We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

My wife and I had an amazing time at Breezes, the rooms do not have TV, the view from the room was second beach front and was amazing. We stayed there for 7 nights. The food was delightful, the flavours kept on blowing up in the mouth. I commend them for the complimentary package for the honeymooners - free padi diving, free snorkeling, free massage, free wine bottle, free hena tatoos, free yoga session (didnt go for this for religious reasons), free lunch at the breach front, bed laid under the stars. I can go on and on about this place.

Zanzibar is a destination rich with culture, we also did a historical tour of the town and were taken to the slave market and several place where we bought some good painting.

Room Tip: They have very few beach front rooms. Go for room 1 - 6 for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibrahim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    258
    58
    21
    11
See reviews for
286
649
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, CA, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at Breezes for three nights after a safari. The resort was lovely, the staff delightful, and our room -- a beachfront suite -- lovely and very comfortable. No TV, which we wouldn't watch anyway, and no phone, which was unusual. But we never really needed it. Staff was available if anything was needed. The food was very good, too. This was a perfect place to relax. Highly recommend a half-day tour of Stone Town before flying out. A UNESCO World Heritage sight, and absolutely fascinating. Don't miss the market!

Room Tip: Second floor beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We spent three nights there at the end of our Tanzania trip and enjoyed it. The staff was efficient and friendly, the breakfast buffet was one of the best, but dinner at the Sultan's Table is where you want to eat dinner. It was worth upgrading to the suite. The snorkeling was Ok but cloudy and supposedly the diving beyond the reef was great. Excellent value for the money.

Room Tip: Up grade to a suite-- it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maulden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Very Impressed. Well run and maintained resort. Lovely large rooms in beautiful grounds. Nice staff and good service. Beautiful beach and very hot sea to swim in when tied comes in over the lagoon. Dving centre excellent if expensive C/W Caribbean. Breezes restaurant in excellent and serves varied menu.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We spent a week at Breezes Beach in March and chose it because it was our first time in Zanzibar and we wanted a reliable hotel. For the price we paid Breezes was good value (we booked through Africa Sky, but Pure Zanzibar offered a similar deal).
I agree with previous reviews about how relaxing and chilled-out this resort is.
However, half way through our holiday we realised that we had got the location mixed up (there is or was a similarly named establishment at Kendwe in the north which is where we wanted to go) and thus thought we were in the north when in fact we were on the east coast. (Whether the Kendwe outfit is or is not still be in business seems open to question.)
Some general comments on Breezes: the resort is actually one of three associated resorts next door to each other on the same stretch of beach, the others being Baraza and The Palms. These seemed to be a bit more upmarket than Breezes and given that Breezes, especially the rooms, were a bit basic in some respects those wishing to upgrade should consider paying a bit more to stay at Baraza or The Palms rather than upgrading at Breezes itself.
There is no difference between the standard and deluxe rooms at Breezes; the standard rooms are the farthest away from the beach and restaurants, so the extra cost of the deluxe rooms simply gets you a slightly better location. None of the rooms are on the beach. The décor of both standard and deluxe rooms is mostly different shades of brown which may not be to everyone’s taste. The bed was very comfortable but the bathroom was dark (again, brown tiles!) and pretty basic.
The good points about Breezes are:
(1) the staff who were all unfailingly cheerful, polite and helpful;
(2) the food which was good and sometimes excellent; dinner was sometimes buffet and sometimes table service and when it was a buffet it was well spread out and never the scrum that it can be at some resorts;
(3) the excellent pool, which was large, clean and warm; and
(4) the sunbed layout, which is amongst the best we have ever found at any resort; pairs of sunbeds under large palm shades were mostly about 4 or 5 metres apart; and there were plenty of them strategically placed around the beach and pool area, so one did not have to race down to the beach to reserve a spot; we used to amble down about 11 and never had any trouble finding a nice spot. However, there are no beach boys and this is the sort of hotel where you have to sign for beach towels and return them when finished.
Breezes is good for the type of resort it is but intending guests should be aware of the following:
(1) there is no TV (OK, that one can live without) or phone in the rooms (which we did find surprising: how do you get in touch with reception?).
(2) the dining hours (7.30 till 9.30 for both breakfast and dinner) are rather restricted.
(3) one has to sign (and pay!) for everything. As one of the other guests remarked, he had become ‘Mr 121’ so often did he sign for things.
(4) the beach is said on the website to have been voted by Conde Nast Traveller as ‘One of the 30 top Island beaches in the world’ but we weren’t that impressed. OK, it’s not bad but we found that because of the sharp shells at the water’s edge and the sea urchins it was best to wear beach shoes to go swimming. That said, the water was clear and the warmest I have ever encountered. There was a little seaweed but not enough to be unpleasant.
(4) diving expeditions are by boat and are based on doing 2 dives per trip.
(5) Breezes, like all resorts on the east coast, is very remote: there is no local village, market, shop or anything. A trip to Stone Town costs £40 each way by taxi (we were surprised the resort didn’t organise minibus trips, say twice a week). So, buy water, coke or whatever before you get to the resort.
Would we go back? Regrettably no, because our next trip to Zanzibar will be to the north.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank peterhutchesson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Friendly staff, beutifull furnished and clean rooms, Expecially good food. we needed a hollyday, and what a hollyday we got. the food was a big suprice, world class. White sandy beaches, long walks before a wounderfull breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with seawiew
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albromann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed in two junior suite (first floor) with my family (2 adults - 3 kids) last august 2011. We stayed there for 7 nights and all had a very relaxing, tasty and nice vacation.
I highly recommend this place for people looking for peace, good food and a very nice beach with all the comfort of a small resort. Service is ok, quite slow (but you are in Africa, don't expect for a service at the level of Mauritius or Asia), but if you talk nicely to them (and be patient), they really want to please you.
The grounds and atmosphere are very beautiful, very well maintained.
Our rooms were big, with a huge terrasse and lots of storage place.
The hotel was almost full during our stay and we never felt overcrowed as you can feel at big resorts.
If you are looking for an exclusive and very luxurious resort, this is not the place, it is too big and service not at this level. But if you are ok to be with other people (all were very tranquil and seemed happy to enjoy there time) ti is a perfect place.
Food at dinner is very very good, buffet changed every day during our stay.
At lunch you can eat at the beach restaurant with a good choice of international cuisine.
the beach is very nice, but you cannot swim in it.
The pool is not very big but not a lot of people in.
The SPA is very good and half the price of standard spa in Europe, we had a massage there every day and really enjoyed them. All masseuses are from Asia, they know their job very well.
On my opinion, 7 nights are the max to stay, 5 would be perfect. Because there is really nothing to do outside.
Unfortunately, I cannot compare this hotel to the others from this island, it was our first stay there and after a very long week of a tiring and exciting safari, this place was a true relief.
Comparing to other 4 stars resorts we've been visiting, the Breezes is really on top the average.
At the end, if you do expect a very high standard with a truly personalized service as you can find in Aman Resorts or Four Seasons, you go wrong and will feel very disappointed. But the price at the Breez is half the price for a luxury 5 stars hotel...
Enjoy :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmindesiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
20.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
25.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
36.4 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
35.3 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
0.1 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Property: Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar's most romantic hotel, featuring the Frangipani Spa, highest attention to detail, and personalized service second to none. This family owned and managed resort has set high standards for Zanzibar, and continues to lead the others in the right direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelbag so you can book your Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Breezes Beach Club And Spa, Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Hotel Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Resort Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club Zanzibar
Breezes Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing