We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely vacation at Makuti” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Makuti Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Makuti Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Bwejuu B&B and Inns
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely vacation at Makuti”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had an amazing stay at Makuti. The owners are unbelievably warm and welcoming, they truly made us feel at home. The resort is beautiful, the rooms are as close as you can get to the water and are beautifully decorated. The entire staff is amazing and we felt like we could get good, reliable advise from each and every one of them, regarding tourist attractions and so on. The beach is great, the water is nice and warm and its great to do a nice walk on the tide during the day. We loved the restaurant and we felt like the menu provided a great variety of dishes (also very yummy pizza and some sea food) for a cheap price. I am a vegetarian and there were plenty of vegetarian dishes, the cook was also willing to make me some fresh salad. To sum it all up, the vacation was truly amazing! the place is lovely and we would recommend it to all of our family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    24
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
23
64
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Loved our time at Makuti in mid-August. Stunning beach, secluded location, friendly staff, delicious breakfast and meals. Our house was right on the beach, with beautiful white sand! Would recommend it to anyone visiting the east side of Zanzibar!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callum H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarragona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We visited Makuti Beach Hotel in july. We found the best beach there, in a bungalow in front of the sea, sleaping earing the sound of the sea. The personal, the bungalows, Mabel and Peter, the food, all special and very good. The village near to the hotel very authentic and secure. Peter give us information about excursions and it was fantastic all that we does. We come again soon, with all the family because it's a good place to you with children. We recomend you!!!!

Room Tip: In fornt of the sea is better for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmarosellc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Great service and accommodation for the budget traveller! Clean, simple and autherntic

was a bit difficult to find, however we got there in the end and what a beautiful location. Waking up and falling asleep to the sound of the indian ocean waves- bliss!

First of all the owner was very helpful and informative about the area. The rooms are very tastefully decorated with local wooden/weaved shelving/closet areas. For two people the room was adequately sized and as it was low season we were facing the beach, however from what we can see all the rooms are ON the beach and fantastic. You can hear the waves as you are directly on the beach.

Beach sea was warm and great for a stroll, as we walked along there were other bars/cafes and BBs. In the morning there is low tide and locals can be seen collecting seaweed and fishing.

We only stopped overnight as we then visited Jozani forest, so didn't get to experience the beach in the afternoon.

Breakfast was basic but adequate and perfect for the price. We also paid for an evening meal which actually turned out to be one of the best in the entire of zanzibar island (we travelled the whole island so can compare)! It was a veg pizza and beef skewars. We really wen't expecting a great pizza but wow it was fantastic, tasty and just so unexpected! Finally at night the electricity will go out however staff are on hand with lanterns, candles etc and it's actually quite romantic.

Wish we would have stayed here longer though!

Room Tip: Get a room directly facing the beach so you can fall asleep and wake up the sound of the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank famulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We have spent 5 nights in Makuti some time ago. Very nice hotel, clean, good location, great owners Mabel and Peter, very helpfull, friendly, etc. All our stay was simply perfect. I can definetly recomend this to every traveler. Thank You so much!

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice, all very close to beach, no difference, which one You will select.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aivaras_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

I was in Makuti beach bungalows in november 2012 and these is mi unforgettable experience:
I arrive at 7 in the morning to the Zanzibar airport,landing at 7 and at 7,15 the driver of makuti waiting for me.

We got direction to Bwejuu,the road is realy good for driving you can cross realy nice places,full of nature and nice villages were the people greeting to you and smiling,you realy feel you are a star in paradise.

In half part of the trip to Bwejuu you can arrive to the monkies reserve,you can see monkeis in both sides of the road.

30 minutes from the airport and we arrive to destinathion.

Here is Makuti beach.First person can recive mee is mister Manga the manager of the hotel,reali nice person,after we became realy good friends,he show mee my bungalow,mi house for 30 days.

Y stay in the new makuti premier bungalow i am the first person wo sleep in there.Fantastic and very confortable,everithink you need is in there.Television,air conditioning,royal bed,nice bathroom,and so on.

30 minutes after mi arriving i meet whith owners of the hotel for explain mee how is the life in there and what i can do for have a great time there.

Mister Peter and Mabel are very special persons they make you so confortable like you are in your home.So gently and everithink you need is not a problem for these fantastic staff.

I agree whith Peter to go fishing in few days,and he tell mee that is possible to go tomorrow morning,so i can prepare mee for first adventure.

6 in the morning,Peter waiting for mee on the beach whith the boat whith captain cognaghi a realy special captain,he knows every place for fishing any kind of fish.We start fishing under the reef and in few minutes we cathc the first barracuda,puff these is a paradise for fishermans,in the begining 3 hours we can cathc 4 barracudas one giant trevalli and one peto wahoo.

I realy have a good time the rest of my holydays here; very quiet place and many interesting thinks to do,the ocean is fantastic,the food realy healthy and Peter and Mabel so frendly.

I want to come back soon in my next holydays.

Thanks to all the staff from Makuti.Mabel,Peter,Manga,Toshi (mister supu)Magia,Balzu (full moon)Nangi(he speak realy good spanish)and all the people make mi holydays a real dream.

Marcello

Room Tip: Makuti premier are a realy lovely place to stay alone or whith famili.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxnsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

After reading all the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor and the #1 Budget choice recommendation it has clocked up, I decided to book Makuti for a 4 day getaway.

Whilst we had a pleasurable time there, I struggled to work out why all this high praise had been heaped upon it. The Makuti is a very standard beach bungalow experience. The rooms are clean, the beachfront is kept tidy and the amenities are sufficient. But there's nothing that makes this place stand out from the crowd; no signature quirks that give it a character of its own. Indeed, some features need a bit of a lift - the snorkelling trip through Makuti was quoted to us at $60, leaving us to book through the next door Sun & Sea Bungalows instead that organised a great snorkelling expedition for half that price. The restaurant TV blared American commercials all day disrupting the tranquility of lazing on a beach lounge out the front - this type of poor attention to detail should be rectified. Breakfast was included in the price but consisted of a few pieces of fruit and some toast and jam - this is below par when you consider that Cristal Resorts in Paje includes full hot breakfast options (eggs and pancakes) for a lower price. The quality of the breakfast definitely needs improvement.

Although there was nothing horribly wrong about Makuti, I wouldn't recommend it. If you're looking for something in this price range try Paradise Bungalows, 5 minutes towards Paje, instead - at least the delicious Japanese food on offer gives it a point of difference and individuality.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CarlottaVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
2.3 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
23.4 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
1.7 mi away
Evergreen Bungalows
Evergreen Bungalows
#8 of 12 in Bwejuu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sahari Zanzibar
Sahari Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Bwejuu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Indigo Beach Zanzibar
Indigo Beach Zanzibar
#2 of 13 in Bwejuu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makuti Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makuti Beach Hotel

Property: Makuti Beach Hotel
Address: Bwejuu Road | Jambiani-Paje, Bwejuu 8841, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and fine, the Makuti Beach Hotel, with only 12 different bungalows located directly run on the white sandy beach of the Indian Ocean.Shoes off and relax, that's the motto for us. Relax area with bar and swimmingpool. Own restaurant, bar and lounge with Daily fresh fish and seafood.Quiet and relaxing atmosphere.To the lively Paje with kite and dive shops, bars and supermarket you walk 15min. Along the beach.See you on the beachKaribu Sana - Makuti Beach Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Makuti Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makuti Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing