We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best family vacation ever!”
Review of Anna of Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anna of Zanzibar
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Bwejuu
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best family vacation ever!”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We are a family of 4 with 2 kids (aged 2 and 7) in October and had a great vacation. Anna of Zanzibar is entriely unlike the big resorts you could otherwise stay at. It has 5 roomy bungalows, an amazing location right on the beach, the best food (and seafood) and super friendly and always atentive staff. Michael and Niccy looked after us so well and catered to our every need including the kids. The food was excellent and Michael organised a sitter every night so we could enjoy adult only dinners - that is truly being on vacation! The garden, pool and beach environment is picture perfect and the bungalows which was converted into a 2 bedroom set up fitted us perfectly. It was pricey for us but worth every penny.

Room Tip: All bungalows are nice but some are more on the beach than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amw48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    10
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
136
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We recently spent 5 days at Anna of Zanzibar. Our goal was to get over jetlag and relax in a beautiful beach environment after our long trip from California before setting off to game reserves on the mainland. And what a perfect spot Anna turned out to be! With only 5 villas, we never felt crowded and we were able to build relationships with the excellent staff and the two resort doggies, Mr. Bean and puppy Lilly. The manager, Niccy, was extremely helpful with anything we needed. As you can read from other posts, the food was great and the villas were large and comfortable. A big thumbs up in every way!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted UK
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We have just returned from Anna of Zanzibar after seven wonderful nights there following a Gorilla trek in Rwanda. The property is spectacular, the food mouthwatering and the service outstanding. Anna of Zanzibar is located on one of the best beaches in the whole of Zanzibar mile upon mile of white sand, with that wonderful sound of the waves breaking on the distant reef. I have been to many places around the world but this is the first one to inspire me to sit down at my computer and write a review. Thank you to all of the team that looked after Mel and myself so very well.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dfurnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My girlfriend and I spent 9 days at Anna of Zanzibar. The villa was in a picturesque location only metres from the beach. The villa was beautifully furnished with bespoke furniture and beds. The staff were highly attentive, without being over the top. The food was freshly prepared with a daily changing 3 course menu for lunch and dinner. The fresh fish and execution of the cooking was very high. Niccy, the manager, was generous with her time and very helpful when organising our trip to Stone Town. I would highly recommend this to people who want their own privacy in a beach location. All in all, a faultless stay in a beautiful boutique hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed at Anna of Zanzibar in September 2011. At first just fell in love with the place, since looked really beautiful and since there are only 5 bungalows not crowdy at all (you see hardly anybody except for the staff).
Food was amazing, pool - not a big one, but deep; room - big bungalow, tons of space for the luggage, aircon.
Down-sides - beach - it's impossible to swimm since the bottom is covered with corals and sea urchins.
Laundry - $4 for trousers? But alright, we just returned from a safari and wanted to wash our clothes before we head off to Kilimajaro. Trousers returned back still dirty, one tantop was missing.
Surprising that for that price you still have to pay for the cocktails/spirits etc.
Internet is terribly slow.
Activities - nothing was offered. We wanted to do some kite surfing and were sent somewhere down the beach to the watersports center. Ended up going to Paje by Night where our friends stayed and surfed there.

So overall experience - it's very nice and quiet place and perfect for those who's willing to escape from the Zanzibar madness, but a bit too expensive for what it offeres.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Passs_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Surpassed expectations. Ultimate relaxation. All thanks to the professional staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfjozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed here for a week and really enjoyed being here. The food is great, the staff friendly and flexible, and the management very capable of running the place (during our stay there was a wedding of a Russian couple and the manager made sure it did not interfere with service to other guests). We managed to fully recharge our personal "batteries". Thanks:-)

Room Tip: Because of the birds, we decided not to have breakfast on the veranda of our own villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirkjan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
24.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
477 reviews
35.9 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
612 reviews
19.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
KonoKono Beach Resort
KonoKono Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Michamvi
403 reviews
13.7 mi away
Tulia Zanzibar Unique Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Baraza Resort & Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Bwejuu
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna of Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna of Zanzibar

Property: Anna of Zanzibar
Address: South East Coast, Bwejuu 3185, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anna of Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private and exclusive boutique hotel with 5 superb villas only. Situated on the east coast of Zanzibar with a beautiful beach. Swimming pool, spa, bar, restaurant with superb seafood. Activities include diving, fishing, boat trips and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Anna of Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Of Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Anna Of Zanzibar Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing