We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding beach hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
Maulden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding beach hotel”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Very Impressed. Well run and maintained resort. Lovely large rooms in beautiful grounds. Nice staff and good service. Beautiful beach and very hot sea to swim in when tied comes in over the lagoon. Dving centre excellent if expensive C/W Caribbean. Breezes restaurant in excellent and serves varied menu.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    261
    58
    21
    11
See reviews for
290
662
43
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We spent a week at Breezes Beach in March and chose it because it was our first time in Zanzibar and we wanted a reliable hotel. For the price we paid Breezes was good value (we booked through Africa Sky, but Pure Zanzibar offered a similar deal).
I agree with previous reviews about how relaxing and chilled-out this resort is.
However, half way through our holiday we realised that we had got the location mixed up (there is or was a similarly named establishment at Kendwe in the north which is where we wanted to go) and thus thought we were in the north when in fact we were on the east coast. (Whether the Kendwe outfit is or is not still be in business seems open to question.)
Some general comments on Breezes: the resort is actually one of three associated resorts next door to each other on the same stretch of beach, the others being Baraza and The Palms. These seemed to be a bit more upmarket than Breezes and given that Breezes, especially the rooms, were a bit basic in some respects those wishing to upgrade should consider paying a bit more to stay at Baraza or The Palms rather than upgrading at Breezes itself.
There is no difference between the standard and deluxe rooms at Breezes; the standard rooms are the farthest away from the beach and restaurants, so the extra cost of the deluxe rooms simply gets you a slightly better location. None of the rooms are on the beach. The décor of both standard and deluxe rooms is mostly different shades of brown which may not be to everyone’s taste. The bed was very comfortable but the bathroom was dark (again, brown tiles!) and pretty basic.
The good points about Breezes are:
(1) the staff who were all unfailingly cheerful, polite and helpful;
(2) the food which was good and sometimes excellent; dinner was sometimes buffet and sometimes table service and when it was a buffet it was well spread out and never the scrum that it can be at some resorts;
(3) the excellent pool, which was large, clean and warm; and
(4) the sunbed layout, which is amongst the best we have ever found at any resort; pairs of sunbeds under large palm shades were mostly about 4 or 5 metres apart; and there were plenty of them strategically placed around the beach and pool area, so one did not have to race down to the beach to reserve a spot; we used to amble down about 11 and never had any trouble finding a nice spot. However, there are no beach boys and this is the sort of hotel where you have to sign for beach towels and return them when finished.
Breezes is good for the type of resort it is but intending guests should be aware of the following:
(1) there is no TV (OK, that one can live without) or phone in the rooms (which we did find surprising: how do you get in touch with reception?).
(2) the dining hours (7.30 till 9.30 for both breakfast and dinner) are rather restricted.
(3) one has to sign (and pay!) for everything. As one of the other guests remarked, he had become ‘Mr 121’ so often did he sign for things.
(4) the beach is said on the website to have been voted by Conde Nast Traveller as ‘One of the 30 top Island beaches in the world’ but we weren’t that impressed. OK, it’s not bad but we found that because of the sharp shells at the water’s edge and the sea urchins it was best to wear beach shoes to go swimming. That said, the water was clear and the warmest I have ever encountered. There was a little seaweed but not enough to be unpleasant.
(4) diving expeditions are by boat and are based on doing 2 dives per trip.
(5) Breezes, like all resorts on the east coast, is very remote: there is no local village, market, shop or anything. A trip to Stone Town costs £40 each way by taxi (we were surprised the resort didn’t organise minibus trips, say twice a week). So, buy water, coke or whatever before you get to the resort.
Would we go back? Regrettably no, because our next trip to Zanzibar will be to the north.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank peterhutchesson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Friendly staff, beutifull furnished and clean rooms, Expecially good food. we needed a hollyday, and what a hollyday we got. the food was a big suprice, world class. White sandy beaches, long walks before a wounderfull breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with seawiew
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albromann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed in two junior suite (first floor) with my family (2 adults - 3 kids) last august 2011. We stayed there for 7 nights and all had a very relaxing, tasty and nice vacation.
I highly recommend this place for people looking for peace, good food and a very nice beach with all the comfort of a small resort. Service is ok, quite slow (but you are in Africa, don't expect for a service at the level of Mauritius or Asia), but if you talk nicely to them (and be patient), they really want to please you.
The grounds and atmosphere are very beautiful, very well maintained.
Our rooms were big, with a huge terrasse and lots of storage place.
The hotel was almost full during our stay and we never felt overcrowed as you can feel at big resorts.
If you are looking for an exclusive and very luxurious resort, this is not the place, it is too big and service not at this level. But if you are ok to be with other people (all were very tranquil and seemed happy to enjoy there time) ti is a perfect place.
Food at dinner is very very good, buffet changed every day during our stay.
At lunch you can eat at the beach restaurant with a good choice of international cuisine.
the beach is very nice, but you cannot swim in it.
The pool is not very big but not a lot of people in.
The SPA is very good and half the price of standard spa in Europe, we had a massage there every day and really enjoyed them. All masseuses are from Asia, they know their job very well.
On my opinion, 7 nights are the max to stay, 5 would be perfect. Because there is really nothing to do outside.
Unfortunately, I cannot compare this hotel to the others from this island, it was our first stay there and after a very long week of a tiring and exciting safari, this place was a true relief.
Comparing to other 4 stars resorts we've been visiting, the Breezes is really on top the average.
At the end, if you do expect a very high standard with a truly personalized service as you can find in Aman Resorts or Four Seasons, you go wrong and will feel very disappointed. But the price at the Breez is half the price for a luxury 5 stars hotel...
Enjoy :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmindesiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is a real resort - if you're looking for a taste of Zanzibar life you won't fnd it here but if you want a relaxing beach holiday this is the place for you.

The resort is about 1 hours taxi drive from Stone Town/the airport. Its like a fortress on the oustide and not very welcoming but once the taxi driver managed to convince the guard to let us in it looked up.

The reception area is clean and spacious. The whole resort has a Moorish feel with lots of lanterns. We'd come from a safari trip and really just wanted to check in an have a shower so it was a bit annoying that the manager kept us waiting for ages asking questions about who we booked through etc. I understand they want to know, but we just wanted to relax.

The resort has about 70 rooms build in little groups. The ones near the beach are on two stories, upstairs rooms have a balcony and downstairs a veranda. The rooms are in goups of 8 or so and most have names live Clove or Royal Palm.

We were in the basic rooms which are furthest from the beach and built on one level. The room was large with a very big and comfortable bed complete with mosquito net. We have a very comfortable day bed too. There is no TV and although there is a phone it is only for external calls - you can't use it to call reception or the spa which I thought was odd.

The bathroom was a good size with plenty of hot water. When we first arrived the toilet wouldn't flush but we told reception and they had solved the problem by the time we had returned later that day.

The room was very clean, we found a small cockroach in the bathroom but that's to be expected in hot countries really.

On arrival my husband would have preferred a different room ours was dirrectly infront of the path that led to our group of rooms which meant everyone had to walk past. The resort was obviously not fully booked so we asked if we could move but were told that if we wanted a different room its was another 44 Euros a night. I'm not sure if they misunderstood us - we didn't want a better room just one that was a bit more secluded - but they wouldn't move us so we stayed put. As the resort was quiet it was ok - although there was a big gap at the bottom of the door which didn't seem very secure.

The staff are all very helpful and the resort clearly tries hard to make dinner different every night - they have a different theme with different place settings and staff outfits. The food was all of a high quality. We were half board but you may as well go all inclusive as you will be eating in the resort - there is no where to go!

There were several nce touches, one evening we got free "sun downers" delivered to our room (wine and nibbles) for example. And we got a voucher for a free lunch on arrival.

The resort has lots of sun loungers and we had no trouble finding a free one even after a late breakfast. Service by the beach was great with plenty of staff on hand to bring drinks and food, and free fruit skewers offered in the mornings.

The beach is pretty. I have to say it is not the most beutiful beach I have ever seen - that award has to go to Aitutaki in the Cook Islands - but it is all white sand and clear blue sea. The sea goes out a long way and you need sea shoes to go in the water - there are lots of sea urchins. Go for a swim when the tide is in tough - the sea is hotter than a bath! Th ehotel cleans teh beach and there was very little litter (which isn't the case in Zanzibar outside of the resorts).

The hotel runs reef walks during the day or you can walk out alone. There isn't that much to see - a few fish and the odd octopus - but its a pleasent way to while away the morning. There is a watersports shop which offers windsurfing and kite surfing when the conditions are right and there is a dive place too.

We tried out the spa. The treatments are OK - not amazing.

Although we were half board no drinks are included with meals - not even water - so keep that in mind. Alcoholic drinks are quite expensive.

There is a shop that sells gifts/postcards but its only open for 2 hours a day.

There are lots of guards walking around the resort which I found a bit off putting - why do they need so many, what are they expecting to happen?

Animal welfare worried me, staff were terrorising a poor cat that seemed to live there and we saw staff catapulting something in the trees on several occasions - I'm not sure what they were doing but I doubt it was humaine.

A week was enough for us, it was a bit too resorty and we were itching to get out and see the "real world" by the end of it. Having said that its a nice resort and if that's what you're looking for you won't go far wrong with this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver canada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Beautiful !!! We stayed here for 3 nights after a 2 week safari and enjoyed the relaxation and rest. Large rooms, very clean, with large decks. On arrival the first thing we noticed was the cleanliness of the reception/lobby area along with the amazing decor. The staff were friendly and informative. The beach was spectacular, beautiful private area to relax in the sun or shade and read a book. Gardens were beautiful and well manicured. Food was excellent. Could not ask for more. Highly recommend Breezes !!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suisse Romande
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This hotel is a great place. The beach is one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, the hotel is romantic, clean, wonderfully located. When you enter the place, you find yourself in a magic place. Nothing exists anymore... The restaurant is very good, the dinner was delicious and at the breakfast you have a very good choice!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenochka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
20.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
24.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#3 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
36.4 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
5.3 mi away
KonoKono Beach Resort
KonoKono Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Michamvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 10 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Property: Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar's most romantic hotel, featuring the Frangipani Spa, highest attention to detail, and personalized service second to none. This family owned and managed resort has set high standards for Zanzibar, and continues to lead the others in the right direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travelbag, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Breezes Beach Club And Spa, Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Hotel Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Resort Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club Zanzibar
Breezes Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing