We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can I say..amazing hosts, food and beach..wish we never left”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows
Ranked #7 of 13 Bwejuu B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“What can I say..amazing hosts, food and beach..wish we never left”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This place was awesome! My husband and I went with our 7 and 9 year old sons and 16 year old nephew (they shared one bungalow and we had our own right next to it). We had the place and beach to ourselves. We rode bikes up the beach (about 25 minutes) to Paje and came back as fast as we could because Bwejuu was way cooler and more peaceful -- Paje is a bit of a scene. The food was so good we never ate anywhere else and they even gave us a cooking class and took us to market in Stonetown to get all the spices to take back with us. The guys running the Upepo -- Patrick, Rhasta and Silam(?) were great and could not have been nicer and more enjoyable to be around. Mellow, peaceful place -- no one bothered us and we felt safe. Best spot in Zanibar -- quiet beautiful beach where we swam all day with the kids, great food and hosts, wouldn't stay anywhere else....unless of course you're looking for the disco, pool-side party scene.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    12
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
41
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juba, South Sudan
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2012

The location of Upepo, it's simplicity and it's vibe takes you to find the peace and silence that you need to recharge your batteries
the food is amazing and the crew is super friendly and always worried to make your stay better
all you have to care about is....nothing

Room Tip: when you book ask for the bungalow that's closer to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Upepo is on a deserted stretch of beach at Bwejuu on the eastern coast of Zanzibar. While the accomodation are pretty modest, this was maybe our favourite place we stayed in two weeks on Zanzibar. Rasta & Patrick, who run the place, were super friendly, funny & easy going. The food was the freshest and most delicious we ate on our trip and I am still dreaming about the octopus masala!!
If you needed to be entertained then this is not the place for you, however if paradise is a stretch of white sand, a cold beer, some freshly caught & cooked seafood and some solitude with your better half then Upepo will make you smile.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrynNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2012

After 6 nights in Stone Town, Upepo was a great place to wind down for my last night in Zanzibar. My friend and I had spent our time in Stone Town touring everyday and for the last night, we stayed at Upepo. We called Upepo before we left our hotel and we were giving great directions to give to the taxi driver in case he had trouble finding it.

We found it with no problem and we were immediately helped with our bags upon arriving. We changed into swimsuits and sat on the beach (low tide) and relaxed for the day. The owner was friendly but not overly chatty. I was really impressed when she asked if we wanted fish for dinner and then walked out to a fisherman making his way up the beach and arranged to purchase fish from him then and there.

Dinner was excellent!! I understand her fiance (husband?) did the cooking and we had no complaints. Of course, there was a power outage that evening, and there was no explanation (I now understand that it was "understood"). But the owner made sure that our path was lit to find our bungalow and that we had a lamp for it.

Sure the water was cold and the bathroom was basic, but it's a beach bungalow!! While I didn't enjoy the cold water at the time, I look back on the experience and wouldn't trade it for the world!

Breakfast was excellent!! And the best thing about it all!! The price was unbelievable!! I kept thinking that we were misquoted or that I misunderstood, so I came prepared to pay more. But the bill was as quoted and the menu prices were more than fair for the food and service received!

I would definitely return!!

P.S. I think a previous reviewer had different expectations of the type of lodging this was. She wanted dinner instantaneously for her kids and was sore about not receiving the birthday cake she wanted. Although better communication about what the capabilities are at the resort may have solved the problem with the birthday cake (did she think they would be able to go to Safeway grocery store for a box of chocolate Duncan Hines cake mix in Bwejuu?), the reviewer should take into account the accommodations she is accustomed to as well as the speed at which she expects meals presented, and, in the future, book accordingly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norrkoping, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We spent 5 days at Upepo in mid May after safari in northern Tanzania. Perfect location and bungalows, almost no people around at the end of the rain season. Amazing staff Patrick, Jaha and Hassan - very nice and friendly guys providing the best service. Seafood they cooked is very delicious. It was really nice to chat with the guys in bar with a bottle of beer. Relaxing atmosphere, like home, one never gets such atmosphere in big hotels. One evening they took us to night club in the nearest village, unforgettable memories. I definitely think to come again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grigory N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bujumbura, Burundi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We spent 5 days at Upepo with our two young boys -- it was just what we needed as a break from some hard work in Burundi. Granted we're used to African traveling. But we found the accomodations clean and carefully prepared, though simple. The food was amazing. Great use of flowers everywhere for an exotic touch of beauty. The staff were friendly and helpful and available. They made it easy to do various Zanzibar excursions without a lot of stress. The beach is beautiful. Yes, the tide does go out a long way, but that makes it very interesting at low tide to explore with children BUT DON"T FORGET YOUR RUBBER SOLED SHOES!!! Next time I would bring snorkle gear for the in-between tide -- amazing little creatures to see down there. We could have stayed longer, just to relax and not do excursions, but alas, worked called!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at Upepo, part way through a 6 week tour of East Africa. Everything about our stay was perfect.

The staff were friendly and helpful, but not intrusive. The bungalow was beautifully prepared: clean, and with lovely, welcoming touches such as flowers on the beds.

The food was the best we had in Africa, with a good variety of meals and snacks (including vegetarian & vegan options). All of the food was as fresh as it was possible to be (literally, fresh off the trees and out of the sea that day), and was prepared perfectly.

The location was lovely, with the classic Zanzibar beaches, palm trees, and the opportunity to walk on the sea-bed (with decent footwear, which the staff kindly provided for us as we hadn't got our own!) at low tide.

The staff at Upepo managed to organise all the activities we had time for (it was only a short stay, and we wanted to spend some time enjoying the beach!) - they gave us good advise on the best times to do things, and organised everything quickly and efficiently for us.

All in all, one of the best places we stayed. If ever we go back to Zanzibar, we'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bwejuu hotels
0.3 mi away
Evergreen Bungalows
Evergreen Bungalows
#6 of 10 in Bwejuu
86 reviews
1.1 mi away
Indigo Beach Zanzibar
Indigo Beach Zanzibar
#2 of 13 in Bwejuu
174 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sahari Zanzibar
Sahari Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Bwejuu
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 10 in Bwejuu
280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
1.8 mi away
Baraza Resort & Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Bwejuu
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows

Property: Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows
Address: Bwejuu Village beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows offers the convenience of a hotel with private bungalows on the beach and a great breakfast included in the price. Set on a long white sand beach on the East Coast of Zanzibar, we offer a quiet safe environment to relax. Enjoy opportunities for snorkeling, diving, kite-surfing, or rent a bike and explore on your own. Our restaurant uses fresh local ingredients and serves Zanzibar dishes as well as International favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing