We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“accommodating in every way”
Review of Dhow Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dhow Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Decided to head to Zanzibar for kitesurfing. Then thought about going somewhere else due to the wind forecast. Emailed manager (Christian) and told him we were not sure what we were going to do. He told us what the wind has been, and told us he understood he hoped the wind would be up, but of course you won't know till then. He simply asked us to email him if we decided not to come.
He was so friendly, easy to work with, relaxed yet got the job done when we needed something - he was awesome. Christian set up transportation from the airport. Would recommend as it is a bit of a drive. Van was roomy, driver was safe.
The staff at Dhow Inn were very friendly and smiling and made us feel at home. We so enjoyed the delicious breakfast. Fresh mango, pineapple and passion juices. Fresh fruit. And breakfast was served til late morning, so feel free to sleep in.
The internet was fast. The room were a bit small, but the bed was big and comfy. We decided to stay an extra night at the very last minute. Christian could not have been more accommodating - simply the best! We had a very nice relaxing time time. We enjoyed the staff, the atmosphere and the other guests. Guess it is your turn to go.
BTW - kiting was pretty good. Went everyday but one and the last day was definitely the best - wind all day long!! Used a 12m, 10m and 8m.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2airdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

With a few friends we went to the Paje Down Inn for new years eve 2012 - our landlords' recommendation. how unfortunate. would have been better to stay at home with beans on toast.

Staff was friendly but seemed confused.ordering was very complicated for no clear reason. got allot of it wrong. food was poorly prepared and of questionable quality on top of it way overpriced. setting was ok-ish, but nothing special.

Best part of the evening was the end of it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christan_boshoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

After 3 weeks in Ethiopia, Dhow Inn was a perfect end to a great holiday - so much so I stayed longer than intended. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and there was always a smile and engaging conversation. The food was delicious with a good fusion between local and international. A hop skip and a jump to the water (assuming it isn't low tide of course), sunbeds provided, all areas of the hotel were extremely clean and well maintained, bedrooms were de-mosquitoed every night, hot water on demand, free wifi, a lovely pool for a change of scene and good cocktails - what more could you want. I stayed in the budget room and it was perfect. I will be back here - in fact wish I was there right now.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat74M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

After a week in tents on safari, followed by a hot and humid nights in Stone Town, Dhow Inn on Paje Beach was a perfect place to end the vacation. A stone throw from the beach, the fresh sea breeze hits the open patio with it's spacious lounge. The friendly staff, lead by Christian, is the essence of this hotel. Their attention to detail and willingness to please create a great vibe, which the guests can't help but be cheered up by. The rooms are clean, sprayed for mosquitos every night and although not the biggest, more an serve their purpose. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sngmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

If you're looking for a comfortable place to spend a couple of wonderfully lazy days in Zanzibar, the Paje Dhow Inn is your place. The hotel itself has great vibes and is situated right on the beach - and is in strategic proximity of a fun beach bar, if I may add - and is truly dedicated to making your stay as stress free as possible... you're in the land of Hakuna Matata, after all.
The staff are cheerful and lovely, we knew half of the staff by their names after 2 days of staying there. The manager, Christian personally ensures that you're happy and well taken care of, he supervises each detail and is great help in advising on excursions, things to do, anything!

All in all, strongly recommend this charming place and many thanks to the Dhow Inn team for making our stay there so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmerei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Everything starting from the location right in front of the beach to the cleaness, to the service level and friendlyness of people, tot he food and drinks was absolutely perfect.
Christian and his wonderful team are doing really the best to make you feel comfortable with western standards, but nonetheless into the local culture and atmosphere.
No way to go somewhere else if you are looking with a real experience of Zanzibar wonderful seaside, especially because you could be trapped in awfull plastic big resorts.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filippo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Beautiful Hotel, with attention to detail. The mangement and staff are very friendly and welcoming and done their very best to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The whole experience was relaxing, quiet and very comfortable. Good food, good cocktails at a good price. Would recommend this hotel to those who want a comfortable place to relax, with friendly staff and great location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMCG212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
1.2 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
24.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,709 reviews
40.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
570 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cristal Resort
Cristal Resort
#3 of 8 in Paje
49 reviews
1.3 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhow Inn

Address: Paje Beach, Paje, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Paje
Price Range: £78 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dhow Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at a 1-minute-walk from the Zanzibar's hotspot beach of Paje,Dhow Inn (4*)provides the perfect scenario for a chilled stay in one of our 28 new, comfortable and full equipped rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dhow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paje Dhow Hotel Paje
Dhow Inn Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing