos, of my trip, please see this link: http://thefightandflightresponse.wordpress.com/2011/02/10/destination-zanzibar/

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cshorens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
24.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#3 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
35.9 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
19.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
KonoKono Beach Resort
KonoKono Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Michamvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 10 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baraza Resort & Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna of Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna of Zanzibar

Property: Anna of Zanzibar
Address: South East Coast, Bwejuu 3185, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anna of Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private and exclusive boutique hotel with 5 superb villas only. Situated on the east coast of Zanzibar with a beautiful beach. Swimming pool, spa, bar, restaurant with superb seafood. Activities include diving, fishing, boat trips and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Anna of Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Of Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Anna Of Zanzibar Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing