We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed Breezes!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We enjoyed Breezes!”
Reviewed 3 March 2009

I guess it's all about expectations. We stayed only 2 nights at Breezes as part of a 4 night 'standard' tour extension to Zanzibar. So as this was marketed as a standard rather than superior package we were pleasantly surprised. Yes, we had two of the rooms at the back of the property away from the beach but that didn't bother us at all. We spent most of the day on the beachfront so didn't feel we were missing out. It took us a while to get to our rooms upon arrival - we had to endure a very long-winded 'lecture' about the resort. We found the rooms tasteful and comfortable. The breakfasts, although there was a bit of a wait for the hot food to be cooked, were the best we experienced in Africa. We had one night where the meal was a set menu, and the other night was a buffet. After all four of us suffering tummy bugs at different times during our three weeks in Africa, I have to say we felt very confident with the quality of the food that we were served here. If there was a disappointment, it was the beach itself. Guess we are spoilt with many great beaches where we come from. We couldn't really swim as such, just laid about in very shallow water. We thought it was a bit rude charging to hire shoes to walk out over the reef! The kids wanted to access the internet - expensive and so slow, they gave up and logged off. Also we did have a problem with a blocked toilet on the last morning. We had a late afernoon flight but we were able to use the resort's facilities until departure, including access to showers. We did enjoy our stay here, and it was a good place to unwind after a hectic time travelling. We were well rested after just the couple of days and ready to face the long journey home.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Backhammer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    270
    58
    21
    11
See reviews for
307
680
47
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2009

My Expectations before Leaving:

I asked for very good/ higher end accommodation. I am rather particular about quality of rooms, bathrooms, surrounding area, ambience and service levels, especially since I am paying a premium price. I am not much of a “foodie” but I can be fussy about taste. Living in Asia, I’m also spoilt by the amazing accommodation, service levels and food that we have become accustomed to travelling around Asia.

Quite frankly, I was disappointed with Zanzibar as a beach destination. Having Thailand Malaysia & Indonesia at my doorstep, I would never recommend anyone living in Asia to bother with Zanzibar if they are just going for a beach holiday. Thailand, Malaysia, Vietnam & Indonesia have far, far better beaches (which I have experienced personally), much better food and service. And at easily HALF(no joke) the price! And we took 19hrs to get there as apposed to 2hrs to Bali, Phuket, Koh Samui, Pulau Redang, Langkawi, etc.

How I would rate Breezes:

No. of Nights: 4 nights

Room: Nice but not mind-blowing. No TV! Bathroom a bit small.

Surrounding Area: Nice

Ambience: Nice

Food: Decent

Staff service: Good

Facilities: Swimming Pool, Only 1 Computer & 1 shared TV with poor reception!!!! Expensive Dive Shop & Expensive Excursions, Souvenir shop, Terrible Fitness Centre, Spa & Yoga - Very,very Expensive (compared to what we pay in Asia)

Entertainment: Reasonable – good band but we did’t like Acrobat Shows

Private Dining: Tides Restaurant private dinner for 2 - Not worth it

Value for Money: Not worth it at USD400+ a night (In Bali, you can get a beautiful 3 bedroom villa for the same price!)

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfwSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2009

Everything about Breezes was just right after an exhausting but very stimulating 11 day Safari on the mainland. The bungalows were spacious ,comfortable and clean and this was maintained throuhout the 5 day stay.Staff were friendly and welcoming.Food and entertainment were of great variety and a high standard.Bathing in the Ocean as the tide came into the shallows over the reef had the effect of a warm jacuzzi.
All in all a very happy experience..
Brian and Susan. London U.K.

  • Liked — Space and comfort
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LondonBuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2009

Breezes is a great place to unwind and get away from the world, no televisions, no phones - no wories.
The staff are great and very friendly - they will teach you kiswahili given half a chance. The view from the Beach is the most perfect view in the world and watching the Sun come up out the Indian Ocean is fabulous.
The food is good and there is always plenty of choice especially the wonderful buffets.
The rooms are cool and spacious, well equipped with everything that you need to get away from normal life.
The diving is awesome Turtles, Dolphins and much more and the visability is fantastic - best of all the dive boat is the ONLY one at the dive sites so you dont see any other divers! Snorkelling in the lagoon is beautiful and very easy.
We have returned here several times after safaris and just for a break and it never fails to revive us.

  • Liked — fantastic views and staff
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stanshaw09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Read so many mixed reviews about this property before booking that I was terribly concerned that I might be disappointed. Spent 5 nights at Breezes beginning with New Year's Eve, ( don't stay there much longer than that) after a 10 day safari in Kenya and Tanzania. Looked for a place to relax with a bit of activity for our teenage son. We had a great time. No, the hotel is not terribly sophisticated, but this is Zanziibar- where just a few years ago a resort such as Breezes would have been unthinkable. We found it all charming and lovely: food mostly good (loved the lunches and the dinner settings with music), the glorious beach, our fabulous sea-view room (Clove #6) and the amazingly accomodating and friendly staff. We always stay at great places when we travel and especially considering the remote location of this property, Breezes is one of them Other notes: Stonetown a BIG disappointment - don't know how this could be deemed a world heritage site- but do go on the spice tour- great fun.
GO!!! Breezes is great. You will LOVE IT!

  • Liked — the gardens and staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank roomatologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

Fantastic setting, beach was superb, good service at the bars but not so good whilst eating. The rooms have no room service which is poor; the standard of the rooms was okay. The food was very average indeed and we were both ill during our stay. Overall very disappointing and would not return.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

If hotels like the Four Seasons in Sharm el Sheikh set the benchmark for five-star properties, then Breezes struggles to rate four stars. That is fair enough – there is a place for all ratings - but don’t market it as 5*.

Rooms:

They are large with big, comfortable beds and modern, functional (though basic) shower rooms. Yet somehow the accommodation lacks charm. And at night the light – or lack of it – drove us to distraction. Difficult to make up, do your hair or, most importantly, read. (Nor is there anywhere at night in the public areas where it is light enough to read.) The mini-bar is very basic, and it is a very long time since I have come across a five-star hotel that does not provide at least a small amount of complimentary mineral water daily. Here you will get half a litre for daily teeth brushing, just enough for two people to use twice a day. If you want to brush your teeth more often you will have to pay for it!

The toiletries provided are the absolute minimum – hand wash, body wash/shampoo and a shower cap. Don’t hope for moisturiser (a huge omission in a beach hotel), cotton wool, cotton buds or any other little luxuries.

The low-numbered rooms are closer to the beach, and I think it would be most annoying to pay the premium for superior rooms and find yourself virtually at the back of the property. The standard rooms, on the other hand, feel almost like an annexe and don’t have a feeling of integration with the overall resort.

The lack of telephones in the rooms is not an issue for making external calls as everyone has mobiles these days, but some form of internal communication in a hotel that claims to be five star must be a prerequisite. You can’t call reception, the spa, room service, housekeeping or anywhere else.

Beach/diving:

Gorgeous location on a stretch of glorious, white sandy beach. An hour’s drive from the airport, it is easily accessible.
The diving school, run by a Brit, is good if somewhat expensive, and they visit a variety of sites. Coral is in good condition and there is an interesting variety of marine life to be seen.
For non-divers there are snorkelling trips to the nearby lagoon and it’s certainly worth doing this once at least.

The hotel’s own beach area is raised from the natural beach and pleasantly broken up by patches of grass. This creates individual areas for each thatched shade and its sunbeds, which is delightful.

I can’t help finding a towel system that requires you to sign them out and back in again mildly offensive, as it implies dishonesty on the part of the guest. (The in-room hair dryers are also wired up through the drawer to prevent you secreting these 'valuable' items in your luggage.) And I certainly would have no place in my house for the thready towels that are certainly past their sell-by dates.

The sunbeds are wooden with padded cushions, but several of them are in need of repair.

Food:

The breakfasts are excellent. Good fruit, pancakes, waffles and French toast to die for. There’s an egg station and a variety of bread and pastries. Ten out of ten here.

Lunches are also good and, I think, reasonably priced. Dinner is where it goes downhill. Four nights a week are buffet nights and here the salads are OK, but the 'hot' food is usually cold and dry. The three set-meal nights vary, with superb beef on Saturdays but the other nights being disappointing.

On balance, I don’t really think the whole half-board/dining room experience is befitting of a five-star hotel. Rates should be worked out on a bed-and-breakfast basis, with a restaurant-based eating system. There is no danger of clients absconding and eating elsewhere – there is no ‘elsewhere’. The best formula seems to be a choice of two or three smaller eateries. There is an a-la-carte restaurant here but I resent the idea of paying twice for my meals (no allowance is made against the half-board price already paid).

Service:

This is patchy. The staff seem to have been trained to ask you a hundred times over each meal if everything is OK – and if by chance it isn’t they don’t have the remotest idea how to respond.

The Spa:

This is very pleasant and the treatment I had was excellent. Prices are fairly high, but it’s well worth a visit if you feel like pampering yourself.

Other:

One creeping computer is not enough to serve a hotel of this size. This is the 21st century and, like it or not, people need to keep in touch, be it for work or personal reasons.

If televisions are not provided in rooms, then at least make the one television room comfortable – air conditioned – with a decent screen. Again, we did want to check on the news a couple of times during our stay but it was extremely uncomfortable doing so in what is effectively a hot, sticky passageway with guests and staff walking through all the time.

Overall:

I don’t want to give the impression that we didn’t enjoy our stay here – we did. It’s just that here is a slightly amateurish feel to the place, with little evidence of real quality and no ‘special’ touches that make five-star hotel experiences so memorable. There’s a distinct feeling of stinginess on the part of the management, and several other guests we spoke to had this impression too.

You could argue that the property is going for a bare-foot, away-from-it-all feel, but the management need to recognise that five-stars and luxury are synonymous and it is the luxury that is missing here.

  • Liked — Gorgeous beach
  • Disliked — Lack of attention to detail
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Amazonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
20.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,560 reviews
24.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 169 in Zanzibar Island
487 reviews
21.3 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.4 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
614 reviews
36.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
6.0 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Property: Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar's most romantic hotel, featuring the Frangipani Spa, highest attention to detail, and personalized service second to none. This family owned and managed resort has set high standards for Zanzibar, and continues to lead the others in the right direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Beach Club And Spa, Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Breezes Beach Hotel Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Resort Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club Zanzibar
Breezes Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing