We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a PERFECT place to stay”
Review of Makuti Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Makuti Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Bwejuu B&B and Inns
Bari, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was a PERFECT place to stay”
Reviewed 9 January 2011

My boyfriend and I had a fabulous time staying at Makuti Beach! This was a TERRIFIC place to stay. It was affordable, comfortable, clean. Peter, Mabel and all staff were really nice and helpful. The location of bungalow was fantastic. We heard waves at night. The place is located in the East coast of Zanzibar between the villages of Bwejuu and Paje. The location is quiet and safe. Wish we can come back some day. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewyorkNewyork09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    24
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
23
64
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We found this hotel whilst wondering up the beach, we were unhappy at the place we were staying, and were SO very lucky to find it. It is right on the beach, and there is a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. its a small place, but the owners are wonderful and make you feel right at home.
The rooms are are very simple and bright (not dark and dingy like some other places we stayed), and most importantly they are CLEAN. so many places on Zanzibar are not cleaned properly, but at Makuti, your room is cleaned every day :)
the FOOD is super yummy, cooked by a friendly and very talented young chef.

We will definitely go back if we return to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minxdorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2010

The location cant be beaten. The hotel is right on the beach, you wake up to a beautiful turquoise sea and white flour-like sand. It is very tastefully decorated, with careful attention to detail. The rooms are comfortable, very nice and clean. The common area is the perfect place to chill out, the food is excellent and you will get the best breakfast ever (included in the room price). The staff are very helpful and the owners just give the place a beautiful homely and friendly atmosphere which makes your stay unforgettable! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LedaandRai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassel, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Really quiet place, the rooms are nice, the owners are very friendly and can help all the time!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte187342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
2.3 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Sahari Zanzibar
Sahari Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Bwejuu
236 reviews
0.9 mi away
Indigo Beach Zanzibar
Indigo Beach Zanzibar
#2 of 13 in Bwejuu
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
3.7 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 10 in Bwejuu
280 reviews
3.6 mi away
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makuti Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makuti Beach Hotel

Property: Makuti Beach Hotel
Address: Bwejuu Road | Jambiani-Paje, Bwejuu 8841, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and fine, the Makuti Beach Hotel, with only 12 different bungalows located directly run on the white sandy beach of the Indian Ocean.Shoes off and relax, that's the motto for us. Relax area with bar and swimmingpool. Own restaurant, bar and lounge with Daily fresh fish and seafood.Quiet and relaxing atmosphere.To the lively Paje with kite and dive shops, bars and supermarket you walk 15min. Along the beach.See you on the beachKaribu Sana - Makuti Beach Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Makuti Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makuti Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing