We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you won't find better anywhere”
Review of The Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Palms
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

three nights here with my son. The villas have 2 bedrooms, so we got our own space. Airconditioning was a welcome surprise. The resort is perfect, small but bookended by larger sister resorts that offer the snorkeling or scuba trips, yoga, spa treatments, everything one is looking for in a luxury resort. The tidal change is huge and we went when high tide was the middle of the day, but the pool, while small, is usually empty and the perfect temperature. It is the service that truly excels. Since the resort is so small (only 6 villas), the service always knows where you are and will anticipate your desires - tea, cocktail, snack, water. Do your adventurous safari and end your vacation here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mia_dog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

For travelers who want to keep a bit away from groups of tourists, couples on honeymoon or friends who enjoy great food, excellent and all inclusive service, stunning villas with all you need and more, and your very own private hut on the beach.

No kids allowed (which in some occasions, like this one, is plus)

The staff goes the extra mile, the food is excellent, the Ocean speaks for itself.

It is not the cheapest place, but for what they offer and how amazing you will feel, it is more than worth it!

very much highly recommended!

Room Tip: There are only 6 villas, you cannot go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mafalda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is a magical resort. We were constantly amazed by the luxury of it all: beautiful rooms, paradise views, food better than anything we've tasted, impeccable service, extremely clean, and the most welcoming, relaxing atmosphere. Reading back on the reviews I can't believe that someone gave this place 2 stars! Things must have changed since then as nothing makes sense in what they have written.
This place is a dream come true. Wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melwhitfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was one of the most relaxing and lovely places we've stayed. Very personal, good service - everyone has a personal daybed right on the stunning beach. Gorgeous, calming bungalows. The food was superb- what I would expect in a London 5*/Michelin starred place. In fact, we had one of the best meals we have ever had here (duck spring rolls, lobster). The wines were extremely well-chosen for the night's menus, and the dining room is atmospheric at night. The property is intimate, though- which we loved, as you are never more than a quick walk to the beach, pool, dining area, etc- but for those who like space and a more "resort" feel or are younger honeymooners (and need less emphasis on service), Baraza next door might suit better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 288Maisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I recently stayed at this beautiful resort and found the resort enchating and the staff unbelievably nice. I had a late arrival and I was greeted warmly and asked what they could do for my dinner even though it was 10 pm. I asked for cheese and they made up a beautiful platter for me.

The chef, from airobi, was phenomenal and the presentation beautiful. There were many activities to choose from but it was hard to leave the beautiful pool or the wonderfuland privatebeachcabana.

I highly recommend this resort for anyone who wants beauty, culture and privacy.

Room Tip: I suggest the Jasmine or Clove villas for their location close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avidtraveller410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

It doesn't seem enough just to concur with what has been previously written, this is a truly remarkable place. We went to the Palms to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary and were made to feel so special. Even as we arrived after the Nairobi airport had, in part burnt down, we were met with a feast in our villa. My wife was not feeling very well and the manager suggested a clear soup and even though it was past midnight, one duly appeared freshly prepared some 10 minutes later! We could not say enough about the manager, but we should also mention all the other staff who went out of their way to make us feel very special, even preparing a wonderful lunch on the beach and providing a complementary trip to the spa. We were allowed to use the facilities of the two sister hotels, but why would you when The Palms was so wonderful! Thank you so much for making us feel extremely special!!

Room Tip: The villas are all exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank southern512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We went to the Palms in Zanzibar as a last minute thing and didn't know what to expect. It proved to be absolutely terrific. It's intimate with just a few villas but the service and food is extraordinary. It's affiliated with the hotels on both sides so there are extra activities but it's really ideal for rest and relaxation. We highly recommend it on all fronts, particularly from a service and support perspective.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christopher k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
1.9 mi away
Zawadi Hotel Zanzibar
24.9 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
534 reviews
20.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
1,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baraza Resort & Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Bwejuu
839 reviews
6.1 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms

Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#1 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range: £547 - £788 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palms 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the peaceful south eastern coast of the island, lying on an untouched award-winning beach, "The Palms" is the ultimate getaway retreat providing a stunning recluse for the discerning traveler. It is a sanctuary for those in search of tranquility ... a place to stimulate the senses and to experience the very best of the magical island of Zanzibar. The six private villas are beautifully designed creating an atmosphere of relaxed, understated elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Bwejuu
Palms Hotel Bwejuu
Palms Resort All Inclusive Bwejuu
The Palms Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing