We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort - and visit Azizi too!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely resort - and visit Azizi too!”
Reviewed 3 November 2009

The Breezes Beach Club is not really our sort of place - very "resorty" and positively discourages going beyond its boundaries. Having spent a week on safari and then a couple of nights in Stone Town it felt a little too "protected" for our liking. Having said that, if you enjoy the "resort" type hotel I would recommend it. The staff were lovely and friendly, the pool was great and the food was varied and delicious. The accommodation was clean, big rooms that were decorated / furnished well. The thing that we found strange was being discouraged to walk along the beach - we did walk up and down the beach and Breezes is actually the most relaxed of the three hotels on that stretch - we were actually chased around the garden by the security guard at its sister hotel (Alcazabar?) just down the beach! And the staff there were positively rude to us - we may have considered staying there in future but we won't now!

The bit we liked best was visiting Azizi at his shop (down onto the beach, turn left and walk 2 minutes and you'll come across it) - really nice man, no hard sell and just great to spend time with chatting about "real life" on Zanzibar. He also has a lady from the village come and do massages at a fraction of the cost that the hotel will charge and you'll experience the India Ocean breeze as well as the massage. Walking along the beach talking to the local people was definitely our favourite part of staying at Breezes!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    264
    58
    21
    11
See reviews for
294
666
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2009

After our safari we had a short but more than wonderful stay at Breezes. The service was perfect, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the location is beautiful, the beach is superb and the rooms are really as beautiful as the homepage promises. Breezes is a real paradise on Zanzibar and we will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanjers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Stayed here for a week on honeymoon and loved it.

Great facilities, clean rooms, service was good too (sometimes a little off but on the whole good).
Food. Excellent, good choice and great quality for all 3 meal times. Different themes for dinner each night. Buffet style but you ordered starter and desserts.
Entertainment during dinner was good too. Bars were good, nice cocktails.
Rooms were great, spacious and clean.
Pool was good, beach was great too. Sunbed service as well.
Spa was good too, variety of treatments and very good massages.
Good fitness center, tennis court as well. Scuba diving available too.

Overall, a great location to relax and unwind in a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbloke2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

We went to chill after a safari and whilst the days were fantastic the evenings were not. Limited English is spoken by the staff who consistently will not leave you alone and you end up having the same conversation 5 times a night with different staff! Definately not a 4 or 5 * hotel

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gracey1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa, KZN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

My husband and I spent 9 awesome days at Breezes. We had room no. 10 which was a wonderful genuine seafront room. A beautiful clean and well managed resort. The pool area and the relaxation areas are great. Loved the decor. From the time we arrived to the time we left we loved every minute and were sad to leave. Great friendly staff. Thank you Nizar for organising all our day tours. The tide going out did not worry us as the pool area is superb and we went for walks down the long beaches and found places to swim in the sea (beware the urchins - make sure you have strong reef shoes). We decided on Breezes from reviews we read on this site and loved it. We wanted a relaxing holiday and that is exactly what we received. Congratulations to all the staff on contributing towards a memorable holiday.
Bugs & Marilyn
South Africa

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

A lovely palce to stay after a tough safari and it was very relaxed, so our kids really enjoied it. Be aware of Sea urchins so you need to wea shoes when you are swim and play in the water

Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Mabyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

We stayed at Breezes in Oct 2008 so this review is a little belated. However,reading the recent reviews we can see that nothing has changed.
This hotel,all it's staff and location are simply AMAZING! So friendly & helpful & accommodating. Great food,( amazing breakfasts - cinnamon rolls and pancakes to die for!! ) great atmosphere, great Swahili minimalist architecture and the ultimate deserted 15 km long white sand,palm tree fringed beach.
The colour of the sea at high tide will blow you away! Great snorkeling & coral reefs too.
Stone Town is an experience in itself as is swimming with dolphins.The Zanzibari people are so friendly & humble. Hakuna Matata!
Quite simply GO ! GO ! GO ! Before everyone finds out about it and the beaches get too crowded.
I keep wanting to go back ( we will do one day ) but i'm reminded by my other half that there are many other places to visit first!!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank realityczech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
20.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,511 reviews
24.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 168 in Zanzibar Island
466 reviews
36.4 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
36.2 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,065 reviews
6.0 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Property: Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar's most romantic hotel, featuring the Frangipani Spa, highest attention to detail, and personalized service second to none. This family owned and managed resort has set high standards for Zanzibar, and continues to lead the others in the right direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Breezes Beach Club And Spa, Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Hotel Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Resort Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club Zanzibar
Breezes Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing