We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 17 Paje B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had four excellent nights at Kilima Kidogo. The guesthouse is literally on the beach and situated in a peaceful area. The location is excellent for those who fancy some kind of walk to the nearby towns (in the middle of Paje and Jambiani). The pool isn't built for swimming lengths but is more than sufficient to cool off from the sun. There is very cosy atmosphere generated by the friendly staff, small number of rooms and 'open-plan' atrium where you can chill out and play pool. Above all we were delighted with the food - a quality dish every night by the chef who clearly cared about what he was serving (prices approx 10-11$ so perhaps a little pricey for Zanzibar but well worth it). Breakfast superb. The owner is very helpful and friendly. Excellent choice if you're after a chill out on a Zanzibar beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    54
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
41
109
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The place to be in Zanzi. If you like great service, decent room quality, living on a beach and superb coctails from freshly squuzed fruits then Kilima is a place for you.

GOOD
Service is super friendly. Owner, Dina, welcomed us saying "feel like at home" ans this was true. She was very helpfuj and genuinly caring for us.
Location - you live on a beach
Restaurant - great, tasty, simple food.
Coctails - they are really great. Fresh juices, local ingredients and huge menu :)

TO IMPROVE
Frankly,... nothing significant to add :) !

Mac

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacTka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse was graet. Rooms are modest but it is enough for a beach guesthouse. The owner is worm and welcoming, but the best is:
1. restaurant / bar on the beach - it is so nice to feel a cold sand under your feet while eating
2. chef - food is excellent (lobster) and he really cares if you like it!
3. cocktails - masterpiece
over all: yes! yes! yes!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juba, South Sudan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I truly enjoyed my stay at Kilima Kidogo. Dina was extremely welcoming and made the stay very comfortable. The food was very good and the place made you feel at home. Dina was able to arrange trips and tours. The beach was beautiful, but the pool was also nice for when the tide was out.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2013

This was my second stay at Kilima and it was once again awesome. Dina is so warm and welcoming and sets the tone for all the staff . Mohammad and his team cook amazingly, we had a kilo and a half lobster Thermidor fresh from the ocean that will have us heading back for more! The beach on your door step, a beautiful swimming pool, dining with your feet in the sand, cool air con for the night, great staff makes this a place to relax and unwind. We did a day trip with Haji that included snorkeling off a sandbank in the ocean, a luxurious lunch at a deserted beach ( lobster, octopus, fish, calamari,prawns, chips,salad, rice, fruit.....) more deep sea snorkeling- in my memory bank til next time. The welcoming atmosphere has people from surrounding establishments spending their days and meals at Kilima which jusT shows its the best around! Ooh, and I forgot to mention Christina and her massages, certainly helped with my stiff Kili muscles! The bar men top it off by being extra accommodating in terms of musical choice and attentive service! This is one of those places you can't visit once...

Room Tip: The luxury rooms in the house are tops, but the others are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We spent 8 nights in last half of February 2013 and was very pleased. Everything was as promised in all the other reviews on trip advisor. Dina and the staff is absolutely fantastic. The food is marvelous. Its very fresh, tasty and gives a clean impression, we actually ate all meals at Kilima Kidogo for our entire stay, since it was so good.
The beach, although the tide makes swimming not ideal on all times of the day. There´s hardly any people there at all, something we found very nice.
Also theres a small television set in the lobby with all sports networks for the avid soccer enthusiast like myself.
The security on the guesthouse at night is tight with a gate and guards. There seemed to be a problem further up the beach with robberies at night, but never had been at this place because of the security.

All in all a place we would return to and not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

And additional bonus is for the experienced birdwatcher; the point south of the beach is a spot for large numbers of shorebirds and at any time I saw between 500-1000 birds of around 15 species, mostly Siberian migrants. These birds come to the beach in front of the guesthouse when the tide is low and you can actually enjoy them from your sun bed.

Room Tip: We tried two different rooms and both were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ludvigsen_JSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed here for three days over Christmas 2012 and loved it. We had a great air conditioned room. Very clean and well appointed. Dina, the owner, makes everyone feel welcome. Introducing everyone and making you feel at home. There is a great pool and outdoor bar/restaurant. It is a nice quite place directly on the beach. There are lots of other hotels and a dive center just a short walk down the beach. You can rent equipment to go out in the water just next door.

We arranged our tours through the hotel. The Mr. Spice tour is not to be missed! Great learning experience and an amazing lunch to go with. We also did a snorkeling tour that was outstanding. Bring your own equipment if you have it. The hotel's equipment is a bit tired.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KilburnPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.3 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Dhow Inn
Dhow Inn
#4 of 8 in Paje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#9 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hakuna Majiwe Beach Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse

Property: Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse
Address: Jambiani Road, Paje 0000, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse is situated on the east coast of Zanzibar between the villages Paje and Jambiani. This mini boutique has great spirit, value and is situated right on the white beaches and great views of the crystal blue seas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse Hotel Paje
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing