We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dhow Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Dhow Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Paje
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

After 3 weeks in Ethiopia, Dhow Inn was a perfect end to a great holiday - so much so I stayed longer than intended. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and there was always a smile and engaging conversation. The food was delicious with a good fusion between local and international. A hop skip and a jump to the water (assuming it isn't low tide of course), sunbeds provided, all areas of the hotel were extremely clean and well maintained, bedrooms were de-mosquitoed every night, hot water on demand, free wifi, a lovely pool for a change of scene and good cocktails - what more could you want. I stayed in the budget room and it was perfect. I will be back here - in fact wish I was there right now.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat74M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    46
    13
    15
    3
See reviews for
27
75
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

After a week in tents on safari, followed by a hot and humid nights in Stone Town, Dhow Inn on Paje Beach was a perfect place to end the vacation. A stone throw from the beach, the fresh sea breeze hits the open patio with it's spacious lounge. The friendly staff, lead by Christian, is the essence of this hotel. Their attention to detail and willingness to please create a great vibe, which the guests can't help but be cheered up by. The rooms are clean, sprayed for mosquitos every night and although not the biggest, more an serve their purpose. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sngmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

If you're looking for a comfortable place to spend a couple of wonderfully lazy days in Zanzibar, the Paje Dhow Inn is your place. The hotel itself has great vibes and is situated right on the beach - and is in strategic proximity of a fun beach bar, if I may add - and is truly dedicated to making your stay as stress free as possible... you're in the land of Hakuna Matata, after all.
The staff are cheerful and lovely, we knew half of the staff by their names after 2 days of staying there. The manager, Christian personally ensures that you're happy and well taken care of, he supervises each detail and is great help in advising on excursions, things to do, anything!

All in all, strongly recommend this charming place and many thanks to the Dhow Inn team for making our stay there so enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmerei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Everything starting from the location right in front of the beach to the cleaness, to the service level and friendlyness of people, tot he food and drinks was absolutely perfect.
Christian and his wonderful team are doing really the best to make you feel comfortable with western standards, but nonetheless into the local culture and atmosphere.
No way to go somewhere else if you are looking with a real experience of Zanzibar wonderful seaside, especially because you could be trapped in awfull plastic big resorts.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filippo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Beautiful Hotel, with attention to detail. The mangement and staff are very friendly and welcoming and done their very best to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The whole experience was relaxing, quiet and very comfortable. Good food, good cocktails at a good price. Would recommend this hotel to those who want a comfortable place to relax, with friendly staff and great location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMCG212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

I stayed here for seven nights with three friends and we had a fantastic time. We were in the Tasi room (two bunkbeds) and were very happy. It was quiet and comfortable. Christian and Tina do a fantastic job of creating a relaxed and luxurious environment at the Inn - every detail is looked after. The included breakfast is fantastic - eggs, pancakes, toast, and more. For dinner staying at the inn is great and there is also a wonderful bar. The beach is just a few steps away and the dedicated area for Dhow Inn guests is very comfortable and has lots of chairs and umbrellas.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

My husband and I stayed for 9 nights and wish it could have been 90. With only 5 rooms, you get to meet the other guests at meal times and the whole experience is friendly and relaxed. Food was very good and the staff were wonderful. The receptionist Tina was so helpful in organising excursions for us and gave us good local advice too. Christian the manager is a very approachable guy who made a point of spending time with each guest and also giving good information about Zanzibar, but it was his attention to detail that really impressed us. Every morning we looked forward to opening a ribbon wrapped greeting sheet on our breakfast table which told us about temps, wind(my husband is a kitesurfer), water temp, daily specials and ideas for excursions. The rooms were cleaned beautifully every day and in the evening our room was sprayed for mosquitoes and the bed turned back and mosquito net draped over the bed. The rooms are small but the bed is huge and really comfortable and there are so many seating areas in the hotel and around the pool that why would one want to be in the room except to sleep? We did not see anywhere on Paje that we would rather stay or eat.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UmJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
1.2 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
24.4 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paje by Night Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.2 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hakuna Majiwe Beach Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhow Inn

Property: Dhow Inn
Address: Paje Beach, Paje, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dhow Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at a 1-minute-walk from the Zanzibar's hotspot beach of Paje,Dhow Inn (4*)provides the perfect scenario for a chilled stay in one of our 28 new, comfortable and full equipped rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Dhow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paje Dhow Hotel Paje
Dhow Inn Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing