We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dhow Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$430
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
112
60
16
19
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
60
16
19
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaje beachminute walkhalf boardprivate areapiece of paradiseafrican paradiseevery eveninglow tidean excellent placeexcellent breakfastlunch menutropical gardensea urchinsstayed for nightsfantastic beachturn down servicehotel guests
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My husband and I stayed for 9 nights and wish it could have been 90. With only 5 rooms, you get to meet the other guests at meal times and the whole experience is friendly and relaxed. Food was very good and the staff were wonderful. The receptionist Tina was so helpful in organising excursions for us and gave us good local advice too. Christian the manager is a very approachable guy who made a point of spending time with each guest and also giving good information about Zanzibar, but it was his attention to detail that really impressed us. Every morning we looked forward to opening a ribbon wrapped greeting sheet on our breakfast table which told us about temps, wind(my husband is a kitesurfer), water temp, daily specials and ideas for excursions. The rooms were cleaned beautifully every day and in the evening our room was sprayed for mosquitoes and the bed turned back and mosquito net draped over the bed. The rooms are small but the bed is huge and really comfortable and there are so many seating areas in the hotel and around the pool that why would one want to be in the room except to sleep? We did not see anywhere on Paje that we would rather stay or eat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UmJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Great place, great host, nice rooms, just a few steps away from the the best beach in Zanzibar, Paje.
It has its own restaurant, good food.
Great option if you are looking to have a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This review is maybe a little bit long; if u are in a hurry, go directly to last paragraph "summary and good to know" :-)

We are 2 friends (male and female) in the age of 30 from Germany and went to Zanzibar to learn kite-surfing and to have a nice and relaxed beach vacation.
We arrived in the morning at Zanzibar Airport and were very friendly welcomed by Hamisi. He was sent by Christian, the Dhow-Inn-Manager to pick us up. 
It took us approx 45 min to get to the hotel.

The hotel
It is a small, cute and very clean hotel. There are 5 double-rooms, all with A/C, king size bed, shower, toilett and basin. Warm water was always available. The rooms are not that big, but u will only be in there for sleeping and showering.
There is an additional room in the garden of the hotel. This is suitable for 4 persons and like a house in the trees. Also own bathroom, but more the natural accomodation; no A/C, no glass-windows - more the adventure accomodation but also cheaper.
All beds have mosquito-nets as well although we havent seen many mosquitos around the hotel.
Towels were changed daily and the room was cleaned every morning after breakfast. 
In the early evening the housekeeping prepares the rooms for the nights and sprays mosquito-spray if u like so.

In the hotel garden is a nice middle-sized swimming pool with 4 sunbeds and umbrellas.
In front of the hotel there is a nice porch where we had lunch and dinner all the time.
It is just a 1 minute-walk through the white sand and then u are directly on the beach.

Staff
I have never been to a hotel where everybody is soooo friendly:-) Christian, the manager, organized every trip or transfer we wanted to do, organized special food for dinner if we asked for ( lobster, king fish; whatever we wanted to eat, he made it happen) and told us a lot about Zanzibar.
All waiters as well as the rest of the staff (housekeeping, bar, transfer) were so friendly - always smiling, trying to make everything possible and give u the feeling of never wanna be somewhere else again.

Food & Beverages
There is a daily menue, consisting of several startes (e.g spring rolls, beef samosa, etc), snacks (fries, different paninis and sandwiches), grilled food, wok-food and sweet snacks such as pancakes. This things can be ordered all day. For the evening there is a special dinner menu as well as a menu of the day. Both changing daily.
Breakfast is surved on the upper porch. There is coffee and tee, fresh fruits, toast, jam and also several things that can be ordered (beef, cheese, several kinds of eggs, omelettes, pancakes, muesli) - they will directly be delivered by the waiter.
Breakfast was included in our booking.
In general the prices for food and beverages were quite cheap compared to prices in Europe; cocktails, made with original alcohol brands, e.g Mojito is around 4€, 1.5 liter bottle of still water is around 1,40€; snack e.g ham-and-cheese-Panini is 4 €, but so big that u can order one for 2 persons; main course starting with 7€.

Beach
It takes u just one minute through white and soft sand to get to the beach.
The hotel has a small private beach there with 8 sunbeds and umbrellas.
In Zanzibar the tides chanfes are very extreme. In case of high tide, the area to lay on the beach is not that big anymore, approx 2-3 meters. If there is low tide, it sometimes hapoens that u can walk for 1 km till your feet touch the water. 
In general the beach was whiter than white. It is quite long and u can go for a walk for several km in both directions.
There are some special areas where the local women plant sea-weed in the water. Those areas are marked with some wooden sticks.
The water is cristal-clear, no corals.
Only if u go close to the reef -1,8 km out - you find corals and also sea-urchins.

Activities
We went to Zanzibar to learn kite-surfing. The kite-center is located just a 7 minutes walk along the beach.
If u are not anymore beginner, u can directly launch your kite in front of the hotel and start to ride.
There are also some tours like mangroove-forest, swim-with-the-dolphins-tour, blue-lagoon-snorckeling-tour, tour to stonetown, etc. Christian will help u with that and will organize the transfers.

Weather
The weather was nice all the time. 
Although there might be rain on the west-coast, the east coast stays sunny.
There is always lot of wind, min 10 kts, but most of the time it was between 15 and 24 kts - so u never really feel like it is too hot.
Water temperature is around 27 degrees celsius, air between 26 and 30.
In the evening it is good to have some thin pullover with u and maybe also a thin long trouser - 22 degrees celsius make u feel a little bit fresh after30 degrees all day long.

Summary and good to know
It happens from time to time that electricity crashes. After a while u will get used to sitting just with candles for 5 minutes on the porch.
The hotel has free wi-fi.

It was a very relaxed vacation and we met a lot of people in the same age. 
The hotel is clean, friendly staff, directly on the beach and relation between price and what u get is really good. The food was fresh and the taste was delicious.
Beach is clean, white and really beautiful! There is always wind, so forget about styling your hair like at home.
We will definately come back!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Winniethepooh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I recently returned from Zanzibar after a wonderful relaxing vacation spent with a good friend of mine. A part from the warm, turquoise and emerald waters of the Indian Ocean, silky pearl white sand and longed for sunshine, what really made our holiday was our choice of place to stay. After doing some research we opted for Dhow Inn which completely exceeded our expectations. The building recently renovated, is tastefully decorated, totally in harmony with the surroundings and radiates a warm and positive energy. The rooms are simple, spotlessly clean with perfect mosquito nets and very comfortable beds. The swimming pool is a wonderful alternative when the tide is out and watching the sunset while relaxing in the pool is a pure gift! The current manager Christian, was helpful and efficient, from initial contact, on arrival and throughout our stay, giving us lifts in to town, local mobile phone, many useful suggestions and hints as well as being generally very good company! Food was superb, freshest of fruit and fish, and a “flexible chef” so no problem for any alternative requests. All the staff were friendly, efficient and made us feel welcome and at home. We highly recommend Dhow Inn to couples, groups of friends and single travellers. Thank you once again – love and light to you all! A presto Maleka & Adele - Italy

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malu008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

As usual I was looking for a small place with a lot of character, away from the resort feeling... I got that and more at the Dhow Inn, a little beach boutique hotel in Paje, Zanzibar. This was definitely quality, instead of quantity.
Even before my arrival, I had been communicating with Christian, the manager, who was very efficient and helpful during the reservation process.
My first encounter was with the driver that was sent to pick me up at the airport... I thought "If everyone is as pleasant as he is... then I landed in the right place" ... and I was right.
The photos I had seen online did not express how much character this little place really has. Paje, is not a place you just stumble upon... you really want to be away from the crowds, in a slow paced environment, yet with the option of some night life if you so choose...
The staff … courteous, polite, helpful, funny
The cleanliness … very clean (rooms cleaned everyday, floors mopped, outdoor living room cushions and pool/beach mats washed often)
The location … just right
The rooms …basic yet with character and functional
The service … spot on
The value … great value
The food … great and cooked to order… including your included breakfast.
(and if you have to check out early before services begin, they will make you a take away breakfast the night before).
The sleep quality … I had a fan room (don’t like aircon) and it was fine. Late at night you may hear the music from Jambo bar far in the distance, but not enough to be disturbing. Occasionally in the morning, you could hear the cleaning in the garden outside your window… but hey! Time to get up anyway.
The atmosphere … YES! I am a sucker for small boutique hotels with lots of character. Day into night , with the magic of the fantastic sea breeze, sitting in the outdoor living room… and even on the occasion of the one Saturday night party with an amazing local DJ… this was atmosphere. And the occasional cow strolling by between the Inn and the beach, just added to the magic.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eurasian73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews