We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zanzibar chill out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Spent four nights here following our safari holiday in Tanzania. Food and accommodation were amazing. Taxi to Stone town was extortionate though and taking the slightly less expensive 'package' via the hotel not one we would repeat. The driver used his mobile while filling up with fuel en route, stopping off in both directions for driver's own errands seemed a bit strange too when we had paid so much.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozzymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay at Breezes. It was a nice place to go although I am not sure I would rush back or recommend others to visit.

The rooms were nice, the bathrooms were a bit shabby and there was no water pressure. the mosquito nets had a few holes in them.

It was expensive to eat, drink and go to the spa. a mani pedi was around 80USD , bottle of wine around 50USD and most times we had pool snacks the bill was around 100USD (2 kids, 2 adults)

You really cannot swim at the beach. It is tidal and unless you are up at 8 then by the time you make it to the shore the tide has receded. You can swim in a lagoon but its about 5 k away. I want to swim in the sea at my hotel. This was a big downside for me and the main reason i would not return.

the pool was good - if the hotel was full (only half full at our stay) it would have been crowded.

Ally the organiser of games etc was great and the kids really enjoyed his activities.

Food was pretty good - only had one bad meal.

Staff were general excellent, Christian at the bar was super!

Room Tip: Room on the beach?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rackiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights in June 2012 (half board) and loved every minute.

The staff were all super friendly, helpful and professional and I would recommend this hotel very highly.

Our standard room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable (enormous bed, lovely bed linen, comfortable day bed and good showeroom (note no bath in case that is an issue)). We used the gym (small but always quiet) and tennis courts (book a slot the day before) and the spa (lovely treatments and staff - European prices however). The pool was clean and cool and the sun loungers comfortable. Drinks & snacks were served by the pool if you wanted or on the beach (lots of sun loungers on the beach also) as well as in the pool side bar. We paid for wi-fi access most days which you can get in the main hotel areas (including by the pool) but not in bedrooms - it was inexpensive compared to other hotels we have stayed in. There is a large shop that stocks a wide variety of clothes and gifts etc which is open for a couple of hours a day.

The food was really really good. I was a bit wary about it being buffet style but in fact there was a mixture of set menu style themed nights and buffet nights. Dont be put off if you think this sounds 'tacky' or 'resorty' - it was all really good quality, fresh and tasty. The buffet nights are actually a mixture of different stations where chefs prepare fresh food to your specification - so lots of choice and unlimited quantity - beware of weight gain! The breakfasts were good too - plenty of fresh fruit, bread, pastries, cooked buffett, eggs made to order etc etc. Although I think they do this for all couples staying here, the complimentary bottle of fizz and daily complimentary bottled water is a nice touch. We also got a 'surprise' of complimentary sundowners one night (canapes and wine delivered to our room) - again, I suspect everyone staying a few nights gets this but it was still a lovely touch.

On the recommendation of another guest, we walked down the beach and booked a boat trip to go swimming with dolphins with a local man called Mr Azizzi - he is at a small art gallery and gift shop about 200m up the beachfront. It was excellent. The beach is lovely - a bit choppy for swimmers but great temperature. Take reef shoes if you have them for low tide.

The thing that was most surprising was the overall value of this place. The service and quality is really high (the last place we stayed was a Four Seasons hotel and whilst not quite that good, Breezes was very very close and way more relaxed) but it is relatively inexpensive. Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Millbags1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We've spent a 08-day of MAGICAL and UNFORGETTABLE vacation at Breezes Beach Club in Bweeju Zanzibar this May 2012 and I have to admit that our expectations were exceeded in every possible way. I have travelled the world and stayed in numerous hotels but never has a place made such an impression on me. The staff is very friendly, well-mannered/trained and helpful. Great spa, I enjoyed the Sultan Bath and the dry Thai massage. Delicious food, not to talk about the beach and the swimming pool. Our Tour Expert - Mr. Nizar (Chuluu) - went above and beyond anything his job description could've possibly been. Our special thanks go out to him for making our holiday most enjoyable. Also Special thanks to Mr. Steeve Austine, Ms. Mary Mukani, both Indian Chefs, Sous-Chef Sadien, and Miss Winifrida, the cleaning lady who did not spare any efforts in making this holiday a MAGICAL and MEMORABLE one.

Martine M.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Titine777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We spent the final 7 nights of our honeymoon at this fantastic resort.

We were collected by the hotel from our hotel in Stone Town at the exact agreed time. We were introduced to management on arrival and provided with cold towels and refreshments.

We stayed in a deluxe room. TIP- the brochure claims all rooms are identical in dimensions and decor with the only difference being proximity to the sea front. If this is the case it would be advisable to book a standard room over a deluxe as only the suites have a sea view.
The room was well decorated with effective air conditioning and a large patio area.

As we were on honeymoon the management really went that extra mile to make it that bit more special. A complimentary large bottle of sparkling wine was left in our fridge on arrival. Also we were given complimentary vouchers for a massage each, sailing lesson each, free lunch for 2, yoga lesson each, and Henna body art. They also surprised us with sundowners one evening.

Drinks are reasonably priced. The food is outstanding and would cost upward of 100USD in a city restaurant in the UK. Over 7 nights we had 4 buffet meals and 3 set menus. There was a different theme every night which made it interesting.

The staff were always pleasant and helpful. It is clear they are professionally trained.

The beach is nice and the tidal changes actually add to the charm rather than detract from it in my opinion. Low tide is superb for marine wildlife hunting on a reef walk.

I would definitely recommend Breezes as a place to stay for a relaxing visit to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheUK81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Had a quick 1 night stay here in between a work assignment on the island. Good service at reception especially and also on beach, great rooms. But no internet and TV :( Food was good but was expecting better....not much seafood which was disapointing seeing that we are in Zanzibar. Spa was wayyyy to overpriced

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sid_wise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This hotel is excellent - the attention to detail is amazing (fresh flowers every day, the ironing lady who arrives one your first night, etc.), the food was great and the beach is lovely.
The staff were incredibly helpful for anything you needed and service was always warm and friendly.
The food at breakfast is a buffet which has pretty much everything on offer - fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, pastries, cooked breakfast, delicious breads and jams, etc. The lunch is served either in the beach bar or the restaurant and again excellent choices. The chocolate brownie is delicious and the catch of the day the best fish I've eaten. Dinner in the main restaurant is also excellent and really varied (we stayed for a week), we had bbqs, grills, buffets, set (served) meals and the choice is phenomenal.
The food and drinks are reasonably priced (as is the mini bar) for a hotel. The spa was superb (hot stone massage out of this world). The beach is beautiful, the sea so warm (as was the pool). They spread out the sunloungers so you are not sitting on top of each other and can have your own space and there is never any trouble finding any.
The room (we were in a suite) was excellent, really big and very clean and everything was faultless.
My one and only niggle was that the wifi was $10 / day. Actually, we only bought it one day as we picked up free wifi from the Palms hotel next door.
Definitely recommend, absolutely loved it and would really love to go back one day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
20.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,681 reviews
24.9 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
521 reviews
21.3 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
1,028 reviews
6 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
0.2 mi away
Baraza Resort & Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Bwejuu
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range: £143 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar's most romantic hotel, featuring the Frangipani Spa, highest attention to detail, and personalized service second to none. This family owned and managed resort has set high standards for Zanzibar, and continues to lead the others in the right direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Beach Club And Spa, Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Breezes Beach Hotel Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Resort Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club Zanzibar
Breezes Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing